We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing resort”
Review of Ona Sueno Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ona Sueno Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing resort”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here 7th - 14th July. Excellent facilities in the wee houses - good sized kitchen, three bedrooms and a large living area with a big balcony. Doesn't have A/C but TBH you don't need it because of the design of the house - just shut the blinds.

The swimming pool was lovely and really cooling, and we had a few good evenings with Ian and Jackie in the bar (we were the group who lost the quiz by one point!) Nice start to three weeks in Tenerife.

We did have to go in to Playa for a beach though - it's good to see that the council are doing something about the beach in the village - so not really a beach holiday and you do need a car to do anything here including shopping.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Sueno Azul, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments however I am not sure if you stayed this year. The new beach has been open since May 2012 and all the bungalows have A/C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    33
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
66
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at Sueno Azul and cannot fault the resort (else we wouldn't have returned). The resort is well run and the bar is a welcome refuge in the heat of the afternoon sun for a drink and bite to eat, and evening meals plus entertainment, we enjoyed the quiz. Ian and Jackie and their staff Jan and Carole are lovely people who welcome you back like old friends! We went with our 16 year old son who was a little bit bored (what a surprise for a teenager) as there was no one else there of his age. However, this did not spoil our holiday as a family. The units are perfect, you could almost live in them permanently, with every base covered regarding requirements, kitchenware, dvd, tv etc. We would have no hesitation to return. The only thing I would say is that it is such a shame that no one has taken ownership of the local beach. It would be nice to be able to go to the beach and have a lounger with parasol and be able to get a drink from the beach bar which is built but not yet in use. Also, from the first time we visited the area (20 odd years ago), a lot of the local business have closed due to the recession, but that is worldwide, not just in Tenerife. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MerseysideDrudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Sueno Azul, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you so enjoyed your 1st stay at Sueño Azul that you have returned for a 2nd visit. Good news regarding the new beach, this week the local council has opened the tender applications for the sunbeds and beach bar and so hopefully it wont be too long before they are in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverurie
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

have just had a fantastic week here, ian and jackie make you so welcome, no rush for sunbeds in the morning, excelent food cooked by jackie, ian keeps the pints flowing when required, excellent barbacue and quix night, well someone has to win the wooden spoon, would love to come back next year but rci say no for another 3 years, thanks again, from the 4 scottish xx

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank james o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Sueno Azul, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay even if you did go home with the wooden spoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

A beautiful resort, great villa's, great setting and very friendly staff. The Villa's are very well appointed, with three good size bedrooms, spacious lounge/diner and a nice patio area with small BBQ. Plenty of room for the six adults in our party and everthing kept very clean inside and out. The bar/cafe area served a good variety of food and drinks with a variety of evening entertainment, all round one to remember.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ona Sueno Azul, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and we are pleased that we were able to provide such an enjoyable holiday for your party.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Apartments very spacious and roomy, clean and all the equipment you require, if you want to use the full kitchen.

Bar and Food Great, Ian and Jackie are great hosts.

Location quiet, small beach, hilly so some may struggle.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ona Sueno Azul, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. The newly opened sandy beach within 5 mins walk of the bungalows is a great addition to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoli, Italia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

excellent facilities, great location, modern and spacious villas. The resort is beautiful, clean, fantastic pool-bar area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robs1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ona Sueno Azul, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and we were pleased to welcome our Italian visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Talk about gorgeous! As another reviewer said, these villas are just like in the photos. We stayed here with our two boys for a week. The villa was really spacious, very well-equiped and has so much to offer. And I must say it was so clean. Like, really spotless. The 3 bedrooms were each generous sizes with plenty of storage space in each room. The main bedroom was ensuite with a bath/shower with 2 large wardrobes and opened on to the patio. Shower was nice and strong although sometimes the last of our 4 showers in the evening was lukewarn. The other 2 bedrooms were a twin and a room with a bunk bed, each good sizes and with good storage space. The other bathroom had just a shower but had a washing machine which was great. The kitchen is really well-equipped with microwave, proper cooker (not just hobs), toaster, large fridge and freezer. There was lots of little extras like an iron and ironing board, bottle opener, loads of delph, hairdryer, extra towels, handsoap, washing up liquid. The living area was large with a TV & DVD player ...and to the delighted of the men in my life it was showing Man Utd one evening! The patio was also wonderful, we ate breakfast in the sun here in the mornings and had a drink in the evening sun later on. As well as a patio table and chairs it had 4 sunbeds and a BBQ. We got the welcome pack for €25 and it was well worth it. Also you can rent towels to use at the swimming pool to save luggage space.

The swimming pool was very near our villa and was a lovely size. We got seats no problem every day. There was a very well run bar at the pool which offered food and very reasonably priced drinks - and an area with a pool table, table tennis, slides etc to keep the kids amused.

Just one thing to note - our taxi left us at the residents community centre not Wimpen reception when we arrived and it took a little while to find reception! The other thing is that the villas are only available to rent friday to friday, and our flight was saturday cos there are no flights from Ireland on a friday! But we stayed the last night a Apartamentos Albatross nearby (five mins away) for €27.50 for the 4 of us. And it was worth that inconvenience on the last night.

The resort itself is very quiet and the beach is not yet complete. But we took the bus to the beach (with thanks to guidance from our bar) to Playa Fanabe for around €7 for the 4 of us. We also booked the water park through reception and we were able to go back a second day for €8, very good value. There's a couple of supermarkets nearby though not many other shops. There are a good number of bars and a few restaurants though not a massive selection. We had some lovely meals and they were very reasonably priced. Pints of beer were only about €2. For a week it was perfect. If we were staying longer I'd have wanted to hire a car.

Overall we had a really lovely stay, found the villa totally fab and would definitely go back again. I don't usually give a five star rating but I can't fault Wimpen Sueno Azul.

Room Tip: The nearer to the swimming pool the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Fussy_Irish_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Sueno Azul, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comprehensive review of your holiday and we are pleased you enjoyed Sueño Azul. Your comments regarding the taxi driver have been noted and we will update our information to warn other travellers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callao Salvaje
0.2 mi away
Blue Sea Callao Garden
Blue Sea Callao Garden
#4 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
878 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Holiday Hotel
Atlantic Holiday Hotel
#1 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Tenerife
0.3 mi away
Pearly Grey Ocean Club
Pearly Grey Ocean Club
#1 of 5 in Callao Salvaje
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ona Sueno Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ona Sueno Azul

Property: Ona Sueno Azul
Address: Carretera General S/C Guia, 38678 Callao Salvaje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Callao Salvaje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Callao Salvaje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ona Sueno Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A self-contained village style resort, Sueno Azul, or "Blue Dream", is situated half way between Los Gigantes and Playa de las Americas. Only 16 miles from the airport, it provides an ideal base for a perfect holiday.The accommodation consists of beautifully furnished individual villas, sleeping up to six persons. Sueno Azul is totally dedicated to family relaxation and enjoyment. The villas have a superb range of furnishings including satellite television and barbecue sets on the terrace. Or if you prefer to eat out there's a wide choice of bars and restaurants in the nearby town of Callao Salvaje, where there are also supermarkets and shops.Swimming pool/childrens pool and play area, snack bar/restaurants at Resort - safes available to rent - baby sitting service.Evenings can be enjoyed at Sueno Azul's poolside bar, relaxing with a cool drink under warm skies, watching the satellite television in your villa, or if you prefer a little more excitement, nearby hotels provide evening cabaret entertainment and discos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Ona Sueno Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wimpen Sueno-Azul Hotel Callao Salvaje
Ona Sueno Azul Tenerife/Callao Salvaje, Canary Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing