We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“captains house hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Captains House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Skala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“captains house hotel”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

weve been going skala for ten yrs & captains is the best place for a nite out & they do brilliant cocktails.the staff are really welcoming & always remember everyone . weve been going 8yrs then family came for last 2yrs & they love it as much as us

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marionp1156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    48
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
20
91
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hindon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent a week at the Captains house from 15th August, first impressions are great, the feel is very comfortable and quite plush but when you actually delve a little deeper there is room for plenty of improvment and based of the cost of £450 for a weeks B&B and constantly full, it's not like they cant afford it! The hotel is tucked away from the main street in Skala and we thought would offer a fairly quiet and relaxing stay, however we were not told nor did they advertise that they also have a bar (The captains bar) directly across the street (no more than 4 metres) selling cocktails and pumping out extremly loud music until around 2am and a barman who found it necessary to shout and scream "It's Yamass Time" all night

The rooms are well decorated and clean but ours was very small and I could not use the loo without my foot being in the shower tray, the shower head was was fixed to the wall in such a way that it sprayed the wall and not your head and could not be adjusted, the air con was set to operate at it's most economical and bearing in mind whilst we were there it was 31c at night this was just not enough and you cannot alter the settings!. You also still have to put your loo paper in a bin?? I thought that went out with the ark? about time they addressed the issue of drainage as this was not the case anywhere else on the island. The bed was rock hard too! I have never been so glad to get back to my own!

There are no facilities that might accomodate anyone with any kind of disability so if you are not physically fit and cant climb stairs you might want to think again?.

That said it is a nice place and the staff are very polite, the breakfast is good and fresh every day, and it is very peaceful and relaxing until 6pm when the damned bar opens!

I dont think that this hotel is a place to chill and relax but is very well located for the beach and the main street where all the restaurants are.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view, they are no extra and the vista is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave1959hindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in a perfect spot to do literally everything you want to. With the average continental breakfast, free wi fi from the bar area and on a quiet but central street, this is a good hotel to spend your time and explore all of Kefalonia from here. 100m from the beach, 200 m to the busy shopping taverna strip and 100 m to bus stop, taxis and the road leading out of town towards Sami and Agia Efthymia. This is a great spot in the best location on the island to do most things (except to go to Lefkada). Owner is around all day and runs then place with his son. They are helpful without being overbearing. Rooms are clean and services daily. Only downsides- the bar stays open across the road until 1am so if you are an early sleeper and super sensitive to noise, maybe think again. Having said that, you can just stay at the bar until 1!! But seriously, I slept fine every night by just shutting the shutters. Only other downside is that the air conditioners on the room aren't the strongest units so its a bit tricky to cool down in the peak of the day. Otherwise, this place is sweet, not too big, and good value for its location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Citizenofzeworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I, a 53 year old father, have just returned from a 2 week stay in this hotel, with my 16 year old son. The simple rooms were spotlessly clean and our sheets and towels were changed daily! Great location near to the beach and main street. All staff were friendly and helpful and only too willing to suggest restaurants etc. As I traveled independently the staff arranged a taxi for my return to the airport and a much lesser cost than I paid to get there. The Captains Bar is 4 steps away and must be the liveliest bar in Skala. That said when we wanted an early night we had no disturbance due to the double glazing. Yes the breakfast is basic, but of course it is not a meal the Greeks eat. In fairness a short stroll will take you to many tavernas selling 'full english' for less than 8 euros.The WiFi is free, and the gym, which now includes some free weights, was better than nothing for people like ourselves who do a lot of training in England. Take the time to talk to the staff and believe me they will not be able to do enough for you. As someone who has traveled extensively whilst working, this is a great place to relax. If you want 24 hour room service, 24 hour reception, and staff everywhere pay for it and go somewhere else. If you want to experience Greece with the Greeks there is surely no place better. We are returning in September this year.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking garden will I suspect be quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony1549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from catptains. Never stayed there before but been to kefalonia ar least 9 times- always visited Captains Bar though. The hotel is clean and staff very friendly. Bedding and towels changed every 2 days safe and air conditioning and tea/coffee making and fridge in our side room with small balcony. The only small thing that wasnt perfect was the shower which was very small and shower head not that powerful but we managed. Tina was lovely cheerful and friendly as always bd cocktails wonderful. Would definately go there again good value for money. If you like fuss and luxury dont bother bur if u like no frills hols its fine

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just got back from our second stay at this wonderful family run hotel. The rooms are very clean and has a small fridge for your cool drinks! Rooms are cleaned daily and fresh towels and sheets every 2 days! Free wifi and a nice simple breakfast.
2 mins walk to the lovely beach and 30seconds walk across from the hotel is the wonderful Captains cocktail bar.......great room.....great beach......great cocktails! Perfect holiday!!!!! Jokes aside, a fabulous place to stay and we will visit again for sure .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butterflysurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Sorry but can not comment on the hotel ( but hope to stay their in September 2013 ) as we only went in the reception area, which if the rest of hotel is up to this standard we cant wait. However the Captains Bar is a what made our holiday. First found this bar in June 2012 and it is still fantastic. Tina and Co are so friendly nothing is to much trouble, atmosphere and ambience was spot on. We had pre-diner drinks here every night, it was a shame that we had to leave and get food. Their is only one thing to say "YAMAS TIME" a Big thank you hope to see you all soon, Baz & Jules, (Bristol)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigbaz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
2.4 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
2.2 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#12 of 23 in Skala
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
398 reviews
15.3 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Sami
261 reviews
15.3 mi away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sami
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains House Hotel

Property: Captains House Hotel
Address: Main Street, Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Captains House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Captain’s House is situated in the centre of Skala, only 50-metres from one of Kefalonia’s most beautiful beaches. Friendly staff, a great location and free Wi-Fi make this a great choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Captains House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing