We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our holiday”
Review of Hotel Som Fona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Som Fona
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in S'illot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Politely greeted by staff on arrival, directed to room 211 ,nice room but disappointed with view ,spoke to staff member who changed our room to 408 after two days and the view was just what we had hoped for .
Hotel staff very friendly and efficient and couldn't help you enough, rooms cleaned everyday along with fresh towels and bedding.
Kitchen/restaurant staff very polite and the food each day was to a very high standard with a huge amount of choice.
Weather was fantastic ,beautiful scenery ,lovely hotel and would definitely return as this was a great holiday.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool ,that way the view is fantastic .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarkTracystiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puntaamer, Manager at Hotel Som Fona, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear guests, thank you so much for taking the time to share your impressions after your holiday with us, because your comments are of great help to us to improve our services constantly. To learn that we have met your expectations is the nicest reward and the best motivation for our entire team. Your great holiday is exactly our concern! Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Mallorca; it was our biggest pleasure to have you with us and we are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and our surroundings. We hope you had many happy memories of your holidays in your luggage and we would be extremely pleased to welcome you again soon as our guest. We take this opportunity to send you, on behalf of your entire Be Live Punta Amer team, sunny and kind greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 484 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Had a really lovely week at the Be Live Punta Amer. It is a long time since I visited Majorca and I was not disappointed. . The hotel is well appointed, staff very friendly. The buffet food was excellent, I am a little picky with my food but had no problem finding something I like. By far the best buffet food I have had in a hotel. S'illiot is a lovely resort. I loved the fact that you could walk very easily to Sa Coma, Cala Millor and Cala Bona. Can't fault the hotel in anyway and will certainly return in the not too distant future!!

Room Tip: Stayed in a standard room which was perfectly adequate. On the left handside of the hotel and was lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pathaynes227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puntaamer, Manager at Hotel Som Fona, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear guests, we would like to sincerely thank you for your review and for your stay with us in the Be Live Punta Amer. We work very hard every day to enhance our services because the satisfaction of our guests is our highest priority, which is why we need and value your feedback so much. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you felt at ease in S’illot and our surroundings. We are very happy that you chose our hotel after returning to our island after a long time and very pleased for you that you liked Mallorca. Your praise is the best reward for all employees in our daily effort to make our guests' stay as pleasant as possible. We hope to be able to welcome you again with us if you plan returning to Mallorca, so you can enjoy our hotel and our resort again. We send you kind and warm greetings on behalf of your entire Be Live Punta Amer team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is our first visit to this hotel but not our last i chose this hotel on reviews and was not dissapointed There was a problem with the pool flooring which could happen anywhere but that was fixed in one day to no interference of the holiday makers, The staff do not have to go out of their way to be friendly as it is not a huge family hotel but big enough and plenty of space, Well spaced out dining room big enough pool and large out-door balcony above street level over-looking the sea with plenty seating and a nice comfortable indoor bar,There is two nice beaches 10 minutes away with 2 beds and 1 umbrella at 12euro or you can take your own umbrella and pay 8euro there is plenty of small bars and restaurant but it is not noisy,Now back to our new friends myself and my loverly wife of 50years made while staying at this hotel the maids were always cheerfull and always spoke to you when you passed,Restaraunt staff always on hand including the restaurant manager Miguel, then we have the bar were i started with nick names
the bar manager Esteban the Mountie as he is from canada and Tony his assistant alias grasshopper off the tv series kungfoo, now for the reception starting with Sergio reserved but very
helpful, then we have the lovely Veronica and Sanne to greet you two loverly young ladies, also at reception is Mr nice guy Carlos he goes the extra mile to help you with any information you require, then last but not least is Dapper Dan the Manager always immaculate always cheerful and always speaks to every one he always has time for you. ps they all speak several languages and i would have enjoyed it more if i was not suffering from whiplash off a car accident two weeks previous,looking forward to a return visit.
Mr & Mrs J King

Room Tip: over-look the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank james k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puntaamer, Manager at Hotel Som Fona, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear guests, thank you so much for having chosen our Be Live Punta Amer Hotel after reading the reviews of other guests before your holidays. And thank you as well for having dedicated your time, writing your own positive and lovely review on your personal holiday experience with us. Your kind and personalized praise to your new friends, our staff, is the best gift for our motivation. We are grateful for each and every comment of our guests, as they always help us to improve our service and thus your satisfaction. But it is an immense pleasure to receive a review as extraordinarily as yours; to learn that you had an enjoyable, peaceful stay with us and that we were able to meet up with your expectations makes us incredibly happy. We will continue to work hard every day to improve our services constantly; your satisfaction is and will always be our highest priority. We hope you recover well from the consequences of the car accident you suffered prior to your holidays. We are truly looking forward to see you again on your next visit to Mallorca. On behalf of all your new friends of the Be Live Punta Amer, we hereby send you and your wife our kindest and warmest greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Please note that I am posting this review with a delay of two and half month. We arrived around midnight and check-in process was very quick and efficient. Room was really small, but spotlessly clean. Before booking this hotel I read a few reviews from people complaining about beds. They are indeed two single beds pushed together, so if you come here for romantic holiday and like cuddling in the night, it could be a problem. We found beds very comfy, but we found the room freezing cold. There was not a proper duvet, only sheet with blanket over it. We even had to put the bed cover over it and we were still cold. Turning heating on didn’t help either. When I spoke to reception the following morning I was advised that hotel just opened (Easter weekend 2013) and heating wasn’t set up yet. They assured me that engineer will look at it straight away. I understand that during summer there is no need for heating to be working and also sheet and blanket is more than enough to keep you warm through the night. But unfortunately at the end of March the temperature was still a bit lower and one day when we returned from a day trip I got so cold that I had to have a hot bath to warm me up. Unfortunately heating was never fixed while we were there. But heating issue is only negative thing I have to say about this hotel. On a positive note, we really enjoyed breakfasts and even dining experience was very pleasant. There were plenty of food to choose from and my favourites were pancakes which were made just in front of us. We were leaving very early in the morning to catch our flight and we already had a breakfast prepared at 5:30am for us. Reception staff together with the waiting staff was very helpful. It was too cold to use outdoor swimming pool but I would definitely use it in summer. We tried Jacuzzi, which was big enough for a whole group of people and also sauna. I can’t comment on massages as we didn’t try it. There are two very nice beaches on both sides of the hotel, just couple of minutes walk. We went off season so it was quite and a lot of shops and bars were still closed, but I am sure that area comes to life at the peak time. If you rent a car like we did, there is a free small car park for about 10 cars just behind the hotel. You may be able to find some space on the street, but it usually gets crowded there. Mallorca is a beautiful island and definitely worth exploring. If I will visit Mallorca again I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank komodo8297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puntaamer, Manager at Hotel Som Fona, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear guests, thank you very much for having chosen our hotel during your visit to Mallorca, and thank you as well for sharing your experience after your stay with us last March. Your comments are a great help to us in order to improve our service continuously. We are very grateful for your criticism regarding the heating and would like to sincerely apologize to you for any inconveniences this may have caused you. On the other hand, it makes us very happy that the attentions of our staff and the variety of our buffet have contributed to an enjoyable stay for you. We would like to assure you that we appreciate all of your comments and where possible these have already been implemented in concrete improvements. We send you kind greetings on behalf of all employees of the Be Live Punta Amer and hope we'll meet again on your next visit to Mallorca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We've just got back from this hotel, went with my elderly parents (84 and 80 years young). Booked here due to good ratings and the plus of it being adults only. The food was superb, the staff were very friendly and amenities were good. The location is good but I feel 'a beware' is necessary - the hotel is situated in very close proximity to several businesses renting out motorised scooters, segways and multi seat bicycle type contraptions; the constant humming of scooter engines besides the 'take your life in your hands' avoiding the bikes, scooters and segways during a leisurely stroll along the beach side this I feel could be a problem during peak holiday time! The hotel was predominantly full of Germans, the majority seemed friendly. The hotel has a 'smart attire' rule for evenings in the restaurant, sadly this is not adhered to with many guests choosing clothes less than smart in my book (shorts, tatty jeans and beach flip flops).
The hotel itself is lacking some essential maintenance including sliding wardrobe doors not shutting without a fight, balcony doors on ours (212) and parents room (208) didn't open easily and our room door squeaked very loudly on opening and could only be shut by slamming - apologies to anyone on our floor (2)!
The flooring around the pool area and outside the restaurant also was lifting which could prove to be a trip hazard. As my parents pointed out the steps out on to the main street both front and rear could also do with handrails.
The restaurant staff were friendly and obviously worked very long hours - although they were always polite and keen to remember your room number and favourite drinks at meal times.
If I were to go again I would be keen for a sea view room as opposed to a partial sea view. Rooms 208 down had far better views than 212, we looked directly at the block opposite.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, choose a sea view room. Rooms 212, 214, 216.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Debs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puntaamer, Manager at Hotel Som Fona, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear guests, thank you so much for having taken the time to share your impressions on our hotel after your stay with us. Your comments are a great help to us to improve our service continuously and at the same time identify our weaknesses. Therefore, we have taken every single one of your comments very seriously, and the points you raised will be passed on to our staff immediately in order to be solved as soon as possible. We are very sorry that your stay in our hotel was not entirely as perfect as you and as we had imagined and hoped and we would like to apologize to you for the inconveniences. We are however extremely happy that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff and the variety of our buffets. We hope to be able to welcome you and your parents again in a near future in order to then convince you of all our services. Should you decide to visit us again, it would be our greatest pleasure to help you with the reservation of a sea view room, please do not hesitate to contact us personally. We kindly greet you on behalf of your entire Be Live Punta Amer team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Another great holiday at the Punta Amer, the food is superb, the manager and staff are like friends not members of staff, nothing is too much trouble for them.This time we were able to take advantage of the spa facilities and they are now doing private sessions with champagne included.The view from the balcony is wonderful and we hope to return in september.I know why i keep going after 37 years the Punta Amer and staff make me happy and relaxed and thats what a holiday should be thank you Punta Amer

lesley edwards

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puntaamer, Manager at Hotel Som Fona, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Mrs Lesley Edwards, once again we would like to express our gratitude for your confidence and the loyalty you reward us with, every time you visit us. And thank you as well, for the lovely positive review you have shared with us on Tripadvisor. It is a true honor for us that you allow us the pleasure of your company year after year and to know that once more you have returned home happy and relaxed after these last holidays, makes us extremely happy. You have become part of our family and are therefore missed by us from the moment you leave, but we are so looking forward to your next stay in September already! We hope that your pleasant holiday-memories stay with you for a very long time and we wish you a very nice summer. Please receive the biggest and warmest of hugs form your entire Be Live Punta Amer family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We 3 couples were on a cyclung holiday moving to different hotels on our circular route start / finish in Campos. Carlos in reception took us to a secure basement ffor the bike storage. We were immediately upgraded to rooms at the front rather than the partial sea views we had paid for. My husband and I had room 102 overlooking the pool and the sea. All the rooms were very comfortable quiet and spacious with air con not used at this time of year There is a very nice pool with lots of recliners around it but the pool is unheated and would only be sutable in high summer. There is a very small indoor heated pool in the spa.We didn't dine in the hotel but had very well piced and delicious cocktails there before we walked around the quiet bay to a fish restaurant at the start of a raised wharf. Breakfast was a buffet choice but not memorable.
This hotel was the only seaside holiday hotel we stayed in. S'Illot Bay is rocky without a beach so fine for adults but like the hotel name suggests, not suitable for children.
This hotel was excellent value on a one night stay basis so I assume would be even better value on a weekly basis.

Room Tip: Room 108 which our friends were given had a large corner bath and two wash basins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sixgocycling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puntaamer, Manager at Hotel Som Fona, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear guests, thank you very much for your one-night stay in our hotel during your cycling holidays on Mallorca and thank you as well for your review on your stay with us. It is very important for us to obtain feedback from our guests, because only with your help can we continue to improve our services according to your wishes and needs. We were very happy to learn that you felt comfortable with us - your nice praise is the best reward and the most important motivation for our entire team. We would be extremely pleased if you would consider choosing us again when you next pay a visit to our island. Until then, your entire Be Live Punta Amer team wishes you all the best and sends you kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near S'illot
0.2 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#3 of 29 in Sa Coma
1,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Moreia Apartments
Playa Moreia Apartments
#4 of 13 in S'illot
954 reviews
0.2 mi away
Universal Hotel Perla
Universal Hotel Perla
#1 of 13 in S'illot
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#6 of 29 in Sa Coma
392 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Som Fona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Som Fona

Address: Calle Gregal 20 | Baleares, 07687 S'illot, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Be Live Punta Amer)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > S'illot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in S'illot
Price Range: $74 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Som Fona 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoten Som Fona Adults Only Hotel, offers a modern, comfortable and minimalist style facilities. This 4-star hotel is perfect to enjoy a romantic getaway. Its proximity to the beach and golf courses, make it an ideal option to practice sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Som Fona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Punta Amer Hotel s`Illot
Oasis Punta Amer Hotel
Oasis Punta Amer s Illot
Hotel Som Fona Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing