We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our crystal palace hols” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Palace Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crystal Palace Studios
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
PETERBOROUGH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“our crystal palace hols”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Aiithough this resort is set in mountain side the owner has made a pathway down to the the beach which is lighted after dark and it makes it an easy walk to the beach. Only 15mins tothe centre of Scala. Bars and resterantsare closer.The appartments are excelant and are very clean. Staff are very helpful andfriendly. The bbq night is very good with entertainment. Would reccomend this resort

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LIONEL_WPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    39
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
101
229
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

...and let's hope it stays that way :o)

What a lovely place, from the start to finish of our holiday, we were so glad that we had booked this place.

Nick greeted us from the coach and carried our bags up to the room. We were at the top of the 600 block and had an excellent room with balcony overlooking part of the beach and the hills. Room was modern, spotless and huge with a little kitchenette. Air con was well worth the 40 euros and in July was a must.

The bar food is very good and drinks reasonably priced. Nick's wife works so hard, she could kick start the Greek economy all on her own..!!

Pool area could be a little bigger as on some days nearly every lounger was taken and they are a bit close for comfort at times but the lack of screaming children meant it wasn't a big problem. Joking aside, this is not a place for those with pushchairs or non-swimmers. The pool has no shallow end and the walk to the town is a tad rough in places.

Thursday night BBQ is a must do. Nick cooks up some great meats and a good opportunity to chat to fellow guests if you want to, many of whom have been several times before. Local celebrity Harrison Grice provides a singalong of popular numbers from Tom Jones and Frank Sinatra, not usually my cup of tea but the free flowing wine, excellent food and company made for a great evening.

A tranquil, lovely holiday made perfect by this excellent place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

For an Eagles fan, choosing the Crystal Palace Studios was a "no brainer" - and we weren't disappointed.

After a very early start, being allocated the dreaded room 403 sent my husband into full Victor Meldrew mode but Nick (the owner) was very gracious, patient and undestanding and moved us to room 306 which was flooded with light and had glorious views of the sea in front and the hills behind. (Thanks Nick - we were truly grateful for your kindness when we know we were very grumpy!)

The apartment complex is spotlessly clean and beautifully maintained. All the staff were smiley and friendly and made us feel welcome and valued. The rooms are spacious and well equipped (toaster, microwave... even a shower curtain!) and the location is just the perfect distance from town and beach to make for a totally relaxing break. The beach is accessed via a private track and, about 5 o'clock in the afternoon, is just about perfect.

It's about a 10-15 minute walk into town from the Crystal palace but there are no hills and the bamboo walk back to the apartments is quite magical at night (the possums(?), lizards and one eyed cat added to the charm :) ). Skala isn't the most charismatic of towns but certainly has its fair share of quality restaurants :) We didn't have a bad meal anywhere but I urge you to go to the Old Village which was superb!

We took advantage of the extremely reasonably priced (25 euro) Panem "Island Tour" which was a full day trip taking in all the major sights of Kefalonia. It was far cheaper than hiring a car; we were never made to feel rushed and were treated to an amusing, knowledgeable and very interesting commentary by the tour guide.

All in all, our hoilday at the Crystal Palace Apartments was brilliant! Book now!

Room Tip: The best rooms are high up with sea views - 304, 305 and 306 were lovely though we heard 501 was eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank figaro123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have just returned from two weeks at Crystal Palace and most certainly agree with all of the positive comments on here, our room was beautiful with two balconies facing the sea. The room itself was spotless and cleaned regularly and with everything we needed during our stay.
Nick, Vicky and Irene were very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay, and the BBQ and greek night on Thursday evening was fantastic. There is also a quiz night on a Monday evening. The air conditioning was much needed and cost 40 euros per week. The hotel is only ten minutes walk from the town and there is a lit path down to the path which takes you into town along the beachfront.
We did not hire a car however found plenty of ways to see more of the island.There was a speedboat taxi available from the beach front which took you to poros and katelios for approx 15euros (return) per person. We also used the local bus which went from the main square in town to Katelios (only 1euro60 each way) this also went to argostoli and poros.
We have had an amazing holiday and I would highly recommend Crystal Palace and hope to return there again in the future.

Room Tip: Room 305 had two balconies both with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was our first visit to kefalonia and we were not disapointed. We booked the Crystal Palace Studio's at Skala through Thomson's after extensive research. Even so, It did not prepare us for such a fantastic holiday.

The studio's are very spacious, with all necessary equipment required for a comfortable stay. We were also provided with washing liquid, teatowel, dish cloths and a small washing line and pegs on the balcony. The rooms were spotless, along with the surrounding areas.

We decided to pay the 40 Euros a week for the air conditioning and were pleased we did as there were some very big bugs around and it was just coming into mosquito season. The weather was hotter than we had expected at approx 35 degrees in the shade, and still very warm in the evenings and throughout the nights.

The short track from Crystal Palace to the beach and town of Skala was shaded by bamboo, which was a welcome relief from the sun beating down from the early hour to around 9pm. There are some steps but not too difficult if flat shoes are worn. There are also lights along the track to help with the journey back at night.

We went on some trips, but found these much cheaper if booked through Panem rather than Thomson. The guide Esme was a fountain of all knowledge and very entertaining on the day trip around the island.

There are plenty of Tavernas to choose from in Skala and all very welcoming and relaxing, The food was outstanding and the wine very cheap. At Crystal Palace there is a bar by the pool run by Nick, Vicky and Irene, food is served throughout the day and nothing was too much trouble, The salads were fantastic. The Thursday BBQ was amazing, the best ever.

Room Tip: Most rooms have good sea and mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Crystal Palace studios are perfect if you want a relaxing holiday with everything you need at your fingertips.
The studios are the right distance from everything - if you sit on your balcony you are in a world of your own. However the pool and bar are there beside you to be used. And a short walk away there are so many restaurants and bars. The pathway to the seafront was one of the highlights of our stay, a secret little walkway!
Facilities are so very clean - real pride is put into making everything perfect.
Nick & family made us feel extremely welcome, nothing was too much trouble. They are lovely, open people.
The Thursday BBQ is also well worth a visit - you only have to be as sociable as you want to be with others. The food is wonderful and the music a real highlight.
Without a doubt, we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kazway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Crystal palace apartments. We were delighted to find upon arrival that we had been allocated room 501, just as we had requested. The room was very clean and spacious with two large balconies affording great views of the sea and countryside. Felt sorry, however, for the more unfortunate people who were in the dreaded room 403, as their view was less panoramic, directly underneath and looking up towards the car park.

Would recommend Nick, the owner's barbecue night, but be careful who you speak to! We met and said hello to a lovely couple, culminating in me suffering the worst hangover I have had in years the next day. You know who you are!!

Nick was also very informative and helpful, regarding any queries we had and about places to visit, basically a really nice guy! Still, air conditioning at 40 euros a week and the safety deposit box at 20 euros a week seems excessive and in our opinion should have been included in the price paid with Thomson.

Scala is quite busy and has many good restaurants, top of which has to be the Gourgouris grill, located in a little sidestreet, just away from the main strip, making it a more intimate experience.

We didn't wish to spend all our time in Scala however, so we hired a car, booked online with Pefanis for 11 days at a total cost of 220 euros which was great value. We visited Assos to the north of the island, one of the prettiest places on the planet, the beautiful Melissani lake and the breathtaking Myrtos beach, but there were so many other attractions, making a car essential if you want to fully experience how beautiful the island of Kefalonia actually is.

If you are looking for even more greek authenticity, Katelios is a sleepy little resort, only 5 miles or so from Scala, but worlds apart in terms of atmosphere and ambience, right on the seafront and scattered with lovely bars and restaurants. Katelios was one of the highlights of our trip and we have already booked to stay there next year. Kaminia, a lovely and expansive sandy beach, on the next bay over from Katelios, was another of our personal favourites and ideal for families with calm and shallow waters.

Of less relevance to most people, but certainly not to me, was the abundance of crickets, who appeared to have a personal vendetta against me, waiting perched on the door and flying onto my head and shoulders whenever I left the apartment. One morning, I put my shorts on and one popped out of my midriff and another morning I woke at 05.00am, to find one nestled in my groin. Apologies to anyone who heard me screaming and of course to my partner for waking her up.

The only other gripe concerns the cleaners. We always greeted them with a smile, but were often met with sombre expressions and a generally unfriendly and indifferent attitude. Staff work hard and we appreciate that, but a friendly acknowledgement or smile costs nothing. Our room also wasn't touched for three days, with no clean towels or fresh bedding, essentials if you are in a hot country. Would highly recommend Crystal Palace apartments, but for this reason it doesn't get the full marks that in every other respect it deserves.

Room Tip: Room 501. Two large balconies with excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TonyGeekgouris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.2 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.5 mi away
9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
1.2 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#10 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
15.7 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Palace Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Palace Studios

Property: Crystal Palace Studios
Address: Skala, Skala 490 84, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Skala
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Crystal Palace Studios Hotel Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing