We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apollo Apartments Skala
Ranked #4 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Skala
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed for a week at the end of September and had a wonderful stay. The apartments are nice and clean, the furnishings a little spartan....but that's Greece all over. The 'kitchen' was very basic, ok for a snack but not a lot else but we don't cook anyway so it wasn't an issue for us. As it was the last week of the season the apartments were quiet, but that's what we wanted. The pool is great, and the views out to see are stunning. We stayed in apartment 16, which is upstairs, which has a lovely balcony overlooking the pool and out to see. Lana was very friendly and always helpful, so I'm not sure what others are complaining at. We walked into Skala every evening, it takes around 30 minutes at a stroll, and there are a few watering holes along the way for a refresher if you so fancy...we did! Definitely taxi back at night though, its only 5 euro's a trip. Skala is a fantastic little place, plenty of restaurants and enough bars to keep you going. We didn't have a bad meal anywhere but I can definitely recommend The Old Village on main street opposite the church, great food, great service, and a complimentary drink. Also find Captains Bar.....the best cocktail place in town, and happy 'hour' is 6 til 9. I would recommend these apartments, and Skala itself, to anyone wanting a nice relaxing holiday

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms numbers 15 and 16 have great seaviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 126 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just booked up for next year, 5th time we've been there, can't recommend this place enough but make sure you ask for a room with a sea view ;) Lovely quite pool area. If you need a car book one in advance on-line (CBR) and collect it from the airport much cheaper than hiring one when you get there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dibdob69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Have just returned from a weeks stay at the Apollo Apartments with my wife having been there before and knowing the Pappas family very well. We had been made aware of the management changes that had been made and were dubious about returning! This was confirmed - the management changes that have taken place have had a downward spiral effect on the whole holiday experience at the apollo. This is very noteable - although our recent stay at the Apollo has not been hugely effected the Pappas family running of the apartments are a big miss! Although the Pappas family still work within the Apollo the new management team that are running the apartments are causing these once fabulous apartments to now just be a holiday complex in which you are seen as just paying guests! The Pappas family when in charge had the ability to make you feel at home and part of their family - the new manager in charge has now lost this feeling about the place and has now made us think twice about us returning! Kefalonia has been our second home for a number of years and we have made lots of greek friends on the island we thought we had found a little gem of a place to stay but this has now been ruined by the manager that has been appointed! We will never stop returning to Kefalonia but we are in doubt as to whether we will return to the Apollo - now we start the process of trying to find another spectacular set of apartments to match the standard of what the Apollo once was! Natasha, Christos, Anna and Alex still remain paramount to the team at the Apollo and if it was not for them still working here the Apollo would lose its appeal and that would be a reaL shame!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Clyde B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the Apollo for a week in August and loved it so much, the day after returning home, I booked a fortnight for next year. It's that good.

The Apollo is more akin to a large villa than a resort - I like to call it boutique. Everybody's ideal of location is different, but for us it is perfect. Close enough to Skala for amenities, but just far enough outside of town to be peaceful. Fortunately for us, we had the best room - I'm not going to reveal the number, in case you steal it from us... ;) One double bedroom and two sofa-beds in the living area. The balcony was much larger than expected, with a beautiful view across the sea. If you're not going out to dinner, it makes an excellent location for dining in.

Dinner by moonlight. Beautiful.

The bathroom was much larger and better equipped than I had expected and the minimalist kitchen is OK for making salads and (very) simple meals. I did find it odd that there were no power sockets in the kitchen, so the kettle and toaster had to be used in either the bedroom or living room. But that's not a huge problem.

There have been some comments on here about the manager, Lana. In my opinion, these are unfair. She was always courteous, polite and extremely helpful in our dealings with her and frankly snarky personal comments have no place in a public review. I was there the same week as another reviewer here and he's talking nonsense. If you have an issue while there, then be an adult and speak to the manager - not whine about it online afterwards...

We dined out a few nights at different restaurants and never had a bad meal. All the meals we had were good value.

I didn't pre-book car hire, so had to ask around in person. My first choice would have been Pefanis, but they were fully booked. Second choice, Greekstones, were fully booked but Anthony there was extremely helpful and gave me a map of Skala and he marked on it the locations of the other car rental agencies. I eventually rented a car from Etam travel. It was initially a Hyundai Getz, but I was offered a free upgrade to a Chevrolet Lacetti. I had no issue with the staff, or the service. Thomas Cook offer car hire through Avis (I think) but it's more expensive than the local agencies.

I cannot recommend Kefalonia and specifically, The Apollo Apartments, highly enough.

If you're browsing places to stay you can stop now. Book it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just returned from our first visit to the Apollo apartments and have to say that it is our intention to return in the future.The staff were all excellent, especially Lana who could not do enough for us during our stay.The views are outstanding, the pool and complex kept immaculate and the rooms while basic were more than adequate. Lana's children were around for some of the time and were a delight. Well mannered and only used the pool when no guests were in it. As grandparents we found then to be an added bonus. Skala is a lovely town with good facilities and quite close to the Apollo. We have been to many parts of Greece but Kefalonia and the Apollo are as good as we have experienced anywhere.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our first time in Kefalonia, and from the moment we arrived, Lana and her family couldn't do enough to welcome us to the beautiful Apollo apartments. We were delighted with our accommodation, and our room had an amazing balcony overlooking the sea. The pool area was great, and very quiet and relaxing throughout the day. The pool bar was lovely, and Lana made us some delicious pool snacks at reasonable prices. Skala was a great town, and even though the Apollo apartments are about a half an hour walk from the centre, we found we actually preferred being slightly out of the town as it was much more peaceful. The walk was very easy to do, however a taxi was only 4/5 euros anyway. What made our stay at Apollo apartments so memorable was how welcoming Lana and her family were. One evening, her two young children celebrated their birthday with a toga party, which we were invited to join in with. It was delightful to watch and added an element of Greek authenticity as well as contributing to the family atmosphere. We would love to come and stay at the Apollo apartments in the future, and hope that Lana continues her great work there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franklk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Well what can we say, The Apollo Apartments are in a fabulous position overlooking the sea, the views are amazing and it is so peaceful and relaxing. We arrived about 10.15pm and was welcomed by Lana who was fantastic for the full 2wks, nothing was to much trouble for her , always pleasant and a smile on her face. The apartments are basic but spacious and clean with large balconies overlooking the pool, the pool is a good size and very clean , plenty of sun loungers for everyone. The bar is open from early morn and Lana will make breakfast if required the bar snacks are very good and Lana will make any drink you want. The Pappas family are very welcoming as well Thanos runs the bar in the evening and likes a game of pool . We have already booked for 2014 as it was getting booked up so can't wait to see everyone again, especially Lana's children who came to the pool everyday, they were so polite and no trouble at all , some days you didn't even know they were there . Roll on next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chez168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skala hotels
0.9 mi away
Agnantio Apartments
Agnantio Apartments
#11 of 33 in Skala
30 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
1 mi away
Regina Dell Acqua Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
1.7 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
46 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Sofia
Villa Sofia
#13 of 33 in Skala
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Apartments Skala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Apartments Skala

Address: Skala, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Skala
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Apollo Apartments Skala Hotel Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing