We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“execellent hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crystal Palace Studios
Ranked #1 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Hi there, we stayed at the Crystal Palace studios in May 2011. It was our frist time to the island of Kefalonia, and our choice of accomodation was spot on. Nick, the owner and his wife and all thier staff, were the perfect hosts. We arrived in the early hours, due to a flight delay, but Nick and his staff were on hand, waiting to greet us. They had even kept thier kitchen open for all the arrivals incase we were hungry, although it was almost 02.30am! Nick will tell you all you need to know about the island, and his story of how his family were very lucky to survive the great earhquake that hit the island in the 60's, and how they eventually emigrated to Australia, only to return in the 90's, and then Nick and his family became hoteliers, opening the Crystal Palace some 8 years ago. The whole complex is clean and compact. The rooms are spacious, with either sea views, or if not, then view overlooking the pool, etc. The linen is changed daily. You have all you need in your rooms to make yourself at home, shower, comfy beds, microwave, cooker, tv, etc. The pool area is excellent, with a weekly bbq, nick and his family lay on a good spread. The pool area has a grass section with sunbeds and chairs for a relaxing sunbathe. There is a bar and snack bar, that serves lovely food, and great milkshakes!! It is only a 5 minute walk to the beach, and to the main street where all the bars are. The beach is a bit stoney, but acceptable. There is a good selection of bars and restaurants in the high street. I reccomend either, Bonnie and Clydes bar, run by an english girl from Nottingham and her greek husband, the music is good, and the atmosphere calm and friendly, or you can visit The Captains bar, for great cocktails, (this bar is visited "most" years by the actor Simon Pegg, and has his photos everywhere!) I toured the whole island, and found it to be 1 of the most scenic of all the Greek islands i have visited. Fiskardo is a lovely place to visit and chill for the day, and the beach at Sami is excellent, with stunning views from the cliff tops as you head down to the beach, and the scenery from the beach is beatifull, with crystal clear, calm water. A visit to Mellasani lake is a must, although the boat trip is only a few minutes long, it is beautifull. and the Drogarati caves are also a stunning sight. Entry to both is very cheap. We never had a bad meal or expirience on this lovely, friendly, stunning island. Enjoy!

Room Tip: All rooms are in a quiet location, away from any hustle and bustle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ArthurMccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 414 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here at the end of July 2012. We've stayed self catering in Greece a number of times and been to Skala before (9 years ago) but not at these apartments.This was our first holiday as a family, we were a little nervous about taking our 7 month old abroad for the first time. We couldn't have chosen a better place! Our appartment (103) was spotless, had access from the ground floor, two balconies and the aircon (extra 40€) was well worth the money. The travel cot provided was immaculate, our room was cleaned every day. The people who run and own the accommodation are lovely and were very helpful. The accommodation is up a steep hill abou a 10 min walk out the town, this is not unmanageable with a small child in a buggy. We took the path from the apartments down in to town of a evening at the flight of steps we would had to take our daughter out of the chair and carry her and the buggy separately. The slight inconvenience of the accommodation being on the side of a hill was worth it for being immaculate, the best accommodation we've ever had in Greece!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WallHicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Aiithough this resort is set in mountain side the owner has made a pathway down to the the beach which is lighted after dark and it makes it an easy walk to the beach. Only 15mins tothe centre of Scala. Bars and resterantsare closer.The appartments are excelant and are very clean. Staff are very helpful andfriendly. The bbq night is very good with entertainment. Would reccomend this resort

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LIONEL_WPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

...and let's hope it stays that way :o)

What a lovely place, from the start to finish of our holiday, we were so glad that we had booked this place.

Nick greeted us from the coach and carried our bags up to the room. We were at the top of the 600 block and had an excellent room with balcony overlooking part of the beach and the hills. Room was modern, spotless and huge with a little kitchenette. Air con was well worth the 40 euros and in July was a must.

The bar food is very good and drinks reasonably priced. Nick's wife works so hard, she could kick start the Greek economy all on her own..!!

Pool area could be a little bigger as on some days nearly every lounger was taken and they are a bit close for comfort at times but the lack of screaming children meant it wasn't a big problem. Joking aside, this is not a place for those with pushchairs or non-swimmers. The pool has no shallow end and the walk to the town is a tad rough in places.

Thursday night BBQ is a must do. Nick cooks up some great meats and a good opportunity to chat to fellow guests if you want to, many of whom have been several times before. Local celebrity Harrison Grice provides a singalong of popular numbers from Tom Jones and Frank Sinatra, not usually my cup of tea but the free flowing wine, excellent food and company made for a great evening.

A tranquil, lovely holiday made perfect by this excellent place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

For an Eagles fan, choosing the Crystal Palace Studios was a "no brainer" - and we weren't disappointed.

After a very early start, being allocated the dreaded room 403 sent my husband into full Victor Meldrew mode but Nick (the owner) was very gracious, patient and undestanding and moved us to room 306 which was flooded with light and had glorious views of the sea in front and the hills behind. (Thanks Nick - we were truly grateful for your kindness when we know we were very grumpy!)

The apartment complex is spotlessly clean and beautifully maintained. All the staff were smiley and friendly and made us feel welcome and valued. The rooms are spacious and well equipped (toaster, microwave... even a shower curtain!) and the location is just the perfect distance from town and beach to make for a totally relaxing break. The beach is accessed via a private track and, about 5 o'clock in the afternoon, is just about perfect.

It's about a 10-15 minute walk into town from the Crystal palace but there are no hills and the bamboo walk back to the apartments is quite magical at night (the possums(?), lizards and one eyed cat added to the charm :) ). Skala isn't the most charismatic of towns but certainly has its fair share of quality restaurants :) We didn't have a bad meal anywhere but I urge you to go to the Old Village which was superb!

We took advantage of the extremely reasonably priced (25 euro) Panem "Island Tour" which was a full day trip taking in all the major sights of Kefalonia. It was far cheaper than hiring a car; we were never made to feel rushed and were treated to an amusing, knowledgeable and very interesting commentary by the tour guide.

All in all, our hoilday at the Crystal Palace Apartments was brilliant! Book now!

Room Tip: The best rooms are high up with sea views - 304, 305 and 306 were lovely though we heard 501 was eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank figaro123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have just returned from two weeks at Crystal Palace and most certainly agree with all of the positive comments on here, our room was beautiful with two balconies facing the sea. The room itself was spotless and cleaned regularly and with everything we needed during our stay.
Nick, Vicky and Irene were very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay, and the BBQ and greek night on Thursday evening was fantastic. There is also a quiz night on a Monday evening. The air conditioning was much needed and cost 40 euros per week. The hotel is only ten minutes walk from the town and there is a lit path down to the path which takes you into town along the beachfront.
We did not hire a car however found plenty of ways to see more of the island.There was a speedboat taxi available from the beach front which took you to poros and katelios for approx 15euros (return) per person. We also used the local bus which went from the main square in town to Katelios (only 1euro60 each way) this also went to argostoli and poros.
We have had an amazing holiday and I would highly recommend Crystal Palace and hope to return there again in the future.

Room Tip: Room 305 had two balconies both with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was our first visit to kefalonia and we were not disapointed. We booked the Crystal Palace Studio's at Skala through Thomson's after extensive research. Even so, It did not prepare us for such a fantastic holiday.

The studio's are very spacious, with all necessary equipment required for a comfortable stay. We were also provided with washing liquid, teatowel, dish cloths and a small washing line and pegs on the balcony. The rooms were spotless, along with the surrounding areas.

We decided to pay the 40 Euros a week for the air conditioning and were pleased we did as there were some very big bugs around and it was just coming into mosquito season. The weather was hotter than we had expected at approx 35 degrees in the shade, and still very warm in the evenings and throughout the nights.

The short track from Crystal Palace to the beach and town of Skala was shaded by bamboo, which was a welcome relief from the sun beating down from the early hour to around 9pm. There are some steps but not too difficult if flat shoes are worn. There are also lights along the track to help with the journey back at night.

We went on some trips, but found these much cheaper if booked through Panem rather than Thomson. The guide Esme was a fountain of all knowledge and very entertaining on the day trip around the island.

There are plenty of Tavernas to choose from in Skala and all very welcoming and relaxing, The food was outstanding and the wine very cheap. At Crystal Palace there is a bar by the pool run by Nick, Vicky and Irene, food is served throughout the day and nothing was too much trouble, The salads were fantastic. The Thursday BBQ was amazing, the best ever.

Room Tip: Most rooms have good sea and mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skala hotels
0.3 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#6 of 23 in Skala
442 reviews
1.9 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Regina Dell Acqua Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
46 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Sofia
Villa Sofia
#13 of 33 in Skala
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Palace Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Palace Studios

Address: Skala, Skala 490 84, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Skala
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Crystal Palace Studios Hotel Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing