We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for!!!!”
Review of Playamar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playamar
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in S'illot
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!!!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked this as a last minute holiday for us and the grandchildren, don't get me wrong i read the reviews left by other holiday makers, so knew what we were kind of going into, but it was worse than i had expected. We booked a room with a pool view, but got a ground level room looking right onto a road, and where passer by's can litteraly shake your hand as they were going by the balconey, that was only equiped for 2 people when there was 4 in the party!!!!, i did go to reception and complain about it and we changed rooms the next morning without any hassel. The rooms were clean enough if you cleaned them yourslves, unlike other viewers our towels were not changed daily, i had to chase themup to get them changed, same with the sheets, we were there for 10 days and expected a couple of changes but i had to chase as i said. A wee tip for you, We went on a self catering holiday, but upgraded to all inclusive when there and save ourselves £350 by purchasing it there, better money in your pocket than theirs, but what i will say is there is not a lot of variety, and the meal times are very strict breakfast 8am-10am, lunch 1pm-2pm dinner 6pm -8pm, you drinks all inclusive is from 10am - 10pm prompt, even though the pool bar doesn't open some mornings until 10.30. The staff are multi tasked, theyt could be the life guard one minute, the kitchen staff the next!!!!, really dissapointed too on the evening entertainment which consisted of a kids night, a flamenco pensioner, and a couple singing, 3 night out of 7 is terrible, and it was!!! lots of local junky souviner shops close by that you would expect but nothing to write home about, we took a trip on the cave of drach that the kids enjoyed it cost us 80Euros for a 2 hour trip. What we would say is take plenty of MOZZIE repelent we were eaten alive, we have been to Mojorca before but never had this problem, there is a stagnent river next to the hotel and that is where they are comning from, you cannot keep your windows open at night,, they will provide you with a fan for your room as it was really stuffy at night or if you happen to be a lucky one and get a roomm where the air conditioning is working it costs you 5 Euros a night and 10 Euro deposit,, well i', not gonna ramble on any more, as it was our deecision to go here, but i would think twice about booking, if you do go happy holiday!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maggie2723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    202
    261
    138
    208
See reviews for
315
324
39
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Came back from 5 nights at the Playamar booked as a last minute option with A1 Travel.

Annex was clean and tidy, and clean towels were provided daily if left in the bath. Bedding was not changed throughout the stay though. TV in the room was of no use due to no aerial and was basically there for decoration.
No AC but a powerful fan kept the temperatures bearable in the evenings.

Can apprecaite other reviewers comments regarding stairs - quite a trek especially if on the top floor. ALso crazy monkey bar is below the annexs and plays music til 6am so would advise older generations or those just wanting their sleep to stay in the actual hotel block.

All Inclusive package was OK - I have had better. 10am-10pm was a bit of a cheeky cut off, other hotels in the area were going until 11:30pm with all inclusive drinks. This is also the first hotel I've stayed were there was no inbetween snack option on All inclusive between meal times.

Food served at meal times I always found to be of acceptable quality and pretty good variety, with some recycling dishes such as squid appearing on multiple occasions.

The lack of staff in the main hotel for meal times was frustrating meaning although tables were changes in the restaurant, you had to go and find your own drink and the main hotel bar was hardly ever open resulting in a long walk to the pool bar!
Lunch was probably the weak link as far as food goes - breakfast was of good variety and the yogurt was lovely although people did tend to abuse the drinks machine resulting in long queues!

Note that on the last day check out is 12 noon and we had a late flight booked - All Inclusive privileges also cut off at this point which we found immensely frustrating with a good 7 hours to spare.
We can imagine others misfortune with the 12pm cut off, but fortunately when we checked out the new receptionist did not seem to know what was happening and did not cut our bands! Therefore we continued to use All Inclusive until our departure, but be warned this is not the norm!!!

Overall, a pleasant break away - no real complaints around the hotel apart from all inclusive program could be a bit more relaxed - the quality of food and drink on offer was OK though.

Cheap, Clean and cheerful is what this place is, go expecting that and you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid Annex if cannot manage stairs. Avoid Annex if light sleeper due to Crazy Monkey bar being dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

if you would like to waste your hard earned money and attend an understaffed hotel this is it ,collect your cutlery for breakfast, lunch and dinner set your table ,collect your food and afterwards be expected to clear the table, collect your wine or beer from another room,have an unsupervised pool where guests are allowed to visit till 02.30 a.m. and be as loud and abusive as they like,the food displayed was repetative daily , not edible when stuck to the bottom of the tray,there was not a kitchen visible I think the meals were delivered from elsewhere?,then trie'd to keep them warm, on trying the food we decided to eat out at an extra cost to us, paying for an all inclusive holiday we felt let down,we both do not reccomend one bit .
P.S. it is listed on last minute web site as 3 star , with only a 2star at the front of the hotel , my feeling is that zero stars should be the case. yes!!!!! not happy at all.

Room Tip: Ido not think there are any ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notnur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these S'illot hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Ok, so stayed here last year but forgot to write this review.
This hotel is awful, only thing going for it is the location!
Food was rank, absolutely awful. Some of it I wouldn't feed to a dog! The hotel is old and grim. The pool area is so dated and old, i'd say it was dangerous! Staff are rude and unfriendly. Enterainment was terrible, what there was of it!
The rooms, god the rooms, couldn't swing a hamster in it! The bathroom was tiny and not cleaned well at all!
The hotel was mostly germans and they are rude and pushed in front of you a lot!
The best bit of our holiday was our burger king and the beach. Beach is really nice, about 10 mins walk to the best bit.
Do not stay here unless you really have to, and definitely don't eat here!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meandmaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Myself and a friend stayed here early July 2013. We are both in our early 30's and pretty open minded about what to expect. We read alot of bad reviews before we went, but it didn't bother us too much......i suppose you have to see things for yourself. So i have written this review giving an honest account of our experience at Playamar.

On arrival, we got told by the receptionist that the hotel was full!.(not the best of starts). We were told that we had to spend a night at the sister hotel Playa Blanca around the corner, then we could either stay there or return to Playamar. We took it on the chin and moved for a night. I found it difficult in getting the receptionist to understand my initial confusion. His english wasn't the best and the receptionist at the Playa Blanca was even worse.

Anyway, we returned the next morning tomave back to the Playamar and was met by the same receptionist. He gave us a key to have a look at the room and said we could choose which hotel we preferred.......it was a no brainer really!!. the Playamar was far cleaner and felt safer!.

We stayed bed and breakfast for 8 nights and only ate at the hotel once. the food was cold and didnt look too inviting and on top of that it was chaos in the restaraunt.....abit of a free for all!!.

The rooms are o.k. we had a first floor room in the main hotel. it was small, but clean. maids came everyday and changed towels. No real problems with noise and they felt safe. While we were there we had some problems with water. we had a day totally without water, then a day with only COLD water and constant issues flushing the toilet!!. when we mentioned it the staff, they blamed it on a problem on the street outside and not the hotels fault.......i found this strange because all the sprinklers out on the street watering the grass were working fine!. and to add to that when i went complain about having no water and needing a shower, they miraculously put it back on for me for half an hour.LOL.(maybe it was the site of me stood in the reception in my boxer shorts that made them do something).

Like i said earlier, i wanted to give a honest review about the place and it wasn't all bad!!. The pool area is nice and very spacious. Most of the staff we dealt with were very polite and generous. we were often gven free drinks even tho we were only bed and breakfast and they didnt charge us for a safe as compensation for our troubles on the first night.

I also want to mention that we didnt have any problems with mosquitos as is mentioned in alot of reviews. we took a plug in repellant and never saw any!!. i never noticed anyone else in the hotel with any bites either.

The hotel is in a really good location, which is probably its biggest selling point. 2 mins to the beach in S'illot and 5 mins to the beach in Sa Coma. S'illot is a lovely place and very pretty in the evenings. lots of nice places to eat on the promenade. In particular we liked BI BA BO's just around the corner from the hotel. very friendly staff!!. The nightlife was quite in S'illot, but within 10 mins you can walk to Sa Coma which was abit livelier.

One more thing to point out is that the hotel is mainly german guests. we barely noticed any british guests at all. after speaking to a few people that had been there before, the were of the opinion that they tend to send the british guests to the sister hotel Playa Blanca and keep the europeans in the Playamar!, this would explain why they tried to move us!.

Overall, our water issues, being moved hotels didnt spoil our holiday. we would definately go back to S'illot, but not stay at the Playamar. it needs a refurbishment, if i'm honest they need to treat the british guests the same as the rest!!.(just my opinion)......but if you want a cheap week away to a lovely resort, then go for it!

Room Tip: get up early and watch the sun rise from the beach......BEAUTIFUL!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pandaeyesDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

15 nights in the Playamar from June 25th 2013 and it was fantastic!

Accept that the hotel could do with some refurbishment but it is clean, Maids visited 3 times a week, clean towels - as many as you needed, clean sheets once a week.

Room had everything we could ask for - spacious - cooker & fridge!

Food was amazing!

Every day we had something different, salads, chicken, pork, fish, pasta, vegetarian, chips, baked potatoes. Luchtimes had Chicken Nuggets & Pizza some days.

Breakfast of cold meats, cheese, pate, tomatoes bacon, sausage, eggs (fried or boiled) breads, croissants (plain, chocolate & custard) cereals & fruit! Coffee, tea fruit Juices.

One thing though - if your expecting Steak Pie - forget it and go to England for your Holidays!

All food was freshly cooked and plentiful. I had 3 kids with me - 14,14 & 12 and they loved the food!

All the staff in the Hotel are so pleasant and helpful. Bar staff in particular! ,Entertainment not great but that was not what we were looking for.

Hotel is really close to the beach and the resort Centre so plenty of places to go!

Pools at hotel were cleaned every morning and the area was cleaned every day! I would say though that i was appalled at the ignorance of some fellow Guests! There are bins but yet they just throw their crap behind them!!

Would we go back - absolutely!!

Would I recommend - only to people who believe in living the life abroad - not id you expect a little Britain!!

Chris

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank candowildo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

the hotel was very dated but clean the staff were rude and ignorant the food was terrible the playa blanca the sister hotel was alot better where we spent most of our time the place itself s;illot was lovely but defo wud,nt stay in the hotel again met some lovely people

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near S'illot
0.1 mi away
Playa Moreia Apartments
Playa Moreia Apartments
#3 of 13 in S'illot
900 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Colombo
Catalonia Colombo
#7 of 13 in S'illot
305 reviews
2.7 mi away
Blue Sea Don Jaime
Blue Sea Don Jaime
#56 of 58 in Cala Millor
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Blue Sea Gran Playa
Blue Sea Gran Playa
#17 of 29 in Sa Coma
781 reviews
27.9 mi away
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
#11 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Universal Hotel Perla
Universal Hotel Perla
#1 of 13 in S'illot
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playamar

Property: Playamar
Address: Calle Rosa Dels Vents 7, 07687 S'illot, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > S'illot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in S'illot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Playamar 2*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playamar s Illot
Playamar Hotel s Illot
Playamar Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing