We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartments Arcos Playa
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My friend and i are just back from Arcos Playa Apartments. I had read a few reviews before i went, one of which complained about the food! We had a cooked breakfast one morning which was brilliant, and Sunday lunch, which was out of this world. At least 6 big slices of very tender beef with yorkshire pudding, roast potatoes, mash, gravy and veg. The room was basic, but had everything we needed. Our bedroom didnt have a bedside lamp, which would have annoyed me, but luckily i have a light on my kindle which took care of me being able to read before i went to sleep. The kettle was the old fashioned whistling type, which we got used to by the end of our stay. The balcony was great. The pool area was a bit confined. The cleaner came once during our 1 week stay, which was enough. They could do with buying new towels, but it was all fine. The town is great, near to the beach, supermarkets, souvenir shops, restaurants. Bus stop outside the apartments, and buses every ten mins or so. I will definately go back. You get what you pay for, and this was a cheap holiday, in a quite adequate apartment for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Margaret034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 552 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

Me, my husband, and 2 year old daughter stayed here for 5nights self catering from the 6th of October to the 11th, and we had a very enjoyable stay. The room we had was basic and although not to my taste decor wise, it was clean. (I'll be honest the furniture and decor was ugly but I suppose its a case of each to their own taste wise).
We had a HUGE 2 bedroom appartment (with a sea view!) so we had plenty of room to spread out and relax. We we're given clean towels during our stay, and provided with cleaning equipment (sweeping brush, mop etc.) so we could clean our appartment ourself as we were self catering. From reading other reviews I dont think people have been realistic as its a cheap budget hotel, you can't really ask for more for your money. Clean towels and bedding are not provided daily, but are changed regularly. And realistically who changes their bed sheets and towels at home daily?!?! Our bins were also emptied.
If you've opted for self catering its purely that....You cater for yourself as your paying bare minimum you cant expect them to do everything for you.
The location of the hotel is fab, its extremely close to the lovely beach and transport links.
The staff we're very friendly and helpful, and the food was excellent. The pool was cleaned daily, and there were plenty of sun loungers and pool toys available.It's a really good little sun trap from just before lunch time onwards. My 2 year old enjoyed the pool.
There was plenty of on site entertainment provided in the way of bingo and karaoke. The price's of the food and drink were fantastic. REALLY good value for money. There are also a few really nice places to eat close by (our favourite was the Red Lion).

I would recommend staying here if your realistic about getting what you pay for. At the end of the day the hotel is just somewhere to rest your head after spending your day out and about exploring the area. Don't opt for self catering if your not willing to do just that and cater for yourself a little.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We are currently 5 nights in on a 14 night holiday,and wish we were back home already, fair enough it is a cheap holiday but we have experienced much better for much less. Rooms are filthy, the toilet isn't connected properly, punched hole in wardrobe, cracked tiles, mouldy fridge, dirty bath, glass on balcony is cracked, furniture outdated, towels only changed once a week, beds in a prison are more comfortable (only guessing), staff are arrogant and rude, local shop keepers don't seem to like English, the actuall resort of s'illot is amazing. I would definately visit the area again but book different accomodation. Arcos Playa Apartments is completely over rated as a 2 star, it shouldn't even be a 1

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RZXMVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We hav jus returned from r 11 night stay at arcos playa. We stayed in room 202.. Room is basic wit large balcony.. We booked 1 bedroom app for 3 of us n we got 2 bedrooms which was a nice surprise.. Having no lift didnt bother jus at all.. Food is cheap and cheerful.. (dannys mum is a fab cook).. Beer is €2 a pint and 2 for €3 in happy hour.. Toni can b abit grumpy but once u get him chatting he is a nice man wit a funny laugh.. Danny n valeria are lovely people. Danny made use laugh so much.. Beach is 2min walk n beautiful.. It really is jus a short walk to sa coma. Bus stop outside appartments is very handy.. Made sum lovely friends on r holiday. Wil def b bk next yr to see all @ arcos playa..

Karlee, mal and mamma judith :)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karleek53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

It's 15 months since we last stayed at the Arcos Playa and I think that overall the property is getting shabbier. We stayed in the annexe in a very big apartment overlooking the beach which had a perfect outlook but we only had the cleaners once in 2 weeks !!!! They changed th beds and left clean towels and never saw them again . I had to ask for clean towels but couldn't be bothered asking about the cleaners so swept it out myself and kept it clean which is not what you come on holiday for.

Room Tip: The annexe is quite good as it's away from the main building so very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 142Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We like many others were a little apprehensive about staying at this apartment hotel following some of the reviews that we had read. But my partner and I were not disappointed. Yes you could say that the apartment was a little tired, but it was spacious and clean, and came fitted out with a two ring modern hob, toaster and kettle. Our apartment was opposite the main hotel near the lovely beach of S'illot. We had chosen this resort because we thought it would be more reserved than the likes of Cala Millor, and it was. Originally a fishing village, and it was great to see the small fishing boats still going about their business. We came here to enjoy the swimming and walking and found all to hand. We walked both the main headlands, to the North over as far as Cala Bona, passing through Cala Millor and Sa Coma. This walk takes you through to an interesting headland where you can side track off to see the 'Castel De N'amer'. As you come through into Cala Millor, over the dunes, the swimming is beautiful there. You can find your own spot alone in the rocks that take you down on to the sand to snorkle with the fishes.Over on the other coastline to the South we found our way to Cala Morlanda an amazing place down over steps, but tricky access to yet again to do some good snorkelling. Futher on you can make your way over the rugged, very make shift, sort of path which takes you to Porto Cristo. Here we found two gems. One was the little bay called 'Cala Petita' the other seeing tortoises roaming about. Travelling around Mallorca by the 'Big Red Bus' is very easy and convenient as the bus stop is right outside the hotel. We took the bus to Palma a couple of times, once to do the train ride to Soller. Also went over to the 'Caves of Drach' and to Cala Rajada. All in all a very good time was had. As for the resort of S'illot we found the beach was lovely, swam there every day, early evening in the setting sun. The little shop over the road from us, was good and suprisingly cheap. The other small supermarket up and back from where we were was also fine, as was the local fruit market. To conclude we can say that this hotel suited us fine,we would stay there again and would recomend it to others.The hotel staff were always very helpful, to be fair we didn't eat at the hotel, but we heard good comments. However we did buy the cooked chickens at 7 euros each, which did a couple of meals each time. Linen was changed once during our two week stay, which was not a problem, and the towels three times. It really depends on what you are looking for. The hotel offers really good value for money in a lovely resort. To make sure its right for you I would suggest you read some of the other reviews, because what suits one persons needs may not suit another. Any way 'Happy Holidays' Gill and Nigel Weymouth England

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Travelite100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

ARCOS PLAYA has two buildings, the one that is always shown and the one that's over the road and up the side street and in the shade. When we arrived we were allocated the 3rd floor I said I was disabled and do you have a ground floor to which the reply was no! "we have over the road on the 1st floor over the road and we don't have a ground floor, so we took it. Nice room cheap and cheerful well we expected that so we made a cup of coffee and sat on the balcony in the shade,we never got the sun on the balcony at all along with the other guests and their balconys on the first/2nd .floor What a view the round about ! good thing is the nearby bus stop by the roundabout the bus's go everywhere. Apartment cheap and cheerful. The restaraunt and pub OK in the main biulding

Room Tip: Stay at Arcos Playa 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank driftwood53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near S'illot
0.1 mi away
Playa Moreia Apartments
Playa Moreia Apartments
#4 of 13 in S'illot
959 reviews
0.1 mi away
Universal Hotel Perla
Universal Hotel Perla
#1 of 13 in S'illot
267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Europa
Europa
#24 of 29 in Sa Coma
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Som Fona
Hotel Som Fona
#2 of 13 in S'illot
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Colombo
Catalonia Colombo
#7 of 13 in S'illot
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Arcos Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Arcos Playa

Address: Plaza Sabina, 07687 S'illot, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > S'illot
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in S'illot
Price Range: $27 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Apartments Arcos Playa 1.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Booking.com so you can book your Apartments Arcos Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Arcos Playa Hotel s`Illot
Apartments Arcos Playa Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing