We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for teenagers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos Tropical Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartamentos Tropical Park
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Callao Salvaje
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not for teenagers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Very good clean accommodation. Good Swimming pool. On site Gym but every time my son wanted to use it, he had to look for a life guard and ask for keys. Although we made most of our stay, this place was too quite for my two teenagers. It is more suitable for parents with very young children. The entertainment is more for young children like birds, snakes, magic shows and games like musical chairs. There is a close by bus stop to go to other interesting places like Los Cristianos and Playa De Las Americas which are more suitable for teenagers. Buses are on time and very comfortable with air-con. Buy a pass from news agent/supermarket around the corner, nearer to the bus stop. It is slightly cheaper. Being vegetarian, we were in self-catering apartments but it was very difficult to find any good quality fresh produces. We found some in Los Cristianos and St Eugenes has good selection of vegetarian restaurants.
There is a lovely Italian restaurant down the road called Casa Maria, where you can get good vegetarian food. The staff is lovely and live music is good too. Very chirpy, happy atmosphere. All in all -very good accommodation as it is set in a beautiful, quiet location. Good for long walks but if you have teenagers then make sure you have access to other places via local buses or hired car.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    253
    79
    31
    21
See reviews for
217
221
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry City, N. Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Well no one can accuse us off not giving Tropical Park a fair go. This visit was for 10 days...Aug 28th until Sept 7th. Our 3rd Trip in 2 years and we will not be going back ever again. I was bored after 2 days....Don't get me wrong! If all you want to do is lay by a pool, drink, and get a suntan then this is the place for you. But don't expect any entertainment. There is none!! nada!! nothing!!

3 trips and we still haven't seen this BAR TROPICAL open. No noise after 11pm in case the neighbours complain. IT'S A HOLIDAY RESORT PEOPLE! Supposedly a place to go to relax during the day and party at night. The only way you can do that is too hire a car or pay 18/20 euro for a taxi into Las Americas and another 18/20 euros back again.

Our first trip here was March 2010 and we where originally booked into the Pearly Gray but apparently it was over booked so we got Tropical Park. 4 days before we where due to fly home this time we ventured down to the Pearly Gray and found out they had entertainment EVERY night that went on to midnight. Still a bit on the early side but it was fun and this is where we spent our last 4 nights.

Tropical Park!!! Get your act together. Still the same 3 channel TV's. No DVD players, no chance to rent a video/dvd. In a hotel that has zero entertainment this would have helped. And this time I was not happy with my apartment. Room 315 block 7. Same quality as before but I killed 5 large cockroaches in the room and dozens of smaller ones which appeared to be coming up from under the toilet and the silver disc/access point on the floor in front of the toilet. Every day we had these little creepers to contend with.

When we came in after a short night out our balcony would be covered in cigerette ash from some clown in the balcony above who seemed to think our balcony was his personal ash tray....
Did I report any of this to reception? No...I was so bored and fed up with the place and had already decided never to come back again I didn't even see the point of complaining anymore..I posted my review on their own Facebook site last year and it fell on deaf ears.

Even the children's entertainment was rubbish. If I never hear another rendition of "Head and shoulders, knee and toes" again it will be too soon. I think even the kids where getiing fed up with it. Thank god for the Pearly Gray and it's compere It saved our holiday for the last 4 days.

My previous review I meantioned a restaurant opposite the Pearly Gray. Tried it again this time...same speedy service but the food was not up to scratch.. Very greasy........
Like I said....if all you want to do is sunbathe and then sleep until sun up again....this is the place for you.......if your looking for entertaiment...give it a wide berth unless you plan to travel into Las Americas every night. If you do, be quiet when you come back. We sat on our balcony chatting to our neighbour in the next balcony and we where only an arm's length away, and some security guy told us to be quiet. it was 1am in the morning but our neighbour had a small child under 2 years old asleep so our voices where not raised.....we will NEVER be back!!!!

One more thing. as with most buildings in Teneriffe they are built on a hill. The front of the building has steps and ramps which I assume is to accomodate wheel chair users but thats only to get you into the reception area. If you want to go to the pool, it's steps all the way. This, by the way is also where the restaurant is so you need to get to it if you want to eat, Even if you had a ground floor apartment you still have to climb steps to get to the pool area and restaurant. I did take a video of an eldery woman pushing her husband to the pool/restaurant area and he had to climb out off his wheelchair and use two walking sticks to climb the steps on his own, then this lady struggled to pull the wheelchair up the steps..again on her own...what idiot designed this place......???

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerbear197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

The resort of Callao Salvaje is relatively unknown and quiet, and is ideal for families.
Currently they are in the process of building a beach, this is due to be completed in the next few
months, but in the meantime there are plenty of beaches in neighbouring resorts, Fanabe, for
example. If you are more of a pool person then this accommodation has two (well, 4 if you include
the kids pools). We spent most of our time on the lower one – could always get a bed and never had any hassle re putting towels down etc.
There is a different activity every day and night, bar Sunday. The animation team put on water polo,
water aerobics, games for kids, mini discos, plus a fair few other things.
The day reception staff were not that helpful, but the night shift guy is great!
We only ate a few times at the restaurant, never tried the BBQ or buffet but were told it was very nice. The food we did get was lovely, and pretty reasonable.
On-site supermarket is ok - there is a HiperDino down the road which has more variety and is slightly cheaper.
If you are looking for lively, then this may not suit everyone’s taste, but we found, for about €10 in a
cab, we could quite easily go to Puerto Colon marina or in to Playa de las Americas, or you can get a €12 bus ticket which covers more than one person, for more than one trip – although the buses only run every half hour!
I would highly recommend this resort if you are looking for a nice chilled out holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jussie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Happy with the appartment, were lots of stairs but when got to our rooms all very clean, no sign of any cockroaches or any other complaints seen on a number of places in Tenerife.
Childrens entertainment was poor, during the day don't rely on it at all but plenty of kids poolside to play together, my 9yr old always found someone allowing me to read my 5books in 10days! Evening entertainment wasn't much better, half an hour of songs with dance routines, same songs EVERY night, followed by a show of some variety for another hour and then occasionally bingo or a singer... quiet evenings!
No local beach but pools were great (not really big enough for those who like a decent morning swim before breakkie) local regular bus service to a very good beach at Fanabe or into Los Christianos or Playa if want something more lively.
Stayed B+B and found some lovely local restaurants (some recommended here thanks!) did have evening meals at Tropical Park twice, a good buffet bbq one night and very average buffet another.
Cheap hire car place down the road, used this to go up to Loro Parque for a day out as bus rides for trips + airport run painful, took an hour and half to do the airport run when could have done it in 20mins in a cab due to all the pick ups/drop offs.
The facilities as mentioned are run down + all chargeable, ping pong table looks rebuit a number of times, scratched so badly ball bounces irregularly and you had to pay for the privelidge, only used sports centre for showers on last day as late check out but not inviting to be used.
Does have a diving school on site, my son enjoyed an hour+ of scuba practice in the pool.
Walls to appartments were relatively thin, if you're a light sleeper could be easily disturbed as bedroom road side and neighbours TVs!
No air-con but ceiling fans in both bedroom + sitting room created an adequate draft for August.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunworshipping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

well , we have just returned from an 11 night stay at tropical park in Callao Salvaje , we booked it through the internet , first time by the way , and we couldnt have been happier , its not the place to go if you want a bustling , clubby holiday , but was so stress free , you will love it , cant fault the accomodation , cleaned regularly and very very spacious , pools lovely and clean , we went the 2 busiest weeks of the yea , and there was still sunbeds available all day , the entertainment(all be it a bit local and a bit , well , dont expect the west end end reviews or flamenco night) was okay , the staff , well , fantastic , the bar and restaurant manager and his team were brilliant ,
we were recommended to get a 472 bus From outside santander , opposite the complex supermarket , which is also very good btw , And visit the resort of FANABE (pronounced fanyabe) we did this twice , it was excellent , great shops bars and restaurants , dinner on the beach listening to guitar music , lovely , we found a restaurant on the front that did 4 x starters , 4 x main courses , 4 x desserts , and a 4 x glasses of sangria for get this ........
7 euros 90 a head ! and the lager was only 1 euro a pint ! all in all . , fantastic holiday , fantastic value for money , no beach , but thats nearly finished , not that i think it will turn callao salvaje into a hot spot , its a very well kept secret , all the restaurants are very reasonable , the chinese indian buffet 2 mins down the road , excellent , Eclipse for great breakfast , 3 euros , the steak house in the square , great food , presentation excellent , the paris and europa restaurants excellent too , there is a pub called the 3 horse shoes thats open every night , if you arrive late , its the only place that will be open , they have karaoke there every night , really really nice people , very friendly , cant do enough for youi

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shorty230569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We got there in Aug 2011 as parto of our RCI holiday...the residence is nice, not a 4 stars but certainly a good3stars! CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN, really clean...nice comfy apartments but sport center and animation are so poor!! don't count on animation nor sports here. the swimming pools are great but the jacuzzi needs to be replaced immediately.
Beware..you have to pay for internet or everything else!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rossAggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

For the price paid the accomodation was good with all utensils available for a self catering holiday although we only made a sandwich and cups of tea or coffee. The room was cleaned regularly and was in a good condition. No air conditioning but the ceiling fans were more than adequate. As per usual the satellite tv had very little in the way of english channels. As there are no lifts in this apartment complex you may find it a little difficult with heavy suitcases especially if you are on the top floor with three lots of steps.
We were charged one euro seventy three cents for a small plastic container of fanta on our first day at the pool so we never bought anything else there and used other establishments instead were prices were far more sensible.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank donsilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callao Salvaje
0.4 mi away
Blue Sea Callao Garden
Blue Sea Callao Garden
#4 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
3.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Callao
Hotel Grand Callao
#3 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Tenerife
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Holiday Hotel
Atlantic Holiday Hotel
#1 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pearly Grey Ocean Club
Pearly Grey Ocean Club
#1 of 5 in Callao Salvaje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Tropical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Tropical Park

Property: Apartamentos Tropical Park
Address: Avenida Jable 41, 38678 Callao Salvaje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Callao Salvaje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Callao Salvaje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Tropical Park 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful resort is situated in the heart of Callao Salvaje in the South of Tenerife. Tropical Park has rapidly earned the reputation of being one of the best Resorts in the area. The resort has taken care of everything down to the very finest detail in each of its guest rooms, creating a personalised setting to ensure your total satisfaction and comfort. The complex was built in 1988, and renovated in 2013. Resort has 163 apartments with a views to Atlantic ocean or a swimming pools. The holiday resort Tropical Park is particularly designed for couples, friends and families; it offers a lot of equipment and services to meet the needs of the kids. The complex is about 100m. Away from the Playa Ajabo , and less than 500m. Away from the bars, restaurants, shops, and banks. Tropical Park restaurant has a big variety of high quality food selections. Help yourself to a wide variety of choices for breakfast, and dinner buffets, also dinner " A la Carta ". Our entertainers will take care of entertainment for adults and children offering a range of both sporting activities and leisure (participation games) during the daytime and evenings. The nights are enlivened with performances for all ages, contests and live music to dance a variety of styles. For our guest we have a WIFi conection, open - air gym, sauna, jacuzzi, tennis court, squash courts, also petanque court, two swimming pools and massage service. Our professional and friendly team is highly motivated to offer the best service for the Tropical Park guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Apartamentos Tropical Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Park Callao Salvaje
Apartamentos Tropical Park Tenerife/Callao Salvaje, Canary Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing