We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay at Grand Callao Hotel”
Review of Hotel Grand Callao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Grand Callao
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Callao Salvaje
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely, relaxing week at the Grand Callao. We booked the hotel last minute and were very sceptical about how it would be due to recent negative reviews. We were pleasantly surprised! The grounds of this hotel are beautiful and very well maintained, staff were polite and efficient and although we only ate breakfast in the hotel, we found this to be perfectly adequate with lots of choices to suit different tastes. We initially were given a room which although clean, it didn't have a sea view which is important to us. We spoke to a staff member at the reception who dealt with our request efficiently and early next morning we were allocated a lovely room with a very nice sea view. This Hotel has in our view received some very unfair comments. We believe very strongly that you get what you pay for and that is exactly what you get at the Grand Callao, it is not expensive to stay here and therefore you cannot expect top class luxury. Callao Salvaje itself is a quiet area with some nice bars and restaurants in it and this hotel is about fifteen minutes walk from the centre up a hill with a gentle incline so therefore probably not suitable if walking is difficult and certainly not suitable if you want a lively atmosphere as the Hotel is very quiet and relaxed which is what we enjoyed about it.

Room Tip: Rooms starting with a 1 or a 2 look towards the sea,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 678 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

My partner and I have just returned today from our stay at the Grand Callao Hotel and had to come on Tripadvisor to leave a review!

Don't understand why its received such bad reviews, we have an amazing time! The staff are first rate, the food is good - and there's plenty to choose from - and my other half loved the spa! We've come home totally refreshed.

The beach in Callao is great, we managed to drag ourselves away from the pool a couple of times to visit it. Great bars and restaurants nearby and a lot cheaper than some of the resorts in Tenerife. Big thanks to Paddy in the Red Lion - you're a star mate!

Brilliant holiday overall and we've already booked for next year. Don't believe the bad reviews, this place is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The matrass was not comfortable. It was too soft and thin. Food was good in general. However, the fish was not fresh but frozen. Cheese, ham and salamy were of basic quality. Please could you improve on this.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Anthonie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Went to Callao Salvaje to join friends in January 2014. The decent hotels were full, so we found this. It's up 500m of fairly steep hill. It wants to be a sports hotel, but hardly any of the sports facilities were being used by the guests. Everything is quite pricey (40Euros for 2 to play on the tiny pitch and putt with club hire: that is way more than for decent pitch and putt in the UK). The grounds are well kept, but the hotel has no atmosphere and is pretty soulless. The entertainment (if that is the right word) is in French. Unluckily for the French people staying, a French holiday company takes groups to this hotel and runs rather poor entertainment. If it is bad for the French, imagine what it's like for the Brits, Germans and Italians etc.

The worst aspect is the poor food: same, same, same and none of it very good.
The pool area looks OK, but the poolside bar smelt strongly of old cooking oil.
Room was mediocre, view poor. Beds were not properly made (sheet left rumpled; just covered over)
I suggest that if you can get in to the Tropical Park, you'll much prefer it there. It is better situated and the food was all good. We ate there on several nights despite having prepaid for the evening meal served up at Grand Callao.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a 2 star hotel. Staff complains about working hours, no minibar, no mini market, breakfast poor, dinner and lunch always the same and bad, tasteless.
The "entertainment" is only in french
but it was in such a quality as 1 star.
They change you for everything or high deposits.
Tiles was broken all over the pool and a lot of kid cut themselves while playing.
Spa was expensive and lazy staff on treatments.
Never go there! Worst hotel ever if you don't expect 2 star quality in everything!

Room Tip: I can't
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Loved the quiet location, the surrounding gardens and golf course and the pool area.
Hated the lack of rooms with a view - many with just the view of a wall!
Food above average and exceptional at the Gala Dinner on Xmas Day.

Room Tip: For a room with a view request room numbers 201-219.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller100081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Whilst enjoying the storms (December 2013) in Tenerife we went to the Grand Callao SPA and it was without a doubt the worst experience... Whilst appearing very smart the staff did all but ignore us and then after paying 15 euros each we were given a towel and directed to the changing rooms. There are several 'room experiences' - Relaxation, Rain Forest, Sauna, Steam etc. none of which worked, not only that but over half of the water experience's within the pools were not working either. I eventually found someone who spoke English to complain to although he suddenly realised he could only speak Spanish when I commenced to query what was happening! Eventually a Spanish chap also started to complain and although we were told the sauna was correct at 80 many of the water features were suddenly 'switched on' and started to work, although the Steam and Sauna never did. No apology or offer of refund was made which is not acceptable at 15 euros each for an experience which wasn't! Avoid or be prepared to practice your complaining in Spanish. The changing rooms were none too clean either! : )

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callao Salvaje
0.6 mi away
Blue Sea Callao Garden
Blue Sea Callao Garden
#4 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
964 reviews
7.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,961 reviews
11.2 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Blue Sea Puerto Resort
Blue Sea Puerto Resort
#68 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
874 reviews
4.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#13 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,765 reviews
24.2 mi away
Blue Sea Interpalace
Blue Sea Interpalace
#69 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Callao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Callao

Address: Avda. del Jable s/n, 38670 Callao Salvaje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Hotel Callao Sport)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Callao Salvaje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Callao Salvaje
Price Range: $105 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Callao 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Callao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Callao Tenerife/Callao Salvaje, Canary Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing