We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me”
Review of Playamar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Playamar
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in S'illot
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Firstly the good things. Staff were friendly and helpful. Tony and his son in the downstairs pool bar are terrific and made our holiday.Apartment was fine for our needs,good supply of toilet rolls and clean towels. Apartment cleaned most days.
Dont know about the food as we never ate in the restaurants.
Downside, Kitchen not well equipped for self catering, although we managed to do a couple of meals. Mosquitos are a real problem, the place is infested, and we got bitten to pieces. Spent over £30 on creams, sprays etc, but made no difference.
If your idea of a good holiday is to get drunk from ten in the morning onwards,then this is for you.
If you dont want to be surrounded by clinically obese, tattooed, ill mannered people with fags welded to their mouths, shouting and yelling across the complex, accompanied by their uncontrolled screaming kids running amok at all hours of the day and night, then avoid these apartments like the plague.

Room Tip: We had apartment 1 i. Pool view but disco right outside bedroom window, and I mean right outside, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaz1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 921 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

On arrival the hotel playa mar looks quite nice from the outside' however on the inside its a very old style hotel' with miles of thin corridors small room's also with a very old feel. The add said sea view' well it didn't lie you could see the sea just a small slice through the other hotels' having said that we found the hotel very clean and on the whole friendly staff.The food we found a bit bland and repeated regally' we ate out most nights.The grounds and pool were nice and clean but the same cant be said for the sun beds' they were in very poor condition most of them broken.The hotel is in a great position for the beach shops and restaurant's on the whole an ok holiday for what we paid' don't expect a palace because this defiantly isn't' but its not palace price either' the worst thing i found was no air con as it was very hot when we were there, the hotel did supplied fans

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony210460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was worried after reading the bad reviews but it meant I went out without realistic expectations. I travelled with my husband and 2 1/2 year old son on 23rd September. We had an apartment which had a separate bedroom and a cot was provided in case we needed it. The apartment was clean and functional with a view over the pool, could also see the bridge by the beach through the palm trees. The cupboard doors were a little loose but overall the decoration was fine and we had no problems and no reason to complain. Considering the price and that it is a two/three star hotel you can't expect the Ritz!

We went all inclusive and the food was fine, there was always plenty of choice and plenty available with something different every day. We ate out one night to experience some local food and sangria. My only complaint was that there was only a two slice toaster so at breakfast there was a long queue for toast as people would get 6 slices of toast at a time!

The pool bar provided a range of drinks, whilst you had to go up regularly as the plastic glasses were small it didn't matter as the drinks were free and there was never a big queue. The staff in the pool bar were helpful and friendly. The main pool was really nice and great for children, we didn't need to use the second pool. The hotel, grounds and pool were cleaned daily. Our transfer wasn't until 7pm but the hotel let us store our cases after we'd checked out.

We were there for four nights and whilst we were there they put on entertainment on two nights, a Spanish dancer performed one night and then there was a karaoke night. Both were held by the pool in the evening. We watched from the balcony as our son was in bed, it was fun but the music was very loud.

The location of the hotel was great, just a minutes walk to S'illot beach and it was only a short walk to Sa Coma which also had a lovely beach. We took the opportunity to explore rather than sit by the pool everyday. There is a lovely walk around the coast from S'illot in the direction of Porto Crista which had some gorgeous coves. In the other direction past Sa Coma is the Punta de'Amer which is a nature reserve. I would recommend the walk up the the fort, there is a cafe there, a talking parrot and fantastic panoramic views. Take water with you though as it is a long hot walk, we took a buggy and it was ok with that.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday. If you wanted to be a complainer you could look and probably find things to moan about but I would personally much rather just enjoy my holiday! If you want a very good value holiday, in a sunny, family friendly location then I would definitely recommend the Playamar. For a family of three all inclusive, flights, transfers etc all for £617 you cannot go wrong! If you don't like it you need to consider increasing your budget to a four or five star hotel.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
6  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I returned from this hotel this week and after reading the reviews i was not looking forward to going.
I was pleasantly surprosed when we arrived, clean room (all though not the biggest of rooms) but you only sleep and get ready.
The breakfast was fine, there is on;y so much you can do for breakfast, lunch was ok we never went for dinner as we decided before going to eat out.
We did venture to the sister hotel Playa Blanca which has a better pool, more range of drinks and food is of better quality.
I would recommend lots of mosquito repellant as i have 86 bites but my partner had none!
The drinks were great for us as we made the most of the all inclusive.
For the price we cannot complane and S'illot is a nice area to visit.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the Apartment area instead of the hotel as the rooms are larger with a small kitchene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimlmason3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

the only good thing was the location if you came away without a moscito bite or any other bites you were lucky the room had no air conditioning the food was terrible i had chips and mashed potato one meal that was the best on the menu the all inclusive was non existant the staff was rude tables were never cleared and rooms were broken into luckily my friends and i were only on a 3 day break please dont go to this hotel especially with children

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

this is abasic 2 star hotel we paid in total 260 for a week all inc rooms where ok drinks ok but no wine or lemonade for 2 days food ok but was never hot enough ima chef and this should never happen also staff just kept piling food on top of half food dishes again another bad practise this hotel has ca sister hotel playa blanca that your aloud to use but not told about rooms nicer and food is hot overall a basic hotel for alow price 180 for 1 week next may 2013 u cant moan at that sort of price ok

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Again after reading some reviews on here - I feel they have been a little harsh - this prompting my first review!
The mosquitos are natures way of saying take sprays and plug ins!
I did not get stung once - until I got to Palma airport where I got my first on the way home.
The staff were very accomadating with us and catered to our requests. These being a fan & a new room due to a broken lock.
Bar staff were very generous on the spirit measures - drinks of which you can get more than 1 at a time. As for the plastic cups - I think this is a must around the pool with the bar being next to the childrens pool so no complaints from me.
The pools were clean - plenty of sunbeds (quite a lot do not have the option of sitting up right but no massive issue for sun worshippers).
I went all inclusive - my first time - I didnt feel too tied down to the timings - good selection of food too. Not entirely sure why its got a bad review - I can only put it down to greed.
Fresh salads, different hot/cold pasta options everyday, chicken, pork, beef, fish, shell fish, roast potatoes, soups, sauces & dressings. Good selection of desserts too.
Breakfast had more than enough options - hot and cold foods. Fresh pastries & fruit.
If I had to suggest something it would be labelling what the food is - a few uneducated guesses at food by other guests had me in stitches!
The hotel is in a great location, being next to a Historical Monument/Memorial 'Poblado Talayótico de S'Illot'. This has information boards all around it - doesnt first give the impression of being anything of importance but is an interesting read. (Previous posts say "Rocks").
The most popular local bars are in 1-3 minutes walk away - Olimpic Show being the best for entertainment - with kareoke following afterwards.
Hotel entertainment was few and far between - but it was good to have a walk out after dinner and not stay in all the time.
S'illot beach is approx 3 minute walk from the hotel - Sa Coma being about a 5 minute walk. Sa Coma has a lot more going on. Lots of shops (spoilt for choice really) - a horse ranch, a castle and a gorgeous beach.
Overall Id say this was an ideal hotel for someone who doesnt want to stay in the hotel 24/7 - enjoys walks out and day trips.
Value for money - good.
Staff - good.
Food - good.

Room Tip: Ask for a fan - the rooms can be quite warm towards and through the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodeo087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near S'illot
0.1 mi away
Playa Moreia Apartments
Playa Moreia Apartments
#4 of 13 in S'illot
959 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Colombo
Catalonia Colombo
#7 of 13 in S'illot
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Europa
Europa
#24 of 29 in Sa Coma
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Universal Hotel Perla
Universal Hotel Perla
#1 of 13 in S'illot
267 reviews
45.1 mi away
HM Martinique
HM Martinique
#18 of 28 in Magaluf
1,712 reviews
0.6 mi away
Appartamentos Club Sa Coma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playamar

Address: Calle Rosa Dels Vents 7, 07687 S'illot, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > S'illot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in S'illot
Price Range: $34 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playamar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Playamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playamar s Illot
Playamar Hotel s Illot
Playamar Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing