We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Kefalonia”
Review of Mounda Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mounda Beach Hotel
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Kefalonia”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Just recently returned from a super two weeks staying in this Hotel. Found it by accident and reviews were very good, however never expected it to be as good as it was. We were a family of 4 (10&7 year old kids). As we booked late we could only get a studio for all 4 of us. Studio was very spacious and we were surprised at how much space we had. We would describe this hotel here as a small boutique hotel (11 studios and apartments). It is modern yet authentic, tranquil yet with a nice buzz. Its main assets are its people Theo, Alex, Larisa and Zivile.
So down to basics. Food 5 stars. Breakfast was really nice, lunch/dinner even better. We were asked at the start of our holiday if we wanted any Greek dish cooked for us to let them know at breakfast and they would prepare it. At first we were a bit suspicious however we went for it on night two and had some of the best Greek food we have eaten over the remainder of the holiday thanks to Theo and Alex. Even if you dont stay here go and book dinner you will not find a better setting or food on the island. Only about 12 tables so do it early. No pool means the atmosphere is really quiet and relaxed. You can use the pool at the ajoining hotel free is you want. Beach (reason we never used the pool). The hotel is located 100 yds from one of the best sandy beaches on the island. The sea is glorious and sandy also so no irrating stones to climb over to get yourself immersed. Never packed, so plenty of space. Forgot to mention that Alex must have been a DJ in a previous life as his choice of music is fantastic and adds greately to the relaxed atmosphere. Overall we would rate this hotel way above the average 3 star and we cant wait to go back to Kefalonia soon and enjoy Mounda Beach Hotel a second time.

Room Tip: There are two blocks of accommodation, higher up the better the view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mrcwicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    11
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
21
48
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

This is our 18th visit to one of the best holiday destinations in kefalonia. Alex and Theo are first class hosts always making us feel relaxed and welcome. The hotel is in an excellent position just a stones throw from a glorious sandy beach that is never crowded. Because it is situated off the main roads all you hear at night are the gentle rolling of the waves as they hit the sand.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Plum12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Very friendly staff. Sandy beach in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XZandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Mounda Beach is just 5 minutes (or 25 walk) from the resort of Skala. The hotel is set directly on the beach with fabulous views. Both the pool and the beach are very quiet - infact my friend and I had the pool to ourselves for the first 3 days, as most people favour the beach.
The rooms are basic but comfortable - air conditioning is a must as the temperatures were up to 45 degrees some days! At €6 a day it's well worth it. Not really equipped for any real self catering - but the restaurant is really very good, with daily specials. Try the greek food - it really is the best option.

All staff are very friendly and will do anything for you.

Skala is well worth a visit in the evenings - the hotel will call a taxi for you, which at €6 is a bargain. There are plenty of lovely restaurants and bars - I can honestly say we didn't have one bad meal.

Recommend an island tour - it's beautiful and wellworth it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — basic self catering equipment
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skala hotels
3.4 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
1.5 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
43 reviews
3.2 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#12 of 23 in Skala
221 reviews
1.4 mi away
9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mounda Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mounda Beach Hotel

Property: Mounda Beach Hotel
Address: Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mounda Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Mounda Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing