We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant - if you love true greece you will love it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marietta Studios & Rooms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marietta Studios & Rooms
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Brilliant - if you love true greece you will love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I loved it here & loved Skala, i cant understand some of the other reviews as I could only fault 1 thing (more on that later)
The marietta is very very clean & it is spotless & well looked after. our apartments was one of the cleanest i have ever stayed in.
The rooms are very spacious, we were located in room 3 so quite close to the main building etc & i must say some of the rooms do go really high we were suprised how high they were. looked like they had fab views & fab balcony though. we had a terrace with a table & 2 chairs & was quite good too as you seen everyone passing everynight & was fun who would say hi & who wouldnt & pretended you wernt there!!
in the room we had 2 single beds a wardrobe a dressing table with a mirror and the kitchen area (we only used the fridge so this didnt matter to us)
the bathroom was very clean too and unusually for greece you stepped into it & even had a shower curtain. the shower curtan was a bit short but done the job.
the air conditioning was 7 euros a night but it was really good & there was no way we could of managed without it as it was very hot plus there is mosquito's so could never of left the window open. also what i was impressed with is we couldnt get it the 1st day for the time we arrived & the next day they knew this straight away & only charged us for 6 days. this has never happened to me in any apartments before.
the only thing i would have a little moan about was how hard & lumpy the pillows were so if i went again i would buy some cheap pillows & take them. I def would stay again too no hesitation at all.
safety deposit box's are in the reception which is open something like 9-1 then 6-10 & you can only use your box then but we found it ok. it was 10 euros for a week too which again i think is ok.
the pool was large, we were there in august & always got a sunbed. also it was again very clean immaculate.
yes the pool does have a lot of signs up & i do think its strange you cant take plastic floaters in the pool as they are fun. however they do allow bat & ball in the pool !
there was a few chiildren when we were there & all seemed ok & def not bored, however from a couple without children i quite liked not lots of screaming going on. (sorry)
the pool bar was just for basic snacks but they were ok. we prefered to have a walk down to the beach for lunch as there was some amazing beach front restaurants. however prices in the bar at the hotel was ok 2.80 a bottle of mythos 3 euro a large beer, omlettes about 4 to 5 euros & sandwiches 4 to 5 euros.
it only took us 5 mins to skala centre & it was a ok walk , you came out of the hotel crossed the road & then went left along the path.
the beach took about 10 mins & again was a ok walk
i think skala is more for people who like traditional greece & a village feel. i loved the fact there was no karaoke bars & no entertainment. i loved that it had some lovely bars (and i would say there was at least 14 or 15 bars & thats not including some along the beach where you can drink too. there is def quite a few & a mixture of trendy ones & traditional ones.
then there is all the restaurants on top of that & there is loads. yes there is 1 main street but there is lots of side streets off it & if you explore you will be supprised what little gems you find.
i honestly loved skala i thought it was amazing & could not fault it in anyway. also the prices were the cheapest i have seen in greece in a long time. we could get a large mythos for 2 euro 50, kilo of white wine 4 euro 60 red was 6 euros. glasses of wine in bars was 2 euro to 2.50 euro & cocktails ranged from 3.50 to 5 euros.
honestly thers is so many nice bars & restaurants.

some other tips
it take about 1 hr 40 from the airport & the bends can be a bit scary as a big bus trying to get around them is a bit mad, i think the tour operators should just use small mini buses.
when you return back to the airport it is tiny so you check in & then go to a cafe/bar over from it & then back to the airport about 1 hr before you fly. the cafe is on the left side & does lovely pizzas very well prices too. make sure you dont go back to the airport too soon though as the departures is tiny as is the duty free.
when you check in too they do even weigh your hand luggage so check your def not over as they make you put it in your case if over 5 kilo & then its about £17 a kilo over.
any tips or anything you want to know just ask

Room Tip: dont think you can choose your room as we asked for a high floor but got a lower one, so go with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BettySpagetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    88
    35
    7
    9
See reviews for
56
107
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Lovely apartments and grounds, very clean, Pool area not open until 9am, this stops the towel run starting too early. We had a 5 year old with us, there were only a handful of other children there, mainly teenagers, who were all bored. Too many rules around the pool area, No ball games, No plastics (lilos etc or toys) .No peeing in the pool !!, No Diving. There was a small park, but no other amenities for children. The only entertainment was a Quiz night run by Georgia the rep. No food after 4.30pm. Which means you have to walk into town every night to eat.
I would not recommend for families with children, as very quiet. Mainly couples who want to sit reading all day and not be splashed or hear any noise.
Breakfast was ok, a choice of 6 things if on B & B. Self ctering facilities were very poor. It was a 10 minutes wak into Skala where there are 2 main streets with restauirants on. Enough choice for 2 weeks, No entertainment, apart from the odd restaurant on the beach road with a singer on (suitable for over 50's). Not many shops to browse, apart from the supermarkets and around 6/7 other touristy shops. I was told by another rep on our departure that Kefalonia is not for children.

Room Tip: Ask for room in block A if you struggle climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TweetyPie083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here from 4 - 18 Aug. Apartment was basic but clean with a small kitchen area(could do with microwave and toaster) plenty of cupboard and drawer space, decent sized toilet/shower room and a small verandah with lines to hang and dry clothes. We didn't bother with air con as we felt at 7 euros a day it was a bit steep, we just slept with verandah doors open and it was cool enough, noise wasn't a problem. Safety deposit boxes are held in reception and cost 10 euros per week. You can access them from 8-1 and 1800-2200 hrs which is plenty of time. Rooms/towels and linen cleaned and changed several times a week. The rooms are laid out like apartment blocks in amongst some lovely grounds which are very well maintained. Someone in an earlier report mentioned the manager being a bit surly. This is probably because he is tired. He is the first person you see in the morning and the last one still going around at night and he also has the property across the road to look after as well. The pool area is nice and clean with lots of sunbeds, but it still doesn't stop people putting towels down and then disappearing for hours. The rep, Georgia, has a lovely bubbly personality, will give you some quite detailed info about the island and is not just trying to get you to buy trips from her. We didn't do any trips we hired a car for 3 days from Greekstones in the village and saw the island at our own pace. The village and the beach are only about 10 mins walk away. There are a couple of supermarkets, several restaurants and a couple of bars. The restaurants are all very similar but our favourite was Aquarius. Bread, a shared starter a main each, water and half litre of wine for less than 25 euros. The only restaurant we didn't like was Symposium on the corner at seafront. No character and waiters hovering about over you all the time where as in other restaurants you are left alone.
The beach is a mixture of shingle and stone but the water is crystal clear. We used the sunbeds opposite sunrise beach bar. Get down to beach turn right and its the last one. 2 beds and a parasol are 4 euros and the food is quite good as well, and the waiter will take your drinks order on the beach. As I said we hired a car and drove around different parts of the island each day. Some of the views are spectacular, and ther are lovely little coves and beaches around. Assos, Myrtos beach, Sami and Fiskardo are all defo worth a visit. We will definitely be returning to Skala and Marietta

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yesman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Marietta from 7th to 14th August 2012 Our apartment (for 3) was just perfect, very clean, with a large sized wet room/toilet and a spacious terrace, perfect for sitting out on, for a cup of tea in the morning and, on our return from the beach and for a night cap. The apartment was cleaned regularly and the linen and towels changed once during our weeks stay. The amenities were ok with a small two ring hob and electric kettle - no socket for kettle in kitchenette area but this was not a problem. We did not find the need for air con (the temp was in the mid 30s and we had the sun on our terrace from about midday until sunset) or a safe, as the apartment itself was very secure and we just ensured that eveything of value was kept out of the way, even though I ams sure there would not have been a problem even if we had of left valuables laying around. All of the staff that we met were very friendly, from the reception to the bar staff. The pool bar at The Marietta is a great place to chill at any time. We used it every other day (when we werent at the beach) and every evening on our return from the Town.
The Hotel itself is a maximum ten minute walk to the beach and no more than a fifteen minute walk to the resort centre
Skala itself is a lovely little resort, which, even though it is classed as 'one of the liveliest' on the island, its still a very personable, friendly place. There are a couple of lively bars if thats your thing and plenty of charming restaurants.
We ate out at a different restaurant every night and werent disappointed once. Our favourite being The Aquarius, where we returned on our last night. Not one of the restaurants we visited could be faulted in any way with the food and staff in each one we visited, excellent. We paid no more than 30 euros a night for our meal for two and a litre caraffe of the local white wine which, once you got the taste for it, it did the trick.
Spithi beach (ten minutes from hotel) was at the quieter end of the main Skala beach and, we found this just perfect, We parked ourselves in front of Milos beach bar and paid our five euros for two sunbeds. We visited Milos for lunch and again found this a very charming little place.
On our last day, we did the 'Captain Vangellis Boat Trip' to Fiscardo. The first part of this trip is a bit drawn out, as after calling in at Poros to pick up a few more passengers, its the long haul north to Fiscardo but, once you get there, it is well worth a look as this is the yachting home of the rich and famous. We only got an hour to look around and so could have done with a bit longer. On the way back there are two swim stops and a trip to the Melissani lake which, if you go straight there when the boat docks you get plenty of time for lunch in the beachside Taverna,so it makes for a good day out.
All in all, we had a perfect little holiday and wished we had stayed longer. We will definatley be returning to Skala and would look no futher than The Marietta.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank athighworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north shields, united kingdom.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have just returned after spending 2 weeks at the Eleanna Studios in Skala between 05th - 19th August 2012 and i must admit i was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. We stayed in room 72 and although we arrived after midnight we were met and escorted to our room and arranged for the air conditioning and told to pay for it the following day. The room was very spacious and it had masses of storage space which would have required a dozen suitcases to fill. The room was cleaned everyday with the exception of Thursdays which is the cleaners day off and our towels and sheets wers changed twice a week.
The apartment is what we expected in Greece but i did like the idea of having a bath instead of just a shower cubicle for getting washed.
The grounds were kept immaculate and the swimming pool was just the right size and had enough sun loungers and umbrellas to accomodate everyone there.
The pool bar was manned between 10.00 and 18.00 by a lovely young lady but i have forgotten her name, but sadly it did not do meals but the sister apartments the Marietta situated across the road did but we never used their facilities.
They are situated only 5 minutes away from Skala town centre which kept any noise away during the night.
If you are looking for a nice quiet base while in Skala i would not hesitate to recomend these apartments, but if you like a noisy, boisterous base it is no good for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed here the last two weeks in July and would recommend these apartments to anyone who prefers to be away from the hustle and bustle of busy streets and does not mind a little walking.
Our room overlooked the pool and there was some noise at night but not enough to keep you awake. Beds are comfortable and linen changed regularly. The staff are friendly and ready to help with anything you might ask.
There were several kittens around and a friendly dog. the gardens are well kept with potted flowers and plants.
we found the pool somewhat forbidding due to the number of prohibitive notices plastered on sides. I would not recommend these apartments for those with young children. There is little to occupy them.
We spent afternoons on the beach which is beautiful but a bit hard on the feet owing to small pebbles.
I found the supermarkets a little pricey and we were able to eat on our balcony. Enjoyed several meals cooked on the small cooker in the apartments. If you like walking don't miss walking up to old Skala to see the houses damaged by the earthquake in 1953.
Boat trips with Captain Vangelis to Zante and Ithaka are brilliant.
For value for money these are good clean apartments in a pleasant setting.

Room Tip: Room 11 is a good room as it overlooks the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tametiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed at the Marietta Studios in July 2012. No complaints whatsoever, The room was kept spotless with regular linen and towel changes. All the staff we very friendly and helpful, if you ask nicely nothing is too much trouble, remember this is Greece and you have not paid 5 star prices. We had a studio which had a fridge, kettle, hotplate, pots, pans, cutlery (some mismatched but Hey this is Greece). The shower toilet was fine, plenty of cupboard space in the room, with loads of hangers, even a drying rail on balcony, take a few pegs. Only two sockets in room so take a couple 5 plug extension leads makes life easier. Air con available at 7 euros a day we definitely needed it, safe deposit at reception, not open all day though, check the times. The pool is great, being Brits there were towels on sunbeds early sometimes never used but that is the guests fault. The pool bar was great, cool drinks all day in frosted glasses, as much ice as you want, local beer on tap. Breakfast, snacks and a few small meal available up to 16.30 all of a good quality. It is a 5/10 minute walk into main drag along a footpath no problems. The studios are set out in three storey blocks in a very picturesque setting, all with balcony. We have been all over the Greek islands and this is one of the best places we have stayed, ignore the moaners, remember if you have issues ask nicely and they will be resolved. Greece is special embrace the experience and the difference.

Room Tip: Get on and enjoy it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank keith/deirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skala hotels
1.9 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
2.5 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#10 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mounda Beach Hotel
Mounda Beach Hotel
#17 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marietta Studios & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marietta Studios & Rooms

Property: Marietta Studios & Rooms
Address: Zante | Skala, Skala 280 86, Greece (Formerly Eleanna)
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Skala
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Marietta Hotel Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing