We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly & clean hotel, close to amenities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Makis Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Makis Hotel
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“friendly & clean hotel, close to amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

My partner and I stayed at The Makis Hotel in July, to attend a friend's wedding in Kefalonia. The staff were very friendly, making you feel comfortable and offered good customer service. It is located opposite the beach, and a minute away from the small town centre. Breakfast was basic but enough. Rooms were large enough for 2, with fitted wardrobes, a safe, a fridge, and were cleaned daily. There was free air conditioning which is rare in hotels nearby. The staff made this trip great as they were always smiling and helpful, even when some tourists were very rude. Would definitely recommend for a group or group holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spring_monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    117
    48
    9
    3
See reviews for
58
261
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

This is the worst hotel we've stayed in on any of the many Greek Islands we've visited over the years (and it was recommended to us by a work colleague - my husband must have upset him at some stage).
Our room was on the ground floor at the front of hotel. Any light or view was blocked by large trees. Smell of damp & drains pervaded the room & shower room which was very small & poorly maintained with mould on shower walls.
As for the large pool - all I can say is that it isn't, unless you call about 10metres large.
Bar food was average, coffee was awful & expensive.
Entertainment was dire - not so much Rat Pack as the sound of a pack of rats.
Breakfast was so boring we gave up & went to a local cafe or bought something from one of the local bakeries.
Would be great as a backpackers hostel but to call itself a hotel is stretching the imagination just a little.
We've been to Kefalonia before & enjoyed it so much we wanted to return. I can't say the same this time. Overall very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PandP52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

Skala is a small town that really has nothing to offer if the sun is not shining. Our 2 week holiday had 6 days of rain, cloud, low temperatures or strong winds - very frustrating. The Hotel Makis where we stayed is rated 2 star and seemingly has no ambition to do any better, I expect mainly from the complacency of repeat holiday guests. These were mostly retired couples who don't seem to have great expectations other than the familiarity of last year's visit and seeing last year's guests. We found the staff indifferent except for Marianne who seemed to be the sole tireless worker with a delightful smile and cheery nature. The accommodation was very disappointing and last year's bug-squish and grime still left on the walls reflected a 2 star hotel going nowhere. This, combined with poor room cleaning, poor quality towels, infrequent linen changes, no TV or radio, rock-hard bed, musty curtains and a stench of raw sewage if the rain is hard and prolonged, making for a holiday we wished was over before it really began. Our room had no direct sunlight or view and a change request was ignored. We booked 3 excursions with Thomsons - The Southern Island tour which was excellent, mainly because of the knowledge and delivery of the tour guide which bought it alive. The Capital Experience to Agistolli was a total waste as it fell on Ionian Day, a local holiday which we were not told of until on the coach going there! The shops were shut and the capital deserted! I complained to the Rep and eventually received a small token partial refund for our misery. The Island boat trip and BBQ was cancelled at the last minute due to insufficient numbers. It took 5 fraught days before I got a refund on that one. All trips were very expensive and would never buy this way again. However, the coach drivers were the safest and most cautious we've ever known. Greece is suffering economic difficulties and everything was very expensive but they need to be careful not to make tourism pay dearly for their problems. As one local complained, We must now pay all our taxes! I sighed because I know who will be picking up the bill at these resorts and the increased charges were blatant and unsympathetic. A terrible exchange rate amplified a focus on rationing each day rather than having a good time. We've been going to Greece for the last 15 years for our main holiday but sadly the experiences of this time ended our love affair with a beautiful country and its good-natured people.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakespal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

Absolutely love this Hotel it really is like Home from Home. It's family run & the other staff that work there are so very nice too. Going back in May 2011 & can't wait!
Yes the breakfast is the same every day but i personally find there's more than enough choice anyway & the staff do their best always!
The bar itself is great for daytime/lunch snacks etc i love the tuna salads & that keeps me going until our evening meal in town later in the evening!
The pool area is kept very clean throughout the day. Some of the rooms are quite small but hey you do spend very little time in your room, it's lovely having a fridge in the room & not to forget the Air-Con what a life saver that is :-)
Scala town is just a five min walk away with plenty of bars & restaurants & those of you with little ones can call at Zebra's which is at the top of the hill heading towards town to let the young one's have a play. They have climbing equipments, swings etc all with sand underneith, crazy golf & small rides too, oh & there's a bar there so the adults can have a drink while watching the kids play!
We generally hire a car whilst there, usually for 5 days, great way to see the rest of what's such a beautiful Island. Love it love it love it + can't wait to go back! If you want a relaxing holiday then this is the place, if you want theme/water parks then you're best going to Florida!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MysteryGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

Stayed at the Makis with a couple of friends in Sept 2010 and what a total disappointment it was.

Kefalonia itself is ok if you go into the centre although the attractiveness and greenery is totally down to the trees. At ground level its the usual dusty and baron Greece

Roads are awful potholed everywhere villages almost totally lack character look run down and arent really worth hiring a car to see.

Skala has nice restaurants with good food but its a characterless strip of one road with the usual prefab thrown together buildings with rubbish on every corner and half built houses down every alleyway

The beach is not dirty but it looks it and we only ever say 2 people on there its strewn with vegetation and totally uninviting.

Hotel is very clean and people are nice but thats the only advantages it has. Beds are awful, rooms are very basic and it has the worst breakfast food Ive ever had in 44 years of eating in hotels.

When we were there the blue rinse brigade were on there weekly hols and had no hesitation having extensive long conversations with people 30 feet away at the top of their voices - lovely !!! (no offence to the older generation but do I really want to hear that ?)

Overall if you dont want character, not fussed about beaches, dont want historical places to see, dont mind dry dusty potholed roads and are happy to stay round an uninviting hotel and eat in a bland town every night it might just pass !

We payed £600 for the week add on food and drink and thats a grand . You can do the Carribean for a grand all inclusive its a no brainer !!

All 4 of us were counting down the days until we were going home

Ill say it again "British people you really can do better than this !!!"

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterLiberator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

We booked in as a half term break at the very end of the 2010 summer season. After much debate we settled on the Makis in the hope that it would give us the peaceful break we were looking for. We certainly got that. The hotel was very welcoming, each guest was shown to their rooms, which were in a fit, clean state. The view from each room is either of the mountains at the back, or of the sea at the front. We had a sea view room, and with the beach being 15m away, you could literally go to sleep with the sound of the waves in the background. The only negative about the sleep thing is that you only get the one flimsy pillow. However if you ask at reception, they will supply you with both extra pillows and blankets - not necessary in July/August, but it got quite chilly at night at the end of October.

Breakfast was a bit of a let down. Ham and cheese on toasted bread, tinned peaches, corn flakes, and greek yoghurt, and that's your lot. Other reviewers have bemoaned the lack of variety, and I would agree. For what it is, it's fine, but a bit of variety wouldn't go amiss.

The pool is a good size, in an L shape, running to a depth of over 2m. As it was the end of season, and not always scorching hot, the pool wasn't massively used, so the water tended to be very clean. The pool side bar was excellent, continuous service of drinks and hot/cold snacks until 7pm each night. The bar had music and television, and was a great place to socialise in the evenings. The little extra of WiFi in the bar area meant that you could do a bit of surfing without the expensive charges.

On the first night we had a torrential thunderstorm and our room was flooded - the owner of the hotel was straight over to mop and clean up the room, and even gave us some drinks to compensate! He was then constantly checking that everything was ok. It's touches like this that make you really like this place.

I would definitely come back to the Makis, maybe at a busier time of year to guarantee the weather!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blaggers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

We had an enjoyable stay at the Makis. The staff were very helpfull and friendly, they thoroughly deserve the plaudits they have received.
The location is excellent, being close to some great restaurants and only a road width from the beach. There were some sun beds with towels on first thing in the morning but I guess this is a British desease as well as German.
The Breakfast room looked out over the beach and never became crowded. The breakfast itself was pleasant if a bit repetative. We will definately be back at some point after exploring more islands.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webbie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skala hotels
0.2 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.2 mi away
9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
1.6 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#10 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makis Hotel

Property: Makis Hotel
Address: Skala 28086, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Skala
#10 Family Hotel in Skala
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Makis Hotel Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing