We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better”
Review of Playa Blanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Playa Blanca Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in S'illot
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Hotel a bit oudated,and run down, Hotel was 1970's style, needed work doing,neglected.Food was basic, same meals for lunch and dinner.Staff were not friendly, apart from the old man, who i think owned the hotel, pool needed a good clean and paint.Found a lovely english cafe, Dolphin Cafe - next door to burger king,(down town approx 5 mins walk away) woman was lovely and friendly,and her food was lovely, fresh and tastey. I will not be returning to this hotel.but maybe the resort.

Room Tip: rooms on first floor have a bigger balcony, but terrible noise over the bar, so you can not win.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 830 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

My partner and I booked booked into the above hotel on the 28 March 2013.

I booked the hotel because it was in S'illot and we had stayed in that resort last September 2012. After reading the reviews from other customers they were very mixed. At the end of the day, we could not complain. On the whole the hotel needs a lick of paint here and there, but we never stayed all day at the hotel and like to eat out at night.

Breakfast was Okay, but only warm. Cooked breakfast which included hotdog sausages, bacon, boiled and fried eggs and uncooked fresh tomatoes.

Buffet breakfast, which included three different types of French sticks, rolls, pastries, yougurt, oranges, ham, salami, sliced cheese and you could eat as much as you liked.

Our bedroom was on the first floor and it was clean and the maid came in to change the bin and towels six days in seven.

The staff were very friendly and for the money we had paid, all I can say is, "What a bargain."
Our flight was with Ryanair and the holiday was booked with 'Lowcost Holidays'.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor have a bigger balcony and speaking to other guest,s we got our roomed c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

it was one of the best hotels i have ever stayed ,clean food was great and i am going back there in July this years great friendly team of people.A great swimming area and sun chairs plus a indoor pool and Gym you will feel at home here have fun .The local beach is only yards away from the hotel with golden sand and blue water what a place to hoilday go and try it you will fall in love with it.

Room Tip: real nice clean room,the cleaner cleans every day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photoman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

11 of us stayed at this hotel from 18th March - 22nd all inclusive for a hen. We had an amazing time!! We worried at first going by the reviews but the hotel was clean, staff were lovely. We only had one issue with one of the staff members who was slagging us off in German to another guest and was very arrogant. The owner was lovely an even threw us a party on our last night which includes champagne etc. all inclusive is from 10-10 and your band is supposed to be cut off at 12pm on the day of departure, however we did not depart until approximately 5pm and continued to use all inclusive for drinks until then. Their measures are that big we had to ask for smaller ones haha!! The food wasnt great but we did always find something to eat. normally chips, bread and salad but very little change through the week. As we were off season there was very little open. Beware of the monkey bar just down the road. Full of locals and caused a lot of problems the first night. There's a lovely English cafe jut a walk away near the beach. Meals were amazing an woman couldn't have been nicer. We took a taxi into caller cala milor quite often through the day and at night. Only costs around €8 and a lot more livelier. All in all we had a great time and were disappointed to come home :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mentalgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My friend and I went to the Playa Blanca in the last week of October, so right at the end of the season. The hotel was quiet with not much going on at this time of year, but that is what we wanted. It was a nice place to sit and have a beer outside and the rooms were fine, not posh but not awful. The all inclusive drinks were pretty much what you'd get anywhere, beer, wine, spirits and machine-made cocktails which I'd avoid as they were awful. The all inclusive food was not bad, as veggies we generally ate chips, bread and salad but there was meat and fish available too. The staff were great, as long as you try and speak Spanish they can't do enough for you. Only downside was that we lost our safe key and they do not have a master key, so be very careful with your key! Overall this place is fine for what you pay, don't expect the Hilton but don't worry either!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

a family group of us stayed here at the weekend 15th to 18th march 2013 about an hour away from palma airport transfers were easy to sort the hotel itself was clean enough so were the beds had no problem with the rooms. the staff are freindly enough we stayed on an all inclusive basis which only runs from 10am til 10pm if you go to the bar at 10.01pm you will not be served unless you pay for your drinks all inclusive meals comprised of breakfast lunch and dinner with no snacks in between and a very limited selection. I am not a fussy eater i will eat almost anything but it was the same food for lunch and dinner and the food may look cooked but PLEASE check it properly as i cut into some chicken that i was enjoying but this was raw in the middle with blood pouring from it. on the day of departure your room must be vacated by 12 noon and your all inclusive band gets cut off regardless of what time you leave and there is no safe place to leave your luggage to allow you to go for a wander apart from behind reception which is left unlocked and a lot of the time unmanned as its the same person that works reception that works behind the bar. the hotel caters more for germans as the entire top floor is owned by germans with a german owner. the pool outside i would not step foot in as this is disgusting and is never cleaned and has god knows what floating in it. we got a taxi from the hotel to cala millor a livlier resort with more to do and more shops to browse and we found a great resturaunt called TAPAS DE SA CALETA owned by pepe and his lovely family you will not get better food and service anywhere in this part of mallorca and i would urge anyone staying in the area to go for a meal there its on passeig maritim, 3 placa eureka and looks out onto the cala millor beach SUPERB FOOD and SUPERB SERVICE even if the food in your hotel is great its worth a walk along to the resturaunt. there are other hotels in the area so have a good look before booking this hotel if you have toddlers or young children the upper floor balconies are no good as there is a lot of space in between the very shaky bars which a young child or toddler could easily fit through would never stay at this hotel again

Room Tip: if you want to choose a good room with a toddler or baby then floor 1 is best of your a couple with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jim77_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My family and I stayed here in august last year and can honestly say I've never stayed anywhere that was so bad. We weren't expecting 5 star treatment for 2 star prices as some seem to think on here, but even a budget holiday you'd expect to have some standards. The hotel itself is falling apart, the railings on our balcony were actually plastic drainpipes held into the wall with some sort of rubber putty. Our room didn't look like it had been cleaned at all before our arrival. The flagpoles outside the main entrance look like they're going to topple over at any minute. The main pool was green with algae and we never once seen it being treated with chlorine. The food I wouldn't feed to my dog and its every man for himself as far as getting a plate, food and table. We spent a lot of our spending money eating out as our six year old cried at the thought of having to eat in the restaurant. The hotel staff only spoke English when they were taking your money off you and could never seem to help when you asked for anything.
The bar prices changed sporadically and the service was poor.
On our final night we were told we couldn't rent the room again so we had to leave our bags in an empty UNLOCKED hotel room until our transfer arrived, on entering we discovered the shower was unusable and the toilet was blocked.
This was the final straw so we took our bags back down and went to complain and to tell the staff how bad our stay was, of course they didn't speak any English.
The resort itself is nice, close to two lovely beaches and plenty to do excursion wise but the other local hotels are just as cheap as this place and talking to some people around the resort much nicer.
AVOID.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near S'illot
0.2 mi away
Playa Moreia Apartments
Playa Moreia Apartments
#4 of 13 in S'illot
960 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playamar
Playamar
#9 of 13 in S'illot
922 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catalonia Colombo
Catalonia Colombo
#7 of 13 in S'illot
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Cala Millor
Iberostar Cala Millor
#4 of 60 in Cala Millor
337 reviews
33.9 mi away
Iberostar Cristina
Iberostar Cristina
#3 of 78 in Playa de Palma
995 reviews
33.5 mi away
Occidental Playa de Palma
Occidental Playa de Palma
#9 of 78 in Playa de Palma
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Blanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Blanca Hotel

Address: Carre Llevant 12, 07687 S'illot, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > S'illot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in S'illot
Price Range: $46 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Playa Blanca Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Playa Blanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Blanca Hotel Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing