We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real cooking”
Review of El Ancla

El Ancla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $29
Cuisines: Spanish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: El Ancla is the best restaurant in Tenerife. A relaxing, welcoming atmosphere and great views of the beach Ajabo to seduce all of your senses. An evening full of flavors accompanied of our house wine from La Rioja. We invite you to stop by our restaurant, located in the quiet area Callao Salvaje (Adeje).
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Real cooking”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were drawn to this restaurant because of positive reviews, and were not disappointed. Although it is not cheap, the quality of the food makes it good value. Clearly, they have a real chef here, and use fresh ingredients. We had steak and fish, and both dishes were faultless. We would certainly go again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    63
    22
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uelzen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dinner for two”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

had an excellent dinner here.Mussels were a dream.The wife had fish ,tasty and freshly cooked ,good house wine too.Ok cannot please everyone but no complaints from us

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank schotte2558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent friendly restaurant”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just returned from Callao Salvaje. This is the second year we have been here and we tried out El Ancla again. We were not disappointed and had excellent meals. We recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FRED100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Best in Calleo”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

To my mind this is the best restaurant in Calleo Salvaje. It has the best location right on the front line of the resort overlooking the beach. I was there in December so of an evening it was dark in the light it has a terrific veiw and in the summer a good but small outdoor terrace. The restaurant has a French feel and menu.Our table for 8 of us was ready on arrival.The starters were good the baked goats cheese was delicious and big enough for two to share as a starter. The only downside was the house salad starter teh person taking that was underwhelmed.Two of our party said it was the best steak they had had in Tenerife , cooked as they had asked , cooked to perfection. The fish of the day was large with plenty of flesh on it and cooked beautifully. Those who took the fish fillet really enjoyed it and said the sauce it was in was delicious. A nice toch was the complimentary licqour at the end of the meal. Not the usual cough mixture but sweet topped with cream .You won't need desert.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Family Meal.”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We ate here one of the nights we stayed in calleo. we loved it. My stepson had a steak, it was cooked beautifully and was lovely and tender. My husband had Lasagne and said it was delicious. I had King Prawns in a lovely leek sauce, they were super! The service was great and I wish we had more days in our holiday to have gone back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EvelynArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ancla also viewed

Callao Salvaje, Adeje
Callao Salvaje, Adeje
 

Been to El Ancla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing