We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Oasis”
Review of Makis Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Makis Studios
Ranked #2 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Rita & Makis own the Makis Studios (Not to be confused with the Makis Hotel)
This is a small studio complex off the main high street on a back road, Because it is surrounded ny studios, the bar and trees this is a very quite laid back place with the lovely pool in its own unique suntrap.
Great welcome, shown to our bigger than usual greek room. There is a charge for air con & a safe Key. Fridge is included. All rooms face onto the small but very clean pool. The bar is open early til 7pm. You can have your breakfast & snacks next to the bar.
A great place to unwind & relax but just a 5 min walk to the main street with many bars & restaurants to choose from.
In a nutshell, idyllic, clean, friendly and in the sunshine.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fuzzyducktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 149 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

We booked makis studios based among other things on the reviews on this website. However, we believe that many of the reviewers have confused the makis studios with the makis hotel (trust us.... there is a world of difference!)
We arrived to our ground floor studio room expectant of a clean basic room with reasonable facilities. We booked with "optional extras" of balcony/veranda and kitchette with pool view. Wow - we couldn't have been more disappointed if we tried! The room did overlook the pool but also a gravel drive/road! It is a terrible location. The balcony was an open veranda and very impersonal. The room was as basic as possible with terrible melamine bed furniture, single beds that wouldn't even push together (lol!) due to oversized melamine headboards (double lol!). No pictures. Terrible lighting. No television. No phone. No bedspread for the colder nights (just an old white sheet). Dodgy air con. No shower holder (you hold the head and sort of "one-handedly" shower yourself!)....oh and no soap! What the....(insert your own word!) The bar shuts at 8 although you wouldn't go anyhow! Avoid the green scum line around the pool if possible. Phew.... Trying to find something positive to say....I can't.....avoid buying any drinks as the most expensive in Scala. All in all it is a terrible choice. We can't help thinking that any positive reviews may have been based on the makis hotel which is entirely different and a great hotel! We know because we checked out of the makis studios after one night, took our refund and checked in there instead..... Best decision of the holiday. You've been warned! Team LD.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TeamSmellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Hi tony b,after reading your review on the makis and mentioning thompsons.Is it the makis hotel opposite the beach or the studios which are set back a bit.We have not been to skala before but have booked the makis studios,we got a bit mixed up when phoning which was which when we phoned to book as the makis hotel only deal through thompsons i believe.But all in all the review you have done sounds lovely.thank you sonia

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank spartan040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

wonderful hotel,excellent rooms,nice staff.what more can i say?maybe a bit on the expensive side,but that could be thompsons pushing the prices.so much so,that we would return,but its just too expensive.very clean well equiped appartments.maybe on day eh!

Room Tip: pay a bit more for a sea view,if offered
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I wanted somewhere quiet & this was exactly that - in fact only 2 other couples staying! It is literally just a room with a shower room & fridge/kettle area. No TV (so no music or noise whatsoever). Lovely area, minutes walk from all the action - or as much as you will get in early June in Skala, which to be honest isn't much! Pool was lovely but due to there being no-one about we went to the beach every day. Only had a drink on the first day as the shutters came down swiftly in the early evening. Also didn't eat so can't comment there, although one of the other couples had a table laid on the veranda for them every morning - looked quite romantic. Wouldn't stay again as so much of the world to see but if you want somewhere peaceful wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SHARONH8367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was our first stop in Kefalonia, with the apartments tucked away in a quiet back street just off the main drag at the top of Skala, and about 5 minutes walk to restaurants and beach, with the nearest supermarket around the corner.
The apartment was extremely clean, with a a lot of the fixtures and fittings looking new, with fridge and free aircon. The bathroom is pretty good for Greece, and like most apartments/hotels it has a shower curtain with hand held shower attachment rather than a cubicle. Although we didn't use the pool, it looked good, with plenty of sunbeds and a snack bar. There is also parking at the apartment, which is handy for the hire car which is a must in Kefalonia, although you have to follow the one way system to get to the apartments (turn left just past the doctors surgery, if you end up in Old Skala, you have gone to far).
As a price guide we paid £23 a night for a two night stay in the last week of May through Travel Rebublic via the Trivago website.

Room Tip: All rooms look to be OK with all having pool views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank popeyeNqy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

If you like clean, relaxing, friendly places to stay near lots of good restaurants and beach this is the place. We loved Makis Studios, cant fault it at all actually, highly recommend it!!! The owners are so hospitable and always ready to help and accommodate. The standard of cleanliness is probably the best Ive come across.

Room Tip: Family rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nick1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skala hotels
0.5 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#6 of 23 in Skala
441 reviews
2.5 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dionysios Studios & Apartment
1.0 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makis Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makis Studios

Address: Skala, Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Skala
Price Range: $41 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Makis Studios 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makis Studios, Skala, Kefalonia Makis Studios is a small and friendly family run complex situated in the beautiful village of Skala, on the East coast of Kefalonia.The studios, with lovely surroundings and views, are set off the main high street making them private and peaceful. Yet, they are only 500 metres from beautiful Skala Beach and only a short walk from Skalas' shops, bars and restaurants. The complex is made up of 2 seperate blocks housing a total of 24 studios, which have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the pool area.Each studio is furnished with 2 single beds. The kitchenette area is equipped with a 2 ring electrical hob, a kettle and fridge.Airconditioning on charge payble localy. There are hairdryers in each room.The attractive pool area has an on site bar with a nice shaded terrace where you can enjoy breakfast, snacks and drinks, including cocktails, from the reasonably priced menu. There is free use of sun loungers and umbrellas for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Makis Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing