We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel - very friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel - very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Have just returned from a week at the 9 Muses hotel in Skala Kefalonia. Fantastic hotel, extremely friendly staff, very clean, quiet, aircon & free WIFI throughout (though some areas are patchy). This hotel is extremely well maintained & serves a great breakfast which keeps you going most of the day. 2 pools, 2 bars & restaraunt. Short walk into town & directly opposite the beach. Will defintely return

Room Tip: Would prefer room on 1st floor if you don't mind some steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woody-man-1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    104
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
113
441
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at the 9 muses for a week in June 2013. We had two rooms as there were six of us in total, three generations of the family.
The hotel was lovely. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful and always had a friendly smile for the children. The rooms are clean with fresh flowers, a bottle of water and tea/coffee & biscuits provided on arrival. Our cleaner, Tamta, displayed our towels in attractive designs which the children looked forward to seeing each day.
The hotel is extremely attractive, apartments are situated in pastel coloured blocks amid fruit trees and flowers and gives the appearance of a small village. The hotel is situated on the outskirts of skala, an easy stroll away from shops and tavernas but is in a lovely and quiet setting. It is also directly across the road from the beach. Unfortunately the beach is shingle and water shoes are a must, although there is more sand farther along the beach towards the town.
We were bed and breakfast and the breakfasts were lovely with a great selection available from fresh fruit and yogurt to cereal and toast to pastries, eggs and sausages. We have had a wonderful holiday in Skala and the 9 muses was an ideal hotel for a quiet, relaxing break.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JourneyingJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stopped at this hotel for few drinks and to see Hollis. His show was different from the other ones we had seen. He did music from the 50's and 60's and it was great! He is a fantastic entertainer. Just when I think he can't possibly do any better, he delights me by doing a show like he did last night.

That being said, although the hotel was lovely, we were not treated very well. I'm not sure if it was because they don't want customers who don't go for dinner, but we were basically ignored all evening after we said we weren't having dinner. If that is the case, you should be told that before you sit down. We had to actually leave our table and walk back to the bar for our drinks; while several waiters just walked by us.

So, if you want to go for fantastic entertainment, don't miss his show on Sunday evenings. Just go prepared to be ignored if you don't have dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just recently back from holiday at 9 Muses in Skala and had a great holiday. It was our
first visit to Kefalonia although been to other parts of Greece several times but as no flights from Scotland this is what had put us off in the past.

Had checked reviews of this hotel before booking and it lived up to all the excellent reviews on trip adviser. Our room was lovely and looked out to the main pool and bar. The rooms are laid out separate buildings which made it look like a greek village. Very clean and great having kettle if you wanted to make coffee and you had welcome tray on arrival with teabags, coffee and biscuits so nice touch. Another nice touch is the fresh flowers in your room as made me feel like home.

We stayed on half board basis but this was not good for my waist line as you could have 3 course meal every night from a la carte menu. Tried to make 3 courses but gave up after a few nights and even my husband was beat. Great service in restaurant by all staff who work very hard. There is a cocktail bar as you enter the hotel and this is run by Amanda who is great company to all who drink there and work every night and still very cheery.

Next door to the hotel is Captain vangelis cruises and well worth the money. We sailed across to Ithaka and visited Vathi and Veroni both very nice with lots of nice restaurants and shops to visit. The cruise was 35 euros and great value. Again captain and staff very nice. You can also go to Zante but as we have stayed there before did not go this time. Also went on bus trip and again great value and went to Fiskardo, Myrtos beach and a monastery among other places so busy day.

Nine Muses a great base as short walk into Skala where there is a selection of bars and restaurants to visit and of course you have to visit Captains bar when in skala. Very nice gift shops as well with very friendly staff.

Went for our 20th Anniversary and must say I am glad we picked the 9 Muses.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 220 great position as middle of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottiesglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely relaxing week. The location of the hotel is excellent, it is walking distance (5 mins) to many fantastic restaurants but further enough away to be peaceful. Both pool areas were immaculate and there was a very nice, relaxed atmosphere at both. Our was spotless and the shapes and designs of our towels always made us smile after a long hard day of sunbathing! The breakfast was really good and enough choice to keep everybody happy and the staff were always very positive and happy. We really enjoyed the happy hour cocktails at Amanda's bar! We had a room near the back, with a big terrace and it was very quiet. I would definitely go back to the 9 Muses. :)

Room Tip: Near the back of the site
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trinibelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
225 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week between the mid-season and high-season on the strength of a very strong recommendation from a friend.
The original hotel was built in 1998 but the dining room and bars have been expanded and improved just a few years ago.
This is a medium sized family hotel whose most valuable asset is the long-serving team of friendly staff. Apart from a couple of bored, lackadaisical, waiters in the restaurant, they were a delight to meet and get to know.
The rooms are modest but spotless. The breakfasts are adequate but we never ate more than a continental breakfast so no problem in that for us.
The plumbing was antiquated (don't flush the toilet paper down the loo or you may cause a very unpleasant blockage) but you get used to that in Greece.
I would have liked to have seen cushions provided for the pool loungers....surely not too much to ask?
Can't comment on the evening meals as we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and preferred to eat in the local tavernas which had much more character and colour.
A qualified thumbs up then for the 9 Muses. Good value for money but some minor deficiencies. It's strongest point...the friendly staff.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Photopedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at the Nine Muses for a week at the end of May, a family of four, two adults and two teenagers. The hotel is situated on the road that runs from Skala to Poros about 400 metres or so from the main street. The hotel is made up of a number of different blocks, each one named after one of the nine muses and painted externally in different colours. Our rooms were on the ground floor and were reasonably spacious with a large bathroom and plenty of wardrobe space for a week’s worth of clothes. Each of the rooms has a balcony but some of the ground floor balconies were not very private as they are situated next to the paths between the buildings. I guess the ones on the second floor also had better views. The hotel is built into the slope that runs up from the beach so there are a number of steps and upward sloping paths which people with mobility difficulties might find an issue. The room was cleaned and tidied daily by a maid service.

Over the not-particularly-busy road in front of the hotel is the beach with a number of sunbeds and umbrellas. I’m guessing that the sunbeds weren’t free – we saw signs displaying €5 per day – but as we never spent any time on the Skala beach I can’t confirm this. There is also plenty of non-sunbedded areas, if you just want to lie on your beachmat/towel. The hotel is more-or-less opposite the beach pickup-point for “Captain Vangellis” boat trips of which there are several place to book, including a small kiosk right next door to the entrance. There is also a watersports centre (jet skis, wake boarding, donuts, paragliding etc) on the beach, again pretty much opposite the hotel. This seemed not to be doing much business the week we were there, perhaps it was too early in the season.

We were on the B&B tariff so I’m unable to comment on the evening meals because we ate out in local restaurants each evening (Galena was our favourite). The breakfasts were good, served from 8:00 to 10:30, though we found the selection available tailed off towards 10:00 but I guess that’s only natural with a buffet style operation. My only disappointment was with the milk: I can take UHT milk in cereal but not in tea or coffee. We resorted to buying non-UHT milk in the local supermarket and then taking a cupful in with us when we went into breakfast. The rooms have a small fridge so storing it wasn’t a problem. The fridge was also useful for storing bottled water (also bought from the supermarket) which was necessary as you are not recommended to drink the tap water. A nice touch would have been for the hotel to provide one bottle for new guests, to give them time to get some themselves.

We had been slightly concerned that there were a couple of weddings taking place whilst we were there (there is a very small chapel in the grounds) but any fears we had were entirely unfounded as each event was barely noticeable to the other guests.
Most of our time was spent lazing by the pool, the number of sun loungers was OK but it was difficult to assess exactly how busy the hotel was though I don’t think it was full.
The clientele were almost entirely British and in spite of most of the holiday being in half-term week there were hardly any families with children. I’d have said that the average age was around 55-60.

Skala itself is very compact, there is a single main street that slopes uphill with a selection of restaurants, cafes and shops, including a supermarket stocking Waitrose products (honestly), and a couple of bakeries. There is no shortage of places to eat as in addition to those on the main street, there are several on side streets and along front and along the track at the end of the beach. Prices were very reasonable, typical main courses were less than €10, ½litre of house red €4, starters €3-€4. Overall food quality was high, in my opinion, though naturally it does vary and you might hanker after some non-traditional Greek food after a week.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pino-Drinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
2.5 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.8 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#10 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
19.1 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
21.5 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach

Property: 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
Address: Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Skala
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Skala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Muses Hotel Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing