We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Value, Great Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Callao Salvaje
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is an aparthotel and so there is a small kitchen,and sitting area in addition to the bedroom, toilet, and balcony. The kitchen was well equipped (micro, full cooker, coffee maker, blender etc) and the flat screen tv had a good selection of UK channels. The bed was comfortable (two singles pushed together). The furnishings were 'tired' but functional although I wouldn't have wanted to sleep on the bed settee. Cleaning is regular with linen changed twice per week, but the kitchen area is not cleaned although rubbish is removed and the floor is washed.The breakfast is buffet style and the selection excellent. There is fresh fruit, yoghurt, breads, pastries, donuts, cheeses, cold meats, and plenty of hot food (bacon, egg, sausages, mushrooms, beans etc). I loved the fried eggs - clearly very fresh with creamy orange yolks. The lunch time and evening food was very good if you choose to eat here (but there are at least 17 restaurants in Callao Salvaje) There is entertainment most evenings (some much better than others) and activities during the day on five of the days. There are two pools, a children's play area, outdoor fitness equipment, tennis court, squash courts, table tennis, pool, boules, and machine games. Only negative is the sun beds which don't have adjustable backs and many have seen better days. The best thing about the Tropical Park is the staff. They are helpful, friendly, and hard working.I don't know why this hotel has a 2 star rating - it definitely deserves more (but I never do understand the rating system which seems to be more to do with appearance rather than substance)«

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are closer to beach, supermarket, and bus stop. First floor rooms are closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank junemorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 591 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

As this was my first time in Tenerife, I can only be in awe of the amazing value of this hotel and the jaw-dropping natural beauty surrounding it. Our rooms were spacious, immaculate, tastefully furnished with a little kitchen and everything necessary for a simple and pleasant holiday (right down to the corkscrew, quite handy). Rooms were cleaned daily by the friendly staff and there were activities such as archery for those more inclined to hang about the hotel. Being among the younger guests (in our mid 30s!), we didn't stay in much, but took full advantage of the nearby extremely quiet black sand beach and stunning cliffs and landscapes. The lava-studded rocks make for amazing natural climbing walls and we filled two days happily with just clambering around over this weird, volcanic, alien landscape with the blue waves crashing below. For a longer holiday, I can see there might not be much more to do without moving to the nearby towns, but to enjoy nature in relative solitude for a short cheap break that manages to feel like a 4-star experience, I don't think we could have done better. There's at least one beach with brought-in white sand within walking distance (if you are reasonably fit - 30 min with hills) so you can appreciate the natural or the more comfortable beach setting as you prefer. The breakfast is basic but plentiful. My only critique is the wi-fi; I paid ten euros for a three day pass which often simply didn't work at all so that I had to run to a nearby internet cafe a few times. But still overall very very pleased with this experience and consider the hotel a superb value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chewbecca33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Just got back from my 3rd visit to Tropical Park, and had a fabulous time. Seems it's is getting back to its best, and I'm glad, love the place to bits. In a quietish little village, but just enough going on to have a fun, relaxing, lively when needed, and very enjoyable family holiday. Staff are all very friendly and extremely courteous. They have listened to the recommendations of their guests, evening entertainment has improved a lot, a la carte menu is much improved also, and very reasonable. Jose is great with the kids, makes each and every one of them feel special. My son is normally very shy around adults, but he took to jose immediately and loves him to bits. Can't wait to go back at Easter. Quite a few bars locally, specifically recommend, Buzzing Bar, Barracuda, Three Horse Shoes, Red Lion and Paddy's Bar. Travelling a bit further afield, Torviscas nice place to visit, as is Los Christianos. If you want the busy nightlife, Las Americas is about 20 mins away in a taxi.

Room Tip: Lots of steps, so if you have difficulty getting around. Opt for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Veronica4170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This Aparthotel is also a timeshare resort, We Spent Christmas 2013 there for two weeks on room only basis, Found the apartment clean if a little tired. There is a small well provisioned kitchen with Electric kettle, toaster, microwave and cooker, and enough cups plates glasses and cutlery etc to service the 4 people the room could sleep. Beds are firm but very comfortable, with a regular maid service, and all linen towels etc changed twice weekly Our room had a large balcony with good views of both pools. There is no air conditioning but the appartment does boast 2 ceiling fans. The hotel has very thin walls and ceilings we found the noise of furnature and chairs being dragged and scrapped around morning and evenings a little daunting at times
The hotel has a resturant which provides an al la carte, and a snack menue and has a bar , there is an option to upgrade to half board for 20 euro per person / day. We opted to pay as we went as there are a good variety of Cafes and Bars localy with menues and prices to suit all pockets.
The Hotel has 2 pools (with life guard ) and extensive sun bathing areas as well as very presentable well kept garden areas, There are plenty of sunbeds, tables and chairs to relax in
We found ALL the staff to be courteous friendly and efficient .
There is entertainment of some sort most nights and a program of games during the day although that seemed to us to be a bit sporadic and low key, The hotel has a tennis court, pool tables and a dart board.
The resort is about half way between Los Americas and Los Gigantes and within walking distance of Playa Pariso ( Walk along the cliff top ) There is an hourly bus service (473) all along the west coast of Tenerife from Los Christianos to Los gigantes calling at Callao Salvaje on the way (it costs E2.35 from Calleo to Los Gigantes)
Top Tip --- By a E15 BONO VIA Card from travel shops or supermarkets for reduced cost bus travel, if you plan to travel a lot
There are plenty of Bars Cafes and Resurants in the resort ,There is also a black sand beach with parasols and sunbed hire, which is currently undergoing a makeover to remove the rocks from the beach. The beach Cafe (Large beer E1 Cheapest in Calleo ) will bring drinks and snacks to your sunbed
Checkout the sunsets from the viewing area at the bottom of the road ----- OUTSTANDING !!!

Room Tip: avoid rooms next to reception as the evening entertainment can be very loud Odd numbered room are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank plasticstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

we love this place, in a nice quiet resort, with plenty to do to keep my 6 kids occupied.
the entertainer Jose is fantastic, so good with the kids.
rooms are comfortable and clean. New TV's have been installed with British TV Channels.
Spent Xmas here. the atmosphere and food was amazing.
the staff are very friendly especially the life guard.

Room Tip: ask for a downstairs room if you have a pushchair as no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joolswools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I had last been to Tropical park 10 yrs ago and was unsure what to expect. It hadn't changed!!! Still did paella demo on the Saturday!!!
The room furnishings haven't changed either but were very clean.
The plumbing was very noisy and we could clearly hear the ceiling fan from the room below but that didn't spoil anything.
The entertainment was hit and miss but Hose was brilliant. He made me laugh for a week and me and my partner joined in lots of activities. ( even in the rain).
We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food but the on site supermarket is competitively priced.
I love Calleo salvaje anyway and Tropical Park is still a good place to stay

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank soo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at tropical park at approx 9.30 pm . A very warm welcome from receptionist. Room is comfortable and clean . Flat screen tv approx 28 inch with English channels . Two beds put together in main bedroom and ceiling fan .
Well equipped kitchen with full oven and microwave .
Balcony view fantastic , we stayed on second level so further up even better.
Quiet resort but everything you need .
A few bars and restaurants a nice beach which is not crowded and safe in evenings .
We are on our 3rd day and thoroughly enjoying it .
Paella event at hotel great value at only 6.95 euros including a drink , delicious too.
We would defiantly return .
Not for party animals but las Americas only a short drive away.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callao Salvaje
0.0 mi away
Blue Sea Callao Garden
Blue Sea Callao Garden
#4 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
983 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Holiday Hotel
Atlantic Holiday Hotel
#1 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
355 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Callao
Hotel Grand Callao
#3 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,113 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Malibu Park
Hotel Malibu Park
#36 of 60 in Costa Adeje
537 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#14 of 60 in Costa Adeje
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Park Hotel

Address: Avenida Jable 41, 38678 Callao Salvaje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Callao Salvaje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Callao Salvaje
Price Range: $68 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful resort is situated in the heart of Callao Salvaje in the South of Tenerife. Tropical Park has rapidly earned the reputation of being one of the best Resorts in the area. The resort has taken care of everything down to the very finest detail in each of its guest rooms, creating a personalised setting to ensure your total satisfaction and comfort. The complex was built in 1988, and renovated in 2013. Resort has 163 apartments with a views to Atlantic ocean or a swimming pools. The holiday resort Tropical Park is particularly designed for couples, friends and families; it offers a lot of equipment and services to meet the needs of the kids. The complex is about 100m. Away from the Playa Ajabo , and less than 500m. Away from the bars, restaurants, shops, and banks. Tropical Park restaurant has a big variety of high quality food selections. Help yourself to a wide variety of choices for breakfast, and dinner buffets, also dinner " A la Carta ". Our entertainers will take care of entertainment for adults and children offering a range of both sporting activities and leisure (participation games) during the daytime and evenings. The nights are enlivened with performances for all ages, contests and live music to dance a variety of styles. For our guest we have a WIFi conection, open - air gym, sauna, jacuzzi, tennis court, squash courts, also petanque court, two swimming pools and massage service. Our professional and friendly team is highly motivated to offer the best service for the Tropical Park guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Otel, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tropical Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Park Callao Salvaje
Tropical Park Hotel Tenerife/Callao Salvaje, Canary Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing