We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as everyone makes out...”
Review of Playa Blanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playa Blanca Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in S'illot
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Well, me and my friends stayed at the Playa Blanca for 4 days at the start of April and I've got nothing important to complain about. I'll do a list...

The Hotel:
The hotel was in a great area, short walk to the beach and a slightly longer walk to the larger beach (the nicer beach was further but well worth the extra 5 minutes)
The staff in the hotel were good enough, the older man on the bar was very entertaining, we made a joke with him then after that he'd laugh everytime we saw him.
The only problem I have with the staff is the bald man with the goatee who works on the bar, he had a very short temper and we would regularly catch him shouting at guests (although upon finding out the staff are practically paid with dirt, I can't blame him) .
The owner of the hotel is a very nice man, would often come and talk to us which I thought was nice.
The rooms were clean and tidy and if a bit small, very nice. Everything matched and we were told that you generally have to pay a larger amount to stay in a room with a pool view, but we didn't pay any extra and had a pool view.
Overall the hotel and staff were an 8 out of 10.
The Food:
We had heard some horrible stuff about the food, but as a picky eater I didn't have any problems. I'm not a fan of fish and there were a few fish dishes over the 4 days but there were also meat and poultry too. There was always salad, bread and fruit. And as I'd read in a few reviews, there were no flies on the food, the juice did not have ants in it and they didn't use the exact same food for the week. It was always different. Sometimes there was table service, but it wasn't something they offered. All in all the food would also be an 8 out of 10.

The Area:
The town was very small with not much open, but we found a quaint little supermarket which sold all we needed.
The bars were scarce but we came across a wonderful little bar called Crazy Monkey or Mono Loco, we got in extremely well with the staff and it was cheap and cheerful. We didn't go into the other bar until the last day but that was nice enough. it won't ve everyone's cup of tea, the music is loud and modern and the drinks are strong and cheap. One barman was giving us free shots and the occasional free glass of champagne.
Unfortunately the bar is full of leary young men wanting to sleep with the tourists but as I figured out (a little too late) that if they cone up to you, say no problem and they go away (I don't know why this works but it does)
Overall I'd give this bar a 9 and three quarters out of 10 :)

And overall I'd give the entire holiday a 9 out of 10, no major hiccups at the hotel, everything is just as you expect, all clean and tidy. After all, you're going to a very cheap hotel, you can't expect the Ritz.
It was wonderful, so I would say, if you're on a budget, go to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mahoodington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 831 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2011

on arrrival had to go shop and buy cleaning products before using bathroom Meals where poor and no choice served same dishes daily Chairs in dinning room were thick with dust and baby chairs looked like dirt ingrained in to them whole building needing upgraded by painting drinks in bar were poor (no selection)

Room Tip: take cash and eat out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen_mcghee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Stank. RUDE, awful, horrendous staff. Full of old folk, who came from other hotels on 'day trips' but were allowed into the lunch buffet before paying hotel guests were. Same food every single day. Shocking vegetarian choices of food - I lived on chips and salad for a week, which is all they offered. Cocktails watered down. Awful, cheesy, OAP type music played in main bar hall. Never again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljsheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

the worse holiday ever. we were all inclusive, this meant we cud drink 1 of 5 shorts or lager or t and coffee only.!!!! we cud only eat in hotel 3 times a day !!! no snacks inbetween. not that we bothered as the flys had beat us to it!!!!we were in the lounge bar on 1st night only to b placed in the dark at 10pm...cause apparently this is wen the all in finished....so room was shut down for the night...the staff...wen u could find any...were rude and intorrible..we ended up leaveing and bussing it to palma and booking into a hotel there...we had a lucky escape...PLS PLS DO NOT CONSIDER THIS HOTEL..ESPECIALLY IF YOU HAVE CHILDREN....

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARGI015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

To all travellers please look at tripadviser before booking My sister and i went to this hotel 4 oct 2010 for 2 weeks and it was the hotel from hell food at least three days old if not eaten on a monday cock roaches under the heater of food trays childen had no snacks to eat or ice cream.the locals were treated better than the paying ones. bedroom disgusting no clean sheets no clean towels unless put in bath i got chest infection so my sister had to get someone to write in spanish what medicine i wanted as there is no eu card doctors in sillot jurgen on front desk got to be the worst person i have encounter rude is not the word and how no one is not dead as the bars on the balconys are so loose the place needs inspectors to shut the place down .THIS IS NOT 3 STAR WOULD SAY NO STAR .

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michele1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Myself and my boyfriend have just returned from a week stay at the Playa Blanca and to be completly honest it is quite possibly the worst hotel i have ever known!
Before going we read some reviews and thought that it couldnt really be that bad as agencies are still using the Playa Blanca on they'r websites and such. It really was as bad as other people have said.

The one good point about the Playa Blanca is its location. Sillot and Sa Coma are beautiful ! Two big sandy beaches, warm clear sea, mountains all around, plenty to do like horseriding, scuba diving ect .. Theres loads of little shops and bars to go to. The area is pretty great for both familes and young people wanting to go away with friends ect and still wanting some night life. The night life isnt great there but we found a few good bars and pubs that stayed open late and needless to say we had a few messy nights :) But other than everything else is awfull.

When we first arrived we thought the hotel was ok, room was a decent size and good view over the balcony, it wasnt untill we got a few days into out holiday when we realized how terrible it it.

First our beds were NOT changed at all whilst we were there, if the maid did bother to come in, she just made the bed and nothing else, no clean sheets or anything. Also our whole holiday we never got fresh towles, our friends we met there asked at reception for some new ones and they were yelled at and not no one gets fresh towels ??!!

Second, the staff are rude and only a couple of them can actually speak a word of english, so trying to comunicate with them was impossible! We had an issue with out toilet at one point which the flush mechanism had broken. We frequently complained about it, it took nearly 2 days to fix, when it was only a 2 second job, we could of done it out self. And on one occasion when my bf went to complain. He was told in exact words .. " your a tall man, you have legs, you can walk, use the toilets down here" !!! We were on the second floor, so we were expected to walk down 4 flights of stairs to use the toilet when we have payed for a room with an onsuit bathroom !!!

Third, the food there is AWFULL !!! I mean pretty unbearable. It was always cold, the meat they served, well you could never work out what kind of meat it was. My bf actually got food poisoning from eating the food there. Our last 2 days of holiday he spent in bed throwing up every 10 minutes. One morning when some kids went to go get some juice from the machine, Instead of juice coming out, all they got was a clear liquid and a load of ANTS in they'r cup. Pretty disgusting, needless to say i didnt have any juice from there again. The all inclusive drinks was ok, nice to find out on our 4th day though that you could have anything behind the bar, not what was on the very short list we were given. We were not told anything about this by the staff, we found out by another person staying there.

Every couple of days all the locals come in to the hotel for food and entertainment. Well they are waited on hand and foot. Drinks and food brought to they'r table ( Paying guests have to go up and get the'y food and drinks and clear the'y table after eating ! ) When the loacs are in, paying guests are shoved in the corner of the restaurant, while they have full reign of the room, wine and water on they'r table and table service. Great for the them, not so great for the guests!

The hotel entertainment was a joke ! it was always some bad spanish karakoke singer type act, that no one could understand or want to listen to.

The hotel facilities were a complete shambles. The gym consisted of a broken wieght machine, broken running machine, broken mini trampoline, broken cd player and 2 pedel bike thingy's that did actually work. The indoor pool had no water in it and the outdoor pool was freezing! So cold no one ever went in it. Aparently there was a massage area, there isnt one. When my bf was ill and i went down to reception to ask for a first aid kit hoping to find some paracetamol or something in it, i was told the hotel didnt have a first aid kit !!!! How on earth can a hotal pass its safety clearance without even having a first aid kit in the building !!! The pool area outside was all tiled, looked nice, but was a death trap if you walked on it with wet feet, we saw so many people fall over. The railings on the balcony's were so loose and dangerous that we could take them off the wall, now if a child ran out and leant on them or something, they'd fall, no doubt about it.

There is so much more to say, but this review is already pretty long lol
All in all the Playa Blanca is the HOTEL FROM HELL !! Never ever go there, the area its in is beautiful and i would recomend going there but DO NOT STAY AT THE PLAYA BLANCA !!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bearboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

we have just returned from this hotel and apart from the bad weather we enjoyed a week here the only problem was they were a little short staffed the food was ok and hotel and rooms clean the drink was fine and definatley not waterd down as some people on here said it was the staff were friendly some people just like to moan a lot we read the reviews before we travelled and wernt looking forward to the holiday but were pleasantly surprised after all it is low cost holidays

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank king61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near S'illot
0.2 mi away
Playa Moreia Apartments
Playa Moreia Apartments
#4 of 13 in S'illot
960 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hipotels Dunas Cala Millor
Hipotels Dunas Cala Millor
#21 of 59 in Cala Millor
130 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aparthotel Porto Drach
Aparthotel Porto Drach
#1 of 10 in Porto Cristo
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Cala Millor
Iberostar Cala Millor
#5 of 59 in Cala Millor
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playamar
Playamar
#9 of 13 in S'illot
922 reviews
34.5 mi away
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
#12 of 24 in Can Pastilla
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Blanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Blanca Hotel

Address: Carre Llevant 12, 07687 S'illot, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > S'illot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in S'illot
Price Range: $46 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Playa Blanca Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Playa Blanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Blanca Hotel Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing