We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time had by all”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marietta Studios & Rooms
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic time had by all”
Reviewed August 4, 2010

There is nothing to fault about the Marietta we have two children of 14 & 12 who had a brilliant time ideally located for walking into Skala town at night and also for the beach during the day a very peaceful location, owner and staff very friendly, asked for two more pillows which we got straight away apartments spotlessly clean as is the whole complex, we enjoyed it that much that we've only been back one day that we are booking for next year

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luce98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    89
    35
    7
    9
See reviews for
56
108
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We spent a week here totally relaxing. Apartments clean and despite the brochure saying the studios had no air conditioning this was available at a daily rate to our relief! Rooms cleaned everyday and complex and pool very clean.

Skala beach is amazing. 6 euros for 2 beds and a brolly.

Restaurants to try- the old village- really good food and very friendly staff. You have to try the prawns in ouzo cream sauce! Taverna Mickelas- brilliant food day and night. There is also another taverna down a side street that doesn't look much but does amazing greek plates- can't remember the name. Avoid at all costs the aquarius taverna- this is the worst meal we have ever had and we couldn't get out of there fast enough!

Took a trip to ithaca- amazing scenery and ice cream!

Overall brilliant holiday

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holaddict2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Just returned from our 2nd stay at this hotel. The premises is very clean but like most Greek accommodation quite basic! If you are wanting luxury and state of the art cooking equipment on your self catering break you have booked the wrong place and are possibly heading to the wrong holiday destination. Dont get me wrong there are some very luxurious hotels on the island but 90% of them are a very long walk from town centres and you probably won't want that on a very hot Kefalonian day.
The pool is very clean and great for relaxing, poolside music in the morning is not so great (Linkin Park screaming at you at 9am) didn't spoil the holiday as we could see the funny side of it but I can understand that after 2 weeks it could get very annoying. In the afternoons when Andreas the bar man turned up and put his music on was much better.
Andreas is a great bloke behind the bar and loves his football (and peanuts)!
Would have slept very well in the rooms if it had not been for the rock hard pillows but apart from that very comfortable. The rooms have air con but the prices for it are very high!
Skala is a fantastic area and the hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the centre with lots of restaurants and bars. Aquarius and The Pines are fantastic for food, Captains Bar is the best for cocktails and a party atmosphere!!!!!!!!!!!!
The hotel offers no night entertainment such as a BBQ or Greek Night and even though we booked self catering we ate out every lunchtime and evening. Beer and cocktail prices around the bar are normal for the area. Large beers 3 euro and cocktails 5 euro however they do have a happy hour as do most places.
The Marietta do offer bar snacks and lunch but I would recomend not bothering and walking into town as you can get much better food. Poolside prices for snacks are very overpriced so you're better off picking up bottles of water and snacks from the local supermarket.
Skala's beach is fantastic, not much sand, mostly pebbles. Water is so clear and great for snorkling, there are lots of fish in the waters. 2 Sun beds with umberella for the day on the beach is 6-8 euro.
To sum things up if you're wanting a place to stay thats, clean, friendly, great pool and very close to the town and beach this is the place for you. If you want lots of cooking equipment and a large bathroom spend some more money on the hotel or change your destination!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton On Humber
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We Stayed in a studio with minimal cooking facilities but thats what you expect in Greece. The studio was adequate for our requirements and clean. Air conditioning was available for and additional charge of 90 euros for the 2 weeks we stayed, which I thought was well over the top. Safe hire at a charge of 20 euros for the 2 weeks although the safe is in reception and a bit of a hassle having to go down there every time you wanted anything.

The staff were all pleasant and helpful

Plastic toys etc. were not allowed in the pool neither was diving or jumping or playing with a ball, in fact anything other than swimming really, I noticed most people with children did not stay around the pool and went to the beach everyday. I would have been really dissappointed if I had taken children to the Marietta nothing for them at all.

The resort centre and beach are about 8 minutes walk away.

Skala has plenty of restaurants and a few bars, more enough to see you through a fortnights holiday.

Kefalonia is a really pretty island, we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, definately recommend hiring a car for a few days.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justlovegreece10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skala hotels
2.0 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
2.5 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#12 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#8 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mounda Beach Hotel
Mounda Beach Hotel
#17 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marietta Studios & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marietta Studios & Rooms

Property: Marietta Studios & Rooms
Address: Zante | Skala, Skala 280 86, Greece (Formerly Eleanna)
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Skala
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Marietta Hotel Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing