We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Holiday!”
Review of Big Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Big Village Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Skala B&B and Inns
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday!”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

When we arrived the owner came out to greet us, she was very friendly and welcomed us to Greece. Out room was big and spacious and very clean with air-conditioning which helped alot at night. During the day we stayed by the pool which is wonderful for meeting new people and the views were amazing! Also the pool bar was a great place to relax. Overall the people were friendly and the room was amazing! Definately worth going here on your next holiday!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frankieee1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    35
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
40
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Stayed 2 weeks self catering. Owner very friendly and changed our room allocation at our request, as well as extending use of room on last day. Appreciated as had a late flight.

Pool area is small and can become quickly dominated by kids! So maybe not best poolside for just couples. But easy escape to nearby beach via short walk downhill from hotel.

Breakfast is basic and does not vary across 2 weeks. We had breakfast out some days at local cafe for a change.

Hired a car and lots to see on island but hilly and some exciting hairpin bends to try out.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GMT2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

First time to skala and having visited Greece before was expecting the norm but was very pleased with the hotel and staff who made us all feel welcome. Irene is a perfect host and nothing is too much trouble hotel is perfect for location to shops & beach both within a few mins walking distance. Pool area is clean and hosed down every morning ready for 9 am opening. Breakfast is served from 8.30 onwards so you can have a lie in if you like recommend the old village taverna on the main street look out for the crazy waiter Danny made our visits so much more fun and the food is excellent.
We hired a car and visited most of the island recommend Sami for an ice cream and wherever you go try a Gyros .. Yum yum
Overall a fantastic holiday with a great clean and friendly hotel who made us all welcome in fact so welcome booked for next year, roll on 2012

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hydro95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We have just returned from a fortnights holiday at The Big Village in Skala. We had the most amazing holiday!!! We spent a lovely week on our own, then 24 family & joined us for the second week for our wedding. Irene & her staff were amazing in the help and organisation of our wedding. We wanted a really relaxed & informal day & that is exactly what we got. We used the elevated decking area above the bar for the reception in the evening. Irene helped us to decorate the area & Socrates, the taverna opposite provided the food which was excellent!!

We were made to feel part of the family by everyone out there. We have visited Skala before, which was why we decided to get married there. The wedding exceeded all of our expectations & was perfect in every way. I cannot recommend this hotel enough, the service was excellent & rooms were kept immaculate. Irene & her staff worked very hard & deserve far more praise than they are given. We would love to return next year for our first anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barry
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This hotel is the best in the area .Owner is so friendly and her family are too .Little Manween is a star jumping in the pool .I attended my Brothers wedding there it was amazing .No down sides just more up sides .Skala beautifull place not sure they knew what to make of the english stagg and hen nights but think they liked us.
The people genuinly want you to be happy and the staff at this hotel want you to be superhappy if this is possible .Thomas cook should think themselves lucky this hotel in there range.Thanks for an excellent stay Irene we will return asap.

Room Tip: no room the best just get air con well worthit
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robsterBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Just returned from Skala in kefalonia, had a great week in a beautiful resort. Stayed in the Big Village Hotel this is situated at the edge of the village but it is only a five minute walk to the village centre with all the great restaurants and a few more minutes to the beach. The hotel is family run and they are so polite and helpful and was even allowed to stay in our room on the day of departure which was very good of them and at no extra cost, The room we had was a good size and had everything you needed, my only little moan was that the bed linen and towels were only change once during our weeks stay, otherwise top place. The restaurants are fantastic you will not get a bad meal in any of them, the owners and staff are great. We will be back as we fell in love with the place, my only concern is due to their economy being in a mess it is very expensive there now, more expensive than back in England, lets hope things get sorted and they don't price themselves out of the tourist market.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room, better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steviepDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This was our first time to Kefalonia and Skala. It's such a lovely place with the most genuinly friendliest people I have ever come across.
Myself, husband and two year old son stayed in the Big Village Hotel and will def be going back. The family who own the hotel were absolutely brilliant, they made us feel very welcome and NOTHING was too much trouble.
The rooms were very spacious, very clean and the showers were quality.
Swimming pool just the right size and the food by the pool bar is amazing!
Its situated in a brilliant location, just two mins away from the shops and 5 mins walk away from the beach.
Had an absolutely brilliant holiday and would def recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in a lovely, family run hotel very close to all ammenities.

Thank you Big Village for such a lovely lovely holiday.

The Millards

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaleyJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
1.9 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
2.4 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#12 of 23 in Skala
213 reviews
2.5 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
398 reviews
22.7 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#6 of 11 in Lixouri
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Village Hotel

Property: Big Village Hotel
Address: Skala 28086, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Village Hotel is located in a quiet spot five minutes stroll to the shore and a couple of minutes walk into town. The pretty peached colored accommodation provides double, triple and quadruple rooms and offer continental breakfast, swimming pool and pool bar. The pool is surrounded by a terrace decked out with sunbeds and umbrellas, in the pool bar you can find delicious snacks and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Big Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Big Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing