We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and enjoy”
Review of Hotel Grand Callao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Callao
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Callao Salvaje
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Hotel has it's own beautiful setting with superb gardens and pools. A wonderful spa and indoor water spa is great. The entertainment team led by Ruben and Mario were friendly, professional, and approachable and absolutely nothing was too much trouble. All the staff were incredibly interested in making your stay a happy one. The food was not exactly to our taste but most people seemed to enjoy it. In all we can say we had a very happy time with much laughter and enjoyment and this was all down to the excellent staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large patio instead of a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 687 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Where do I start??? The off is disgusting worst food iv seen, the majority of the staff are very rude some just point instead I'd talking which I was shocked at, it's in the middle of nowhere not even a shop nearest one is 15 mins down a bank,I love going to gym and purposely booked it as it was sports hotel, no air con in the gym it's boiling hot u can't even open the window, the spa was nice I a must admit but you have to pay 12 euros each to use it, the entertainment is terrible,
You don't even get a kettle in your room so u can make a cuppa, it's also full of foreigners don't be mislead by nice photos, it cost us a fortune in taxis and buses as we never stayed in the hotel only really to sleep. Never egain!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank CT200812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus M, Director General at Hotel Grand Callao, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Why not to come to the Grand Hotel Callao??? Because you say so.
I sat with you the day after your arrival and you were already complaining.
You got in touch with your agency and you did not want to change Hotel. I don't know the reason why.
You wanted to eat b/e Fish and Chips, burguers and pies .... Sorry you must learn about travels, you have to learn from other cultures, and not enclosed in what you do every day what you eat every day, and what you says every day at home
You can not put air conditioning in a gym, unless you want all visitors end up sick,We have two windows 3x2 (although you say not) open to a garden with a wonderful temperature of Tenerife, so you can breathe fresh air, and not as the possible underground gym which you may be accustomed to.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Tenerife is a lovely island to visit!

However staying at this hotel I would thoroughly recommend hiring a car. In Callao salvaje, a small village down the hill there are cheap car hires.

You'll need a car to get to las americas (the nearest good beach) to drive up mount teide (brilliant cable car ride ) and to the loro parque in the north- easy drive and well worth it!!!!

Other than this, the hotel and pool itself is very nice. No night time entertainment so you must catch the bus or get a taxi to las Americas. This hotel is a little isolated.

Wasn't too impressed with the food really, not varied and quite bland.

Staff lovely and helpful.

Enjoy... But get a car!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J_P473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful 4 day stay in February.
The location is not great ... Nothing much around the hotel but a 15 minute walk downhill you'll find a selection of small and friendly bars and restaurants.
The food in the hotel was mediocre but not awful as some previous reviews have suggested.
The room was spacious and clean.
Would I go back?? Yes ... The heated outdoor pool and spa more than make up for the slight downsides.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

It is a very nice and large hotel.
Perfect for those who want to relax and take it easy on holiday. The hotel is far from downtown, but they have free shuttle service twice a day, which I appreciated.

The reception staff disappointed unfortunately. it was very bad service and can not remember seeing them smile. (I was there for 14 days)

Breakfast buffe was quite ok and the staff who work during breakfast, lunch and dinner was very nice. I would also mention that houskeepers and bartenders was very cheerful.

The room was very large and had a huge balcony and lovely view. But it was unfortunately insects everywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hero F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely, relaxing week at the Grand Callao. We booked the hotel last minute and were very sceptical about how it would be due to recent negative reviews. We were pleasantly surprised! The grounds of this hotel are beautiful and very well maintained, staff were polite and efficient and although we only ate breakfast in the hotel, we found this to be perfectly adequate with lots of choices to suit different tastes. We initially were given a room which although clean, it didn't have a sea view which is important to us. We spoke to a staff member at the reception who dealt with our request efficiently and early next morning we were allocated a lovely room with a very nice sea view. This Hotel has in our view received some very unfair comments. We believe very strongly that you get what you pay for and that is exactly what you get at the Grand Callao, it is not expensive to stay here and therefore you cannot expect top class luxury. Callao Salvaje itself is a quiet area with some nice bars and restaurants in it and this hotel is about fifteen minutes walk from the centre up a hill with a gentle incline so therefore probably not suitable if walking is difficult and certainly not suitable if you want a lively atmosphere as the Hotel is very quiet and relaxed which is what we enjoyed about it.

Room Tip: Rooms starting with a 1 or a 2 look towards the sea,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My partner and I have just returned today from our stay at the Grand Callao Hotel and had to come on Tripadvisor to leave a review!

Don't understand why its received such bad reviews, we have an amazing time! The staff are first rate, the food is good - and there's plenty to choose from - and my other half loved the spa! We've come home totally refreshed.

The beach in Callao is great, we managed to drag ourselves away from the pool a couple of times to visit it. Great bars and restaurants nearby and a lot cheaper than some of the resorts in Tenerife. Big thanks to Paddy in the Red Lion - you're a star mate!

Brilliant holiday overall and we've already booked for next year. Don't believe the bad reviews, this place is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callao Salvaje
0.6 mi away
Blue Sea Callao Garden
Blue Sea Callao Garden
#4 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
980 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Holiday Hotel
Atlantic Holiday Hotel
#1 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
355 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Tenerife
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tropical Park Hotel
Tropical Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
590 reviews
7.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,097 reviews
1.0 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Callao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Callao

Address: Avda. del Jable s/n, 38670 Callao Salvaje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Hotel Callao Sport)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Callao Salvaje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Callao Salvaje
Price Range: $95 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Callao 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splitty, Otel, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Grand Callao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Callao Tenerife/Callao Salvaje, Canary Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing