We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveler rating
206
59
12
4
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
206
59
12
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air con pool area stunning views self catering hired a car plenty of sunbeds taxi ride free towels lovely hotel huge balcony a free shuttle bus relaxing holiday skala town ground floor shuttle service cost euros overlooking the sea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 288 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2018

Great room with spectacular views of the Skala coastline. Big comfy bed, kitchenette and fridge. Settee and large balcony. Bathroom was a fair size with a good shower. The room was cleaned daily and over the week we had a couple of changes of towels and one change of bed linen.
The hotel had a bar stocking a good range of drinks. There were a range of comfy chairs and settees to relax in and I did like the fact that chess, backgammon and pool was available all free of charge to use.

The pool area was lovely with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas.

We stayed on a B&B basis. I enjoyed my breakfasts. The range included cereals, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, bacon and sausages. Cheese, ham, tomatoes, cucumber and olives, bread, yoghurt, honey, cakes, pastries, orange juice, water and a coffee machine.

I had one bar snack (club sandwich and chips) and one evening meal (lamb chops and chips) both of which were very nice indeed. The menu was good, had variety and was reasonably priced.

We took advantage of the shuttle service into town (a few Kms down the road) and we enjoyed Kostas' explanation of the Greek songs on the mini buses' radio!

Staff were efficient and we couldn't have asked more of them.

This is a quiet, peaceful hotel. Just what I like. Hope to return one day.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

Just spent the last week at this hotel on arrival teletext holidays had failed to book for us having booked us in wrong hotel on complete different island but the staff at the Asteris went above and beyond to fix the problem and the very next day we booked in to room 129 and enjoyed having a lovely holiday . Hope to return to this hotel again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank PippinsClose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

Just the entrance to the Asteris you know it will be 5 star.

You are continuously attended to by reception upon entering and leaving where the service is 100% and nothing is too much trouble for them.

The rooms are modern, airy and 100 % spotless and are tended on a daily bases by the house staff.

The restaurant and bar reflects the same fantastic service as the rest of the hotel, the food at night is some of the best i have eaten in Kefalonia and i have been visiting this area for the last 6 years..

You might read this review and think the Asteris is out of town, do not let this be off putting to you as a FREE shuttle bus operates throughout the evening, if you wish, its an easy 35 minute walk along the stunning coast road into Skala town.

When sat outside the Asteris in the bar area maybe sipping a ouzo or one of the many cocktails on offer you will be treated to a spectacular view of the sea and Skala town.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank sjohno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

If being picky I could say our apartment could have done with a freshen up as it's looking a bit basic these days especially the bathroom compared to the newer (and cheaper) deluxe studios.
However a minor gripe is far outweighed by the location, the fabulous pool area and al-fresco restaurant (food not bettered in Skala- honestly) and of course most importantly the staff.
It's just a dream to stay there.
If you like an informal, chilled atmosphere with everything you need to hand and the Town just a couple of miles away, Asteris could be the very place for you!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Superkev70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

What can I say ? The hotel has all the facilities you will need for a break in Kefalonia but it is the warm service and welcome that makes this establishment stand out. From the start our queries were answered promptly via email. We arrived late into Skala and were able to check in without any issues. We were hungry when we arrived and were craving for a Greek salad. Even though the kitchen had long closed, a relative of the owner went into the kitchen and prepared the most exquisite greek salad that we had in our stay. It was a very generous thing to do and one which made such a great first impression.

Bedroom was good / clean. Had a mini bar, air condition, good wifi signal and we were facing the sea which we really appreciated. Rooms were quiet and beds and pillows were VERY comfortable for our liking, Had 7 nights of excellent sleep in this hotel.

We enjoyed breakfast as it offered good quality products . From eggs, bacon, pastries, good coffee machine but the one that I enjoyed the most was their greek bruschetta. Toasted bread with tomato, feta and olive oil. Be warned - this is very addictive and found myself asking the chef for the recipe.

Swimming pool is really nice too. We ended up spending more time there than anywhere else. Very comfortable place to lounge and again really good wifi signal which was important to me as unfortunately I have a business to run.

Last but not least we were hoping to have a late check out which was fine with the hotel provided no one other bookings were made. Unfortunately for us another booking was made and we had to check out on time. Even though the hotel was booked, Dimitris in reception went out of his way to accommodate us in the swimming pool and provide us with shower and changing facilities as we had a late night flight to the UK.

Overall this hotel ticks the box in every aspect from comfort to good food and a great view of the Ionian sea. But what makes this place stand out and we'll have us come back is the great service from their staff. Dimitris, the young lady in reception and the owner and his family went out of their way to make our holiday a very special one.

EFHARISTOUME PARA POLI - KALO HIMONA

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jg2029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews