We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic place to stay on this stunning Island... highly recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marina Bay Hotel Apartments
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay on this stunning Island... highly recommend!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have just returned from Marina Bay Hotel/Apartments - stayed 2 weeks in August (2013)
What a wonderful holiday! Kefalonia is a beautiful island, and our stay was made even more fantastic by staying at Marina Bay.
We arrived after a 40 minute taxi transfer. The friendly receptionist Georgia showed us to our room (224). It was spacious and clean and we opened up the french doors on to the balcony to the most stunning view of the beach and sea! Apparently all rooms have a sea view, which I think is amazing... I love to open the doors first thing on a morning to the sound of the waves and the sun beginning to light up the beach...
The room was basic but had all you need, bed was comfy and made daily and sheets/towels changed every few days. Air conditioning was a god send, we had to pay extra when we arrived (think it was 90 euros for the 2 weeks) but it was lovely to come back from the 35 degrees heat to a lovely cool room, and nice to put on low for a comfortable nights sleep. A small kitchenette had a fridge and 2 ring hob.
Breakfast was included - I've read some reviews here on Trip Advisor, of people moaning about the breakfast, but I think it was a lovely bonus - most self catering apartments don't include any food so I think this was great. It was just what you needed to start the day: toast with ham, cheese, tomatoes, honey or jam, eggs, rice pudding, delicious home-made sponge, coffee/tea and juice. Spiros the cook was a friendly face every morning, greeting my 5 year old son Lucas with "who is my favourite friend in the whole 7 islands?" and a hug. He'd make sure we had whatever we needed and all the staff were friendly and spoke fairly good English..despite a review I noticed saying nobody spoke English! The food here is basic but quite adequate for a bite to eat if you want lunch here. For the price you pay for this holiday you obviously aren't going to expect gourmet food, so people that complain about the food are not really being realistic....
There is a lovely little Taverna called Anemos a short walk along the road or beach, and up a little hill which we ate at a few times (make sure you have cash, they don't take cards - I found out, oops)
The grounds of Marina Bay are lovely, nice lawn with sunbeds and parasols looking out over the beach. And a beautiful pool which I'd call an 'infinity pool' with a stunning view of the sea. The pool was always clean, and the fantastic thing we found was it was so quiet... We couldn't believe it was the middle of August, the middle of the school Summer holidays and we were sometimes the only people in the pool, and there were always sunbeds available! Usually in the peak season you're lucky if you get somewhere to sit at the pool or beach unless you go and put towels out at 6 o'clock in the morning!
The beach was gorgeous too, and only metres to walk from leaving our apartment... Clean and sandy with free sunbeds and parasols (unlike most other beaches that charged a daily rate..) Also very quiet, not crowded as you might expect in peak season. This beach is one of a very few nesting place for giant turtles. We went to a talk about the conservation going on here, and were told there were eggs hatching while we were there, unfortunately we never saw any, despite getting up at about 5:00 one morning to try and see them...
The sea was warm and calm most days, so lovely and safe for children.
You can take a taxi to Skala, the town and main resort which costs 6 euros each way. There you'll find lots of restaurants of every variety. We particularly liked The Pines on the square, and lots of others who's names I can't remember. Also lots of bars where you can enjoy a cocktail or 3.
We hired a car for 3 days from a company called Greekstones, very reasonable, and nice reliable car. It was wonderful to have the freedom to take a look around the island - particular favourite places were Assos bay/castle, and Fiscardo - the very North of the island, a beautiful harbour where you can just sit and have a meal/drink overlooking the water with millions of £'s worth of yachts coming in - good to dream!
Another place we found was Georgiou Castle, not far from Skala. Up the hill by the castle is The Castle Cafe - we had some delicious food here, sat in the most amazing, cool, comfortable setting, with fantastic views, free jugs of very welcome cold water and the best home-made tiramasu ever!
If you're looking for somewhere with water sports, loud music, lots going on and a kids club for your children to go to - don't go to Marina Bay!
But if you want, like us, a very relaxing holiday with peace and quiet in the most amazing, beautiful location with friendly staff to look after you, then try this place.... I would definitely recommend highly and would love to re-visit some time in the near future....

Room Tip: We had room 224 which was perfect, 2nd floor (there's only 3 anyway) meant we had perfect beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NikkiB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    38
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
38
61
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Fantastic location low rise hotel - from the minute you arrive you are made to feel very welcome & the stunning view of the Ionian Sea hits you as you step into the reception to check in.
It gets better - all rooms have a sea view & some with very large balcony - panoramic views of the sea & Zante in the distance, rooms are very spacious equipped with a fridge & two ring hob - nice shower room & comfy bed - all kept very clean & clean towels & linen change regularly.
Mounda beach is at the bottom of the hotel garden - probably the best beach on Kefalonia the turtles nest & lay their eggs there - unfortunately we were not lucky to see any.
We visited in May 2012 & was so impressed we returned in September 2012 - I am very happy to report we are returning again in September 2013.
Spiros the chef will cook anything you ask for & Georgia the reception manager will help you book trips arrange taxis etc.. Nothing is too much trouble - I have read some of the other reviews & must disagree ( the hospitality at the Marina Bay Hotel from the staff to the owners is one of the best)!!
The hotel is a 7 minute drive from Skala where you will find a great selection of Taverna's serving delicious food. If you are looking for an amazing beach location to relax & chill that's low key - this is the place.

Room Tip: Ask for Yellow Cactus or Purple Parsely - huge balcony ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our first visit to the hotel, Marina Bay. We decided not to hire a car and rather spend the time on the beach and in the pool. Our 9 year daughter just loved it. We got some sun beds in the beautiful garden and spent almost every day there and in the water. The hotel facilities are just what we needed for this kind of a week's break. Unlike a large hotel where you are known by your room number only here we were treated almost like family and known by name. The small size of the hotel is one of it's strengths. There are of course some problems. We found that letting anyone on the beach use the pool led to groups of largely unsupervised children in especially at the weekend. The food is also limited, but as there are lovely restaurants nearby (Skala is easy and just 6 Euros by taxi) this is not really an issue. The rooms are lovely with lots of room and a great balcony with uninterrupted sea view. For anyone who wants a totally relaxing holiday with (thankfully!!) no discos, rowdy crowds etc. this would be hard to beat. And there is a kettle in the room and a fridge!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a lovely garden as well as sea view - almost an 'infinity room'! How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidbesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

After 12 years travelling to Kefalonia, we decided to stay a week at the Marina Bay hotel on our favourite beach, Mounda, where the turtles nest. The hotel was very clean and the receptionist very friendly and helpful.

However, Spiros the chef is deluded and serves the most appalling food that you would not give to a dog. It was the worst food I have had in over 40 years visiting Greece. On the first night, we ate at the restaurant and were served roast lamb which looked and tasted like a plate of roadkill. We went down to breakfast only once as it was a chaotic shambles with food being thrust at us as we were hurried through the buffet (served by the same staff that ran the bar, reception, swept the patio and tendered the gardens). None could speak English and had to resort to Spiros as their interpreter.

We were persuaded to join the BBQ by Spiros who promised us the best BBQ in the whole of Greece. He also claimed to be the best chef on Kefalonia!! What rubbish. There was a BBQ stand in the hotel grounds but it was never lit. Instead, we were served a plate of Greek School Dinner consisting of a burger, sausage and the same lamb we had had two days before, a slice of bread and a badly baked jacket potato. Disgusting. We sent it back because we could not eat it. An argument ensued with Spiros who did not accept that a BBQ has to be cooked over hot coals for it to be a called a BBQ, and a plate of warmed up slop with tired warm salad was a pathetic offering. Instead we went to the new nearby Anmenos Taverna where the food was excellent severed by efficient friendly staff. The kitchen there is stylish and modern.

The other problem we had was ordering a Gin & Tonic which arrived warm without ice or lemon and the tonic was completely flat. We complained to Spiros who runs the whole show cooking and serving drinks and were given two more G&Ts which were still flat & warm. At this point we were losing the will to live and gave up the struggle.

People we met on the beach said "you didn't go to the BBQ did you?" so we are not alone in our experience.

The final straw came when Spiros showed us the excellent reviews in the visitors book saying how good he food was. I told him he must have been up all night writing the reviews himself!

In short, the hotel is very good and we would stay there again. But eat there at your peril!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billandvalerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

2nd visit to marina bay hotel. sea view and comfy bed. we chose same 2nd floor apartment as we knew it was good for access and views. clean but not luxury shower is more like a wet room as no curtain. plenty of hot water and clean sheets and towels every few days. breakfast was ok and full english was available at a price. we liked spiros who would cook what we asked for at lunch. never ate in evening as so many places to eat out . we like the pines and jerrys on main road in katelios. very friendly hotel best for us in june went in to july and it was too hot! what a complaint!

Room Tip: 2nd floor away from bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellow virgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have just returned from the beautiful island of kefalonia, we stayed at the Marina bay hotel and I would say we would like to go back at some point.
The plus points are location and sea views in every room, quiet area, large clean rooms and friendly staff, the negatives, food poor, atmosphere tense and lack of entertainment.
In my opinion the owners are missing a golden opportunity to create something really special, it seemed that they did not know how to use their captive audience, they only need to walk a few hundred yards up the beach to a fantastic taverna called Anemos to find out how to serve up amazing food in a happy atmosphere.
I would love to see Marina bay use its full potential and be brought up to modern standards because if they do not adapt they could sadly disappear and that would be a great shame..

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a sea view, so not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
high wycombe bucks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

well we have just arrived back after our 3rd visit to kefalonia once again we stayed at the beautiful marina bay hotel such a wonderful place georgeous setting lovely spotless rooms and to top it all spiros made our holiday once again such a lovely guy cooks such lovely food and cant do enough for you and great host we will definately be going back next year best hotel all round just hope spiros is there next year see you all soon

Room Tip: we have top floor but they all over look the sea lovely place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sheila035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.1 mi away
Mounda Beach Hotel
Mounda Beach Hotel
#17 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.8 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
1.5 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#8 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#10 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
9.0 mi away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Hotel Apartments

Property: Marina Bay Hotel Apartments
Address: Mounda Beach, Skala 280 82, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Bay Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Marina Bay Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing