We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to have a quiet Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marina Bay Hotel Apartments
Ranked #5 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to have a quiet Holiday”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

If only Google maps had got the right location(it shows NE of Skala rather than SW-Mounda beach) it took us ages to find, we would have missed out on this place as we wanted a place to be able to walk into the village initially, it is out of the way a bit but that after getting there this was a bonus, we still walked to Skala although 11/2 hours along the beach with rocks to cross is very demanding. We also walked the other way, a bit easier but still need good trainers (about 45 minutes to village).
The Hotel itself is as others have said very clean indeed and being out of the way do not "overprice" meals, the facilities are excellent and being on possibly the best stretch of beach on the Island.
There is a central free wifi around the reception be we managed to get it from our balcony too (rm 206).
The sea also being very child friendly as is stays shallow for a good way out. To get around a car is essential and we found that this to be best as a weeks hire was about the same price as the transfers would have been, petrol is currently about £1.55 litre.
Would I go back ?
Yes If ever I wanted a relaxing Holiday on a Greek island there would be the place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view, first and second floors have more "private" balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinandcaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    38
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
38
61
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Where to start with this special place.

The rooms are very nice and with great beach and sea view. Don't expect 5* but expect very clean rooms. You look out across the grass to dunes to beach to sea to Zakynthos. Decent fridge with small freezer. Air con at €7 a day - essential. Hob and pans but why cook when you can eat cheap. There's no utensils anyway. Has TV but only two stations but who cares. Its a nice room. Bathroom clean. Typical greek-style hand-held shower.

Located right on the amazing Mounda beach. A very low beach which doesn't get busy and home to loggerhead turtle nests. The sea is the perfect temperature, crystal clear and very gradually sloped. You could stay in there all day. If you want peace you can walk up towards the headland and Skala - but you'll feel more at home up there wearing much less! The beach is so quiet up there you have peace. You can't tire of this place. The nearest people can be 50 metres away it is so peaceful even in August.

The hotel has lovely grassed landscaping, a great inifity pool. Restaurant and bar, run by some lovely characters! Food is ok and very convenient in the day. Big beers at €3 always keeps me happy. Service is friendly and typically Greek laid back but very good. Nice evening bar which was quiet but bar lady very nice.

Do try the Taverna up the hill if you walk west about 500m along the beach or track. It is excellent and has great views. Also try the restaurants in nearby Katelios. A cab journey (or long walk along beach) but the beachside row of restaurants is great. We didn't have time for a trip/walk to Skala, the larger resort around the headland.

This really is a fantastic hotel and location. Loved it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grayster190873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

As a family we stayed in an apartment next to the hotel. It was clean and simple. This is a quiet place to go and relax: to listen to the sea as you go to sleep at night and wake to sound of the swallows nesting outside in the morning. If you are looking for clubs and noise go elsewhere really this isnt the place for you. This is a place for enjoying nature, walking by the beach (30meters away), lazing by the pool, swimming in the sea and relaxing. The hotel make little of the fact that Mounda Beach is an important nesting site for the endangered loggerhead turtles. They recently changed the outside lights to minimize disturbing the turtles so that has to be applauded. If you go during the nesting season May-Oct have a look at this guidance (see link below). You may want to pop in to the Katelios Group Centre which isnt far away to learn more about the turtles too:

http://www.kateliosgroup.org/environmental-education/a-decalogue-for-tourists-in-kefalonia/

The staff were all very friendly especially Spiros and Maloo who work very hard to help you have a good time (and of course they want you to eat their too!).

So all in all I can recommend the place if you are looking for a special bit of peace and quiet which isnt the Ritz.

Finally ! The owner lurks in the restaurant at breakfast time. Big guy white beard and hair. If you see him mention that you are pleased he's put special lights up for the turtles and that he is supportive of turtle conservation. This recognition will help protect the turtles!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The South
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed here for a week to get away from the miserable weather in the UK and to re-charge our batteries. Well what can I say, we were not disappointed!! The location of the hotel, if you want to 'get away from it all' is fantastic. All rooms are sea view and have a gorgeous view of the sea and beach. The most difficult decision we had to make all week was, do we sunbathe on the sunbeds on the lawn of the hotel or walk 50 metres and sunbathe on the beds on the beach! The only criticism I would make is that guests at the hotel should not have to pay the 6 euros for the hire of the beach sunbeds. Our room was very large and airy with a large balcony. Spotlessly cleaned every day and Spiros and all his staff were very welcoming. We would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely return again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VinjoTheSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
162 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Our 2nd time at the Marina Bay Hotel and as with with our first visit 12 months ago our stay was everything we wanted from a 'relaxing holiday'. Very quiet setting with everything you need on site to enjoy a quiet holiday - if want a bit more hustle and bustle, then the short trip into Scala will provide you with a plethora of restaurants. The hotel has a lovely well manicured lawned patio area at the front with sunbeds and umbrellas and steps down onto the beach. The hotel also has numerous sunbeds and umbrellas on the large sandy beach. The studio apartment has a good fridge and a couple of small hot plates should you be inclined to cook - the on site supermarket has a limited stock and is quite pricey. A trip into Scala for a more competitive supermarket is recommended for any self catering needs you may have.The bar and kitchen staff are very attentive and polite. The menu is limited and the meals offered are simple but they are very good and reasonably priced. Overall an ideal place to have a 'get away from it' holiday which, if you have a car or take a taxi, is still withing easy striking distance of a livelier resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DGK1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Marina Bay. The chef was very welcoming and friendly. The rooms were really nice and the view was amazing, however we felt the shower wasn't practical - (the shower head was 1 metre from the ground).

It costs €6 to go into skala which we did most nights- there are lovely restaurants- the old village being our favourite.

We didn't have a hire car but feel that if we were there longer than 1 week we would benefit from one.

Stay here if you want to relax, you want piece and quiet with wonderful views!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shauna1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We have stayed in dozens of places in Greece and the Marina Bay Hotel is quite frankly wonderful. The rooms are nicely furnished and very large. The view from the balcony are to die for. We booked independently for a week in May through Hotels4u.com and pthe price was around £140 for two. Everything was fabulous. Strongly recommend staying here - car hire a must but worth it to be in such a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spudkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.1 mi away
Mounda Beach Hotel
Mounda Beach Hotel
#17 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.8 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
1.5 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#8 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#12 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
9.0 mi away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Hotel Apartments

Property: Marina Bay Hotel Apartments
Address: Mounda Beach, Skala 280 82, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Bay Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marina Bay Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing