We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful escape :)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apollo Apartments Skala
Ranked #5 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Skala
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“A beautiful escape :)”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I'm 18 years old and have just spent a week at the Apollo with 2 friends of the same age. It's not somewhere to attract young people, but we were looking for a quiet week instead of a lively one, and the apartmants were perfect. Everybody staying there was British, so we were easily able to make friends and get to know people. There were mainly couples, with a few families.

The pool is well maintained and large and cool and lovely when you're baking! There are plenty of loungers and parasols for all guests. The pool bar has a range of food and drink, and always has a friendly Greek serving, who will chat. The maid comes most days, except when she has to prepare lots of rooms for new guests, to change thebathroom bin and bring new towels. :)

Our arrival wasn't brillant as the coach dropped us just after 5 in the evening, and the pool bar shuts between 5-7 every day. We were out of water and couldn't get the aircon going, and couldn't find any staff to ask for help. It was stressful, but we sorted it within half an hour, and had no other problems with the apartment. There were a few ants around, but certainly no mosquitos. We loved to see lizards and giant butterflies.

Each evening we would get a taxi into Skala, and then one back later. They cost 5 euros each way. It is possible to walk, and the path is well lit in parts, but it would take 30-60 minutes to get to Skala and we felt the taxis were a decent price to save time and effort. All the drivers were friendly and helpful.

In Skala, there is a huge selection of restaurants and bars. The cocktail selection is very fun, and as a vegetarian, I had loads of food options to choose from. Food and drink is all reasonably prices. There are many minimarkets, and a small selection of giftshops.

Our Thomas Cook rep, David, was lovely. He seemed approachable and friendly. The rep welcome meeting on our second day was very helpful. We didn't take any daytrips, but the trips offered seem extensive, if you're looking to explore.

Overall, we had a beautiful week at the Apollo apartments! We recommend them to anyone looking for a quiet and carefree week in the sun, in the best of apartments. (:

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    29
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
62
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

only because we dont want to be disappointed when want to re-book for next year!! Just returned from a fabulous week at Apollo, what lovely apartments they are. We were a party of 4 me and my husband, our daughter and her friend so we had 2 studios next to each other. We had number 13 which did have a balcony overlooking the pool and sea, the girls had number 14 which has a terrace at the rear and didn't have much of a view really, but it didn't matter as the views from round the pool and at the pool bar are outstanding.

The apartments are basic, but very clean, and have free yes free a/c, safe boxes to rent, and hairdriers in the bathroom. The self catering facilites can cope with a simple breakfast, but dont expect to be able to do a Sunday roast!! But there is no need to as the apartments do simple but very nice and reasonable food at the bar which is great for lunch, and in the evenings the choice of tavernas is ample.

The pool bar prices were very good and comparable with town, in fact cheaper than we paid last year at different apartments. The family who run Apollo are just lovely so friendly and will do anything they possibly can do to make sure you have a great holiday.

Yes they are a bit out of town, but we used taxi's and they were 5 euros each way, lots of people walked in to town then just taxied back.

We met alot of very nice people most of whom were repeat guests ( of which we will be next year). As someone said it just ticks all the boxes, its peaceful, with views to die for, run by lovely people who are so proud of their apartments and rightly so.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheffieldSuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed here 10th - 17th June, the apartments are fairly basic but are clean and well maintained. The self catering facilities are very limited but there are a lot of good value restaurants not too far away all we ever made was breakfast and that was usually croissants. The gardens are lovely and are among the best I've seen in Greece and the pool is the warmest I've been in for a long time. Its a nice 30 min walk into Skala in the evening or a 5 minute car/taxi ride. I'd recommend here for anyone who wants nightlife close by but not too close when you want some peace & quiet

Room Tip: Most rooms over look the pool and bar area, these have the best view but the room we had 18 is at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diprose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

just returned fabulous place clean very well maintained, owners very helpful and friendly, gardens lovely, gorgeous views. quiet and small but thats what we wanted. nice wlak into town aprox 40mins taxi return 5 Euros,
skala as some lovely tavernas very nice food would go again without adoubt

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wirons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We visited Kefalonia and the apollo apartments in May 2011 on a late deal. The setting is fantastic with amazing sea views. It takes about half an hour to walk into Skala but the walk was enjoyable. There is various restaurants near the Apollo all serving fabulous food we were never disappointed and we also enjoyed meals and drinks at the Apollo as it's such a romantic setting. The apartments were very clean and had everything we required. The flora and fauna in the grounds were stunning. We would return in an instant Ke.falonia is the best Greek island we have visited it is very green and simply beautiful

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We spent two weeks at the Apollo Apartments in September 2011. First the positive points. The Apollo is situated on the cliffs in a very quiet area on the outskirts of Skala. The swimming pool is of reasonable size and, like the attractive gardens, is well maintained.

Regrettably, this potentially fine accommodation is spoilt by inadequate maintenance and poor cleaning. Our first apartment, No. 15, had a large balcony and 180 degree view out to sea and along the coast. On arrival the air conditioning unit and the window roller shutter for the lounge did not work and two of the door latches were broken. The hotchpotch of crockery and glasses provided were just about adequate to cope with breakfast. The lack of a/c and window shutter meant that the lounge area became very hot. Half way through our stay, the a/c unit in the bedroom failed in temperatures of 32 – 35o C. Although the manager, Christos, made efforts to fix the a/c and provided a fan as a temporary solution, Natasha, his wife, was dismissive of the problem and unhelpfully suggested that we simply leave the doors open.

Efforts to fix the a/c were unsuccessful and it again failed in temperatures of over 32o C. Apparently there was a serious fault with the lounge a/c unit and Christos considered that the bedroom unit could not cope with the high temperatures. Both a/c condensing units were badly corroded and old. Some of the external condensing units in other apartments/studios appeared to be in better condition. Only when we insisted on alternative accommodation were we moved to the next door apartment, No. 16.

Although both a/c units worked in No. 16, neither of the window roller shutters worked properly and, again, two door latches were broken. There was no shower rail or curtain over the bath. Having stayed in two apartments we concluded that maintenance and renewal of equipment is carried out only when absolutely essential.

Both apartments were reasonably clean when we first arrived. However, cleaning during our stay was minimal and limited to wiping the bathroom sink and removing rubbish. The shower/bath were not cleaned and there was very little evidence that the floors had been cleaned. The beds were never made and on Sundays not even the bins were emptied. However, the linen was clean.

Overall, the Apollo fell well short of what we expected and, indeed, of our experience of similarly priced accommodation elsewhere in Greece and the Mediterranean.

Our favourite restaurants were the Old Village and Flamingo.

We took an excellent day cruise aboard Captain Vangeli’s boat to Itháki. The boat departs from the main beach at Skala

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Globetraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Wow! What a great holiday we had at The Apollo Apartments. It was our first time to Kefalonia and considering its Greece this place is 5 star and more, as this is the most relaxing place you will find with unbeatable views of the Ionian Sea, and views of Skala.

We stayed in room 10 the balcony was that big you could park your car on it and still have room for a party. In the rooms the bathrooms were clean and the showers very powerful. The beds are comfortable and if you need more pillows just ask Thanos or Alex and they will sort you out. Kitchen facilities are basic but you have everything you need to cook basic meals and again if you need anything just ask. The room has a fridge freezer as well. The rooms also have mosquito blinds that cover and close out the whole apartment which is class. And the godsend is you have air con which is free of charge.

The facilites at the apollo are great with a clean pool and kids pool which is well looked after by Christos daily, the pool area is quiet and is great for relaxing you have no problem getting a sunbed. You can just sit there watching the world go by. The pool bar is good selling all kinds of booze from the wonderful Mythos to european drinks. Natasha cooks very well and the menu is basic but caters for all you need. The people that run the apollo Natasha, Christos, Thanos and Alex are wonderful people and will do anything you need, if something breaks Christos will fix it asap. The cleaner is ok although buy extra toilet rolls in case!! In the bar they have a large pool table (beware Thanos is a pool shark!!) Sky TV, internet access (small charge) and a large selection of books plus other stuff.

Outside of the apartments is great there is a 30-40 min walk into Skala itself but there is a path 95% of the way, its a great walk in especially in the day catching the sun and if your tanned and lucky getting asked for directions in greek!! The supermarket is a 20min walk it sells most things but is very expensive for foods, waters are very cheap at 2 euros for 6 litre bottles.

There are restaurants all the way into Skala with old times and Captain Pitts boat good places, although a tip when eating out try to go out when the sun is going down as the wasps are horrendous not stinging you but after the meat on your plate its bizarre!!! In skala itself there are plenty of eataries mostly doing similar menus but we didnt find one bad restaurant. There is a music disco place in skala and also a quiz night in the town which two fellas run there are quality and a good laugh.

The trips from the reps are the same as in the town however that is the only down side we found. When the rep sells you the trips we normally buy them and see the rep get a little commision, but The Thomas Cook trips were a rip off. We done the island tour from the Panem travel place in skala ( a great day trip showing the whole island with Esmie as your guide and boy does she know the island even how many hedgehogs there are!!) we were charged 24 euros each and was told to go in the attractions (Drogarati caves and Messalini lake amazing!) would be 10 euros each for two of us totalling 68 euros. Thomas Cook wanted 58 euros each plus the other charges so total for 2 people with Panem 68 euros, with Thomas Cook 136 euros!!!!! which is a massive difference especially if your on a budget. Thomas Cook need to look at this as it totally put us off the other trips.

Coming out of town there is an excellent cab service its 5 euros to get to the apollo if you order Dennis (great dude) you will be chaffeured in style and have a nice chat with Dennis, or if you lucky you will get the vomit comet and be back at the apollo in 25 secs!!

The island itself is amazing and beautiful and is a must to see it. So if you want a relaxing time with great local people and no bother of anyone (skala has no hassles from anyone) go to the apollo apartments, we have rebooked for 2012 for the Budgie Smugglers Reunion.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great if you get the sea views ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank oggs1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.0 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
0.0 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Petani Bay Hotel- Adults Only
0.0 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
398 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#12 of 23 in Skala
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Apartments Skala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Apartments Skala

Property: Apollo Apartments Skala
Address: Skala, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Skala
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Apollo Apartments Skala Hotel Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing