We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Greek Hospitality”
Review of Makis Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Makis Hotel
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best of Greek Hospitality”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a great hotel. Nothing really to fault. I hear some people moaning it hasn't got this or that, just remember you are in Greece and it has everything you want. Rooms are basic (typical of Greece) but are clean, have free air con and a fridge (unusual for B&B). Breakfast is nice (cereals, ham, cheese ,eggs, toast, jam etc...Fruit Juice, tea coffee etc - all freshly made). Snack bar is excellent and good value. Pool area is nice and relaxed , never have to fight for a sunbed, probably because just over the road is a fab beach - 5 euros for 2 sunbeds and a brolly for the day. Skala is a beautiful town with lots of nice places to eat and drink, but no nightclubs so nice and gentile without being dull. Nothing is too much for the very friendly staff especially Dennis the owner. Most people there are on their 3rd/4th+ visit, we are off for our 3rd visit this year, can't wait.

Room Tip: Middle floor anywhere if you don't mind a few steps - lower floors have little garden area at fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    121
    50
    9
    3
See reviews for
59
269
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The service has always been excellent, the staff friendly and helpful. The pool is good and clean and the sea is just the other side of the road. water sports nearby. Good breakfast of the continental style, good snacks and useful bar.

Room Tip: Look at Google map and you can see the layout of the four blocks total rooms 42 so reasonable size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Fillipos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My partner and I went to the Makis Hotel in early May 2012. The hotel is just across from the beach and the views were beautful. On arrival we were greeted with a friendly welcome and promptly taken to our room. Yes the rooms are basic but very typical of Greece, as we only used it as a base this wasnt a problem for us. The only issue I had was that the balconies are very close to each other, you can hear conversations 3 rooms away. I would prefer them to be a little more private.
The breakfast was great with a large choice of cereals, fruit, yogurt, cold meats, cheese and breads. We sat around the pool most afternoons and it was very peaceful. I would highly recommend the greek salad from the pool side bar for lunch, they also serve great burgers.
The Makis is a 5 minute walk away from all the restaurants and bars, although Skala is fairly small you can easily find a different tavera to eat in each evening.
I would recommend Skala and the Makis to couples looking for a peaceful holiday with good food and wine. I cant wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kerrywilliams100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My husband and I went to makes hotel on 4th Oct 2012 for 10 days. Now we thought it was a nice place for a base , but we met so many people who had been there before and they told us it had changed dramatically. For the worse. One.person said they had the room that was next to the owners and that they had friends round all hours of day and night and that the owner laid in the terrace in just his underwear. I must state I never saw this but we were at the front of the hotel. In all reviews we read before going they all said that Dennis.the owner was a very nice person and met the coach and was very entertaining and lovely throughout their stay but we hardly saw him, maybe 4 times in 10 days and only for a few minutes. So I will not be going back to the makis. Now.for kefelonia what an amazing place we fell in love with the place x try the flamingo restaurant or my absolute favourite is the mikelatos family restaurant x,full English there was great. There was also Veronica jewellry, where I must say I bought all my families xmas pressure there as the quality was fantastic and Laura is a really nice person she is so helpful and has very sincere. And the owner of the shop I have to say IS THE MAN .he goes out of his way to help you and nothing is to much trouble. Kefelonia is a must for anyone who wants to relax, the people are so nice and it is a very peaceful place .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patricia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Kefalonia we found not as we had expected. We normally go to Corfu which is much greener and prettier. The hotel was horrible, no real assistance with luggage on arrival. The room that we were given was dirty, e.g. dirt under beds, walls marked, tiled skirting dirty. The mattress was coming apart at the seams. Only one pillow per person, towel rails were loose or held on with selotape. The table on the balcony had bolts missing to the top which meant it woulf flip up if leaned on. Light bulb in entrance of room was not working, reported this twice to no avail. Swimming pool had a brown scum mark around the perimeter. Pool marker depths are in curate. Some sun loungers had seen better days. Lots of steps to and from the room, which entailed a bit of a hike to have breakfast, which incidently is a very uncomfortable area. No fans or air conditioning. Claustrophobic around the area where food and drinks were available. As for the owners, we found totally ignorant as they never spoke to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dacre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our first time in Skala, staying in the Makis hotel and for a 2* it was clean and well looked after, we had a top floor comfortable room with balcony and sea view and free air condition and safe and a lovely beach. It has a good size swimming pool and pool area with bar and cafe with excellent lunch time snacks and a nice place to sit early evening with a glass of wine and watch the world go by. It is family owned and they make you feel very welcome, we spent 14 days there and never got bored, many people from nearby hotels spent the evening at the Makis because of it's friendly atmosphere. Skala with plenty of restaurants to choice from is only 5 minutes walk ( up a slight hill) and the people are very friendly. We rented a car for 5 days and toured this beautiful Island of Kefalonia to places like "Melissani lake" beautiful "Assos" and it's castle and before you go down into Assos you have amazing views over "Myrtos beach" visit the lovely capital of Argostoli and take the 15 minutes ferry to Lixouri and spent a day going north to the famous "Fiscardo and come back along the east coast and stop in Poros before returning to Skala, so many lovely places to visit. We also did a boat trip to nearby Ithaki which is recommended, a lovely day out. We travel a lot and have visited many Greek Island and stayed from small 2* to big 5* hotels but Skala, Kefalonia and the Family owned Makis are a little gem still rather unspoiled and very Greek, we spoke to many people who return year after year.

Room Tip: If your fit enough ask for top floor with sea view but it's on the 3th floor and no lift, again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eve o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our second time in Skala and as we had spotted the Makis on our first trip, we decided to give it a try. Very comfortable room,with free air conditioning safe and fridge. The hotel is within yards of the beach and only a short walk from the centre of Skala. It has a good sized pool area with bar and cafe. There was a wide range of food for the continental breakfast and although the weather becomes a little unsettled in September it is definitely a place that we will return to. All of the staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for their guests. A nice touch was that we were met as soon as the coach arrived and seen off at the end of our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are obviously the most desirable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chrisdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skala hotels
0.2 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
398 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
2.3 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
41 reviews
2.1 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#12 of 23 in Skala
212 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mounda Beach Hotel
Mounda Beach Hotel
#19 of 23 in Skala
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makis Hotel

Property: Makis Hotel
Address: Skala 28086, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Skala
#10 Family Hotel in Skala
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Makis Hotel Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing