We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stumbled across the 9 Muses by accident when looking for a last minute break. We generally avoid package type holidays so our expectations were blown away when we arrived at the hotel. There was none of the Fawlty Towers type experience I remember from trips to Greece when I was younger (not that they didn't have their own joys!). From the minute we arrived and had our cases whisked off us, until the morning we said a sad goodbye to the ever-friendly staff, the hotel couldn't be faulted. The pools and bar areas are clean and well maintained and the accommodation itself is spotless. We enjoyed our room at the quieter back end of the complex next to a smaller pool and bar area, I would advise asking for these rooms if you want to be away from the main road and bar/restaurant. Breakfast was a simple continental affair and more than adequate.
We fell in love with Kefalonia whilst we were there and will definitely look to staying at the 9 Muses next time we go!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 742 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Having narrowed down our holiday to kefalonia we originally booked the white rocks hotel in lassi but 3 weeks before we were due to go Thomsons notified us that white rocks were closing early for the season and we could move to the 9 muses which we did.
The hotel is fantastic and the staff can't do enough for you. Although it was the end of the season in skala and a lot of restaurants and activities were shut there was plenty to do around the hotel, with 2pools and pool bar. The avra restaurant gave a good meal each night. The rooms were clean and the cleaners even shaped the towels on the bed every day, the last day they made a plane and a house out of towels.
When we left the hotel the manager was out to see everybody off.
9 muses is a brilliant hotel and would certainly recommend to anybody.

Room Tip: We were in room 304 where you got a sea view but didn't get the sun on the balcony in the aftern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graeme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Having decided to visit Kephalonia and narrowed down my hotel selection I did my usual trip advisor research. 9 Muses was fill positive reports. We were not disappointed. Visited 4-14th October on half board basis and were prepared to eat out on some evenings but never ventured out of the Avra Restaurant. On the HB basis we were given the menu to select from each evening and with 2 of us dining for 10 days we still did not work our way through the menu. A couple of starters, desserts and steaks cost an extra couple of euros but loads of choice without this. We has €40-50 worth of dinner each night so worth the extra holiday cost.
Skala small resort and season coming to an end was very quiet. We did book a trip with Panem and as there were not enough takers they sent a car and took 4 of us to Agostoli by car. Went on last Capt Vangellis cruise of season to Fiskado -great day out. Lovely walks. Visited Roman Villa worth the short walk. Would definitely go to this hotel again but earlier in the season. Staff brilliant, everything spotlessly clean, owner made a point of chatting to everyone.

Room Tip: We were on room 301. Newer block but a bit of a hill so may not be suitable for all. Great views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidayqueen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have just arrived back from staying at the Nine Muses Hotel, and what a fantastic place it is!
The rooms are set out in a village like theme behind the swimming pool area with lovely flowering shrubs and trees everywhere.
We had a nice large room with a comfy soft bed and plenty of storage space. There is a safe inside the wardrobe if you need it charged at18 euros a week. A spacious balcony outside our room even had a small airer to hang towels or wet clothes on which was useful.
The Avra restaurant was at the front of the hotel with a nice sea view. Amanda's bar was beside the restaurant and there was a happy hour every night from 6-8pm we spent many a happy hour there before having our meal! Amanda treats everyone like a friend and was very generous with the cocktail measures!
The hotel and grounds are kept immaculately clean by hardworking and dedicated staff who were always friendly and happy.
The three little kittens at the hotel were quite cute and didn't bother us, they were shooed away by staff if they thought they were being a nuisance.
We were only staying bed and breakfast and were concerned that we would not find any tavernas open as it was the end of season but we needn't have worried as there were only about four that were closed and plenty left to chose from, some had even reduced their prices, we particularly liked the "Old Village" taverna. We did dine in the Avra restaurant a couple of times and that was nice.
We hired a car for three days from Greekstones in Skala (who were very helpful) and drove all around the island there are some beautiful places that are worth seeing. you really must come to see for yourselves!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pears700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I think everybody has just about said it all. This is one of the friendliest hotels and resorts I have ever been to. I'm not sure I would go in October again though as a lot of the restaurants and shops are starting to close. We were there 7th to 14th October. We were also very fortunate with the weather too which I was told was not normal for this time of year and there isnt a lot to do in Skala in bad weather. We booked trips via the very helpful Thomson rep Tessa and would really recommend the premier island tour which takes you to some beautiful highlights of the island. Although there were cheaper alternatives in Skala be aware that they can cancel if there aren't enough bookings. This did happen to some people. Our room had a small fridge and kettle with complimentary tea and coffee but these were not topped up and neither were the complimentary toiletries but the supermarkets were still open. The food was very good and varied with waiter service. We enjoyed most of our meals then retired to the cocktail bar in the restaurant where there is a friendly barmaid who was also very helpful and also knows the island very well. The cocktails are excellent by the way. A lovely resort for a quiet and peaceful holiday!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank merrills47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Returned from this hotel on the 14th October after a very relaxing holiday. The grounds are beautifully kept, rooms very clean and the staff we encountered were very pleasant.
Location ideal as a short walk to the town to small supermarkets, little bakerys that do lovley fresh bread and cakes. a good choice of resturants and bars. We stayed B/B and opted to have evening meals at both the hotel and at the nearby Simposuim resturant, both very good and prices the same.
Our room was 227 to the rear of the small complex. (next to the small church- a wedding took place whilst we were there, it was lovley) you don't get any sun on the small balcany, but nice sea views.
Can't fault the hotel. Nagis walks around several times each day and chats to his guests and was there to say goodbye and shake hands to everyone on departure - nice touch.
Only downside is that being the end of the season the town establisments were shutting down. very little was open by the end of our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Santina827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

has to be one of the best places we've ever stayed. the hotel is immaculate, very clean and well managed. continental breakfast with hot scrambled eggs/beans/Greek equivalent of bacon or sausage - so if you want full English - stick to Blackpool! Breakfast was served until 10:30 - so that meant I got the desired lay-in every morning making my holiday experience just what I needed

Hotel is wonderfully situated on the fringes of the main High Street but not too far out, so walking out in an evening, having a meal & walking back wasn't a problem at all. Having read previous reviews, I was expecting an almost total shut down resort in October (we visited first 2wks) but there was more than enough choice for evening meals.
We hired a car for our two week trip - not essential but if you do want to explore under your own steam - is the preferred option, the roads are not busy so never feel under-pressure. We visited north to Fiscardo, taking in Asos, Sami etc. absolutely beautiful island & the locals very friendly & welcoming

just a word of warning for those who really don't like cats - cats are an integral part of life here, found in all hotels and restaurants - so don't be grumpy if they make themselves at home on your sunbed/towel or sit by you at dinner. we had more than our fair share of grumpy old men whacking any cat the came within 100yrds with either a foot or newspaper!!

Room Tip: we had a room towards the back of the hotel away from the bar and pool - although the bar wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dickie899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
2.1 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#6 of 23 in Skala
441 reviews
1.5 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
46 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mounda Beach Hotel
Mounda Beach Hotel
#18 of 23 in Skala
101 reviews
19.0 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach

Address: Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Skala
#2 Family Hotel in Skala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range: $106 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Muses Hotel Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing