We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location for families.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlantic Holiday Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Callao Salvaje
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
184 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice location for families.”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was an charter trip with my wife and our 3 yrs old son, and heard this hotel was just perfect for families travelling with either with small kids or teenagers, we spend 1 week here 21 oct, 2012, we booked a rental car from home, and had a picked up from the south Sofia airport right after arrival, the hotel is located around 29 km away from airport, but really easy access to the hotel if u have a GPS :o)

the hotel offered free parking, which is really good considering most hotel would have demanded a fee, however bear in mind the hotel has around 20 parking spaces, and is only for hotel guests, however people coming for dining around the area will park there since the street is pretty packed with cars, observed in several occasions, people didnt really care, and also the ones heading towards the beach wld use the space too !! anyhow we checked in the hotel and this is an 2** hotel but in many ads u might have seen its sold as an 4**** star hotel, the hotel does offer all inklusive packages, and many other things thats why its able to be advertised and an 4**** it has restaurant, pool, kids pool, play room in basement, snack bar ect. free wi-fi, however the last bit didnt quite work as it shld, most of the time it was just a question of being patient ( which i dont have ) even sometimes in the lobby area it didnt work either, most be the major traffic or hotel didnt buy enough IP addresses, but when it worked i guess it was good, but thats it.

we got room #104 facing the street and moutains, dunno if we had the kitchen underneath us, but once we open the balcony door, OMG u could the staff talking loudly everyday, ( was out most of the day ) but once u come home and want to sit outside, noises from the staff and across the street the very few bars, but it wasnt the bar guests that bothered us, so if u can avoid that room number. The room had a kitchen, living room with dinning table, bedroom with closest, and bathroom, big enough for even 4 people travelling for sure.

they dont clean the rooms everyday nor change ur towels, its every 2 day, but i ask for fresh towals at front desk and they gladly handed over them over, the staff was really friendly, polite and very helpful.

the hotel is located at the end of the road, so not so much traffic there, and a beach located just down the road, and mostly small rocks and stones, but surely a place to take a dive, not crowded at all, but must warn that this particular beach isnt for small kids, well at least if the accompanied with an adult coz the waves is pretty big, experience a elderly couple just smash into the waves by just standing on the shore, and because they were totally unware the tides too, held my son at all times, otherwise its quite an sight to see these waves just pounding the rocks its quite amazing .....there is an restaurant le delphin right next door, u gotta try that and sit outside and watch the sunset OMG it was just amazing, and ur right on top of some cliffs and a pool, looks great, the food was really good, and cheap and good meals, we tried it there 2.

but in general some good dining places around the neighborhood, and a nice area as well compared to las Americas, party town, located 20 min drive from there, but thats were the shops are, we went during the day quite nice to see something else, worth the visit.

El Tiede the volcano crater it is an must, however the road getting there isnt for weak souls, if ur ever been in San Francisco driving those streets this is far more worse its either uphill in very narrow streets, and same down, u gotta have some driving experience :o) but its only for a few km, but its all worth the trip, we came down in one piece and the car too :o)

visit the Santa Cruz de Tenerife the capital around 1 hr drive from Callao Salvaje, and Puerto la cruz nice harbour city located east of the crater.

overall nice, cozy hotel, not many young people living there,m mostly seniors when we were there, i would recommend the place for sure.

Room Tip: pick a room facing the ocean :o)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTICHOLIDAY, General Manager at Atlantic Holiday Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Client - thank you so much for your comments. The wifi is a little slow some times, do to the fact that Callao Salvaje is still in a "land zone". We offer free wifi in the reception and the rooms. I hope we will soon be able to get more MB/GB, but at the moment unfortunately it is no posible, not even paying. Hope to see you again. Best regards Charlotte Abildtrup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    154
    42
    12
    7
See reviews for
99
181
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I really liked this hotel. The location is perfect, very nice beach, which is very close, fantastic sea view, a lot of restaurants and several shops around, free wi-fi (although quite slow) very nice and helpful staff and quite good prices as well. Formally it is a 2 star hotel, but there are certain elements there, that you could really give much higher rating to this place. Drawbacks: the lack of condition in the rooms, not very regular cleaning. But everything else is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We liked it very much. Very quiet, nice and clean but the wifi coverage is poor in the room. Beside the fridge the wifi was good :) No sandy beach nearby but there is a very clean heated pool instead. Food is excellent and there are great places to eat and drink nearby as well.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Still in the hotel and have been here for 12 days now with 2 to go - in total a two week stay. The "hotel" is in a quite location 10 minutes by car from the normal tourist traps of Las Americas and about 25 minutes from Tenerife South Airport.

It is not a typical Hotel and if you want a Hotel experience (Room service, bar, daily bed linen changes, etc) you will be disappointed. It is also not a new property with the odd cracked floor tile, slow stove, chipped wall corner, etc.

Why 5 stars then? Value for money and possibly one of the best sea view you could have anywhere on the island!!!
And exceptional service from the hotel staff.

We had a special request of flowers and champagne to be in our room for our arrival to make our 3 am arrival a bit more bearable and the flowers were simply stunning. (Obviously we have to pay extra for these but some hotel employee had gone out arranged the flowers for us) A very personal service for which we were truely gratefull.

The hotel staff was VERY helpfull with all our enquiries and requests during our stay and also grewated you each time you walked past reception.

We had a studio which is adequote for a couple but would not offer much privacy should there be 3 adults as it is all open plan except for the bathroom. The sofa which converts to a bed was very comfortable as a bed so watching the Olympics on the LCD TV was a small highlight.

But the best part of our stay is the view over the ocean and the new (only opened in May 2012) beach. But be warned if you dont like the sound of the ocean whilst you sleep you should avoid rooms on both south facing floors which have numbers ending in 11,15,17,19, etc. to 37 (ie. 111,211,115,215, etc). Rooms with even numbers from 02 to 10 face east and have no ocean view whatsoever and odd numbered rooms face west which gets a late afternoon sun and might be very warm in summer as there is no airconditioning. Also the odd numbers face over the pool which will be noisey with kids during the day.

Bottom line - get the right room IF YOU LIKE THE OCEAN and you will have one off the best views with sound anywhere on the island. As we were on a part business trip we visted every village and town and the south side and nowhere did we see any resort that close to the ocean where we would have enjoyed a similar view. Becvame a bit of joke especially going past high end resort and trying to find a similar view.

Overall our stay was brilliant due to the cleanliness of the place, lots of reaturants and a supermarket 50 metres away, beach, etc. You will need a car to enjoy the rest of the island - busstop 15 minute walk away in the heat and uphill so if you are very unfit you will take strrain to travel by bus.

Get a studio with number 111 or higher or 211 and higher and you will a $1,000,000 view!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank redbaronx0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My girlfriend and I, spend one week last may (2011) and it was great. The studio apartment are spacious, and cosy at the same time, and they are not dated at all. The restaurent is excellent as well, and serves nice food. The pool is big, a bit cold though (i'ts oceanwater) - and not heated, but it just refreshing. The area around the hotel is nice and quiet, although not a hole lot going on.
The best of all is the view! WOW! Only downside really is the area, and lack of different restaurent options. A good option is renting a car for some days.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niels_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
96 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Atlantic Holiday Center is a nice two star hotel in the small sleepy holiday village of Callao Salvaje, North of the big vacation area Playa de las Americas on the South West cost of Tenerife. I stayed here with my daughter and baby grandchild. We had booked our one week stay through the Danish travel agent Apollo, who gave the hotel four stars. It is not a four stars hotel.

The hotel is beautifully situated on lava rocks out to the Atlantic Sea and as we had a room with a view, we enjoyed our evenings on the balcony watching the sunset. We had a two room apartment with a fine bathroom and kitchen. The kitchen could have been better equipped, but we managed, after buying a tea cloth and dishwashing soap. The room had a safe, but much to our dismay, we had to pay extra for that! The room had Wi-Fi, although it was a bit slow. We had a television and I was happy for BBC World, but it would have been nice with a movie channel and for the many Danish guests, perhaps also a Danish tv channel. The hotel, including our room, was clean and the service was fine. The hotel does not have direct access to the beach, but does have a very nice swimming pool, including a small children's pool and a lovely rooftop terrace with a Jacuzzi. However, we had to pay extra for towels to the pool! There is a public beach nearby, but it is with rough black sand and no access to shade. At the hotel we had breakfast included and even though it was a bit boring (though the hotel prides itself on it's culinary skills), we enjoyed the fresh pressed orange juice. That was a treat! There were also scrambled eggs and softboiled eggs, but strangely enough it was not possible to order a fried egg!

Despite the above mentioned small irritants I can definitely recommend Atlantic Holiday Center as a nice two star hotel, where we got value for our money.

Room Tip: A room with a view cost extra, but we enjoyed the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a week from 30th April 2012, I had requested a sea view room and this wasn't honoured - I was given a room 302 facing the front of the hotel and told to check the following morning if there was a sea facing one vacant. The following morning I was told we could have one for extra 10 euro per night !!
The room facilities were adequate but found the electric hobs took 20 min to heat up and the fridge made made wirriing noises all night that kept waking me up.
The hotel itself is tucked away in a little corner of the resort, the area was too quiet, fortunately I hired a car and traveled all round the island otherwise it would have been an incredibly boring holiday.
Be warned there are no beaches near this hotel, and the local bars and restaurants played 80's music and looked tiered.



  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polly-Shergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callao Salvaje
0.6 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
0.3 mi away
Blue Sea Callao Garden
Blue Sea Callao Garden
#4 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
879 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Tenerife
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Callao
Hotel Grand Callao
#3 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
597 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pearly Grey Ocean Club
Pearly Grey Ocean Club
#1 of 5 in Callao Salvaje
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Holiday Hotel

Property: Atlantic Holiday Hotel
Address: Calle Lava 10 | Callao Salvaje, 38678 Callao Salvaje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Callao Salvaje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Callao Salvaje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Atlantic Holiday Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Mirai, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Atlantic Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Holiday Hotel Tenerife/Callao Salvaje, Canary Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing