We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Anassa Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anassa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This small and friendly hotel is definitely, friendly. What a welcome. A lovely atmosphere, immaculate inside and out, but not intimidating. Our room was clean and comfortable, double sink, massive shower and loads of coat hangers. Food lovely, especially the Greek specials. My husband said the Kefalonian meat pie was the best meat pie he had ever eaten. All the staff were wonderful. Lovely pool, over looking the beach. A lot of the guests were on return visits, some on there 4th, so that says it all. Beach opposite the hotel, is a bit stony but, that didn't seem to matter, as every thing else was so good. There are plenty of places to eat, and Skala retains the Greek 'feel', lots of restaurants serving traditional Greek food, I would definitely recommend this hotel and the resort of Skala.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 513 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

We just came back from Skala last week and we can't say enough about this hotel. Effie & George are wonderful people who are hard working and care about their establishment and their guests. This was our second stay at their hotel and surely will not be our last. The rooms are spacious and updated. The entire place is spotless down to the walking paths around the hotel. The staff is wonderful - love the girls at the front desk (so sorry how could I forget her name??) Claire and Hercules are not only employees but friends to all of the guests, and even the cleaning staff will stop and chat. The location could not be better, smack in front of the beach surrounded by great restaurants, and the place is heavenly. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We always stayed in the back of the hotel and loved it. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mtbellini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Called in again on a Wednesday night, when they have Hollis, a superb R&R singer, and a massive BBQ, or if you're lucky, a late of Hercules' delicious chicken curry.
An absolutely superb night, the place was packed, but the staff do a very efficient table service, and you can run a tab till the end of the night. Hercules, Nick and Claire are the epitome of efficiency at the bar, can't fault them.
Some have said that Hollis is loud,,,,,well,,,he is R&R, and as we all know, that is not quiet. He is very very good, and I will definitely be going to hear him again.
All in all,,,,,,a top night out to be had there, I love the place and the people.

Room Tip: Any queries, ask the staff, they are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WarrenCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Just arrived back from a wonderful 2 weeks in the Anassa Hotel. The meeting with old friends and the forging of new friendships is a feature not to be under-estimated and seems to be inherent in this 'small and friendly' hotel . It is very difficult to find new adjectives to describe the wonderful atmosphere , friendliness and generousity of the Anassa Hotel. I feel obliged...nay...duty-bound to 'sing the praises' of the people who work very hard to make guests feel truly welcome and to ensure that they enjoy their time at the Anassa. I can but re-iterate what I have previously written and what all of the reviews will say about this fantastic hotel. In addition to the usual services provided may I mention the case of a fellow guest who , sadly , had a serious illness and had to go to hospital. George & Effe ( the owners) offered his wife their full assistance and sympathy and she just could not speak highly enough of their warmth , help and compassion.Thankfully the chap recovered sufficiently to return to the UK on his scheduled flight.Just one more example of why so many guests return year-on-year. If visiting the Anassa you must attend the Curry/Quiz nights and the BBQ followed by entertainment by 'Hollis' ....good food and good fun. Excellent restaurants abound and I will comment on their sites accordingly but may I just mention the 'Luxury Fish Pie' at the Galera restaurant...sooooo georgeous. Many thanks to Hercules , Nic , Claire ,Effe , George and the backroom staff for working hard to give us another holiday to remember. So to conclude....... just one word..EXCELLENT !

Room Tip: Thomson holidays would seem to do the B & B option this year and therefore the rooms allocated a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WarringtonMallyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Superb week stay at the Anassa. Great location on the beach. Hotel was spotless. Staff were all very very friendly and helpfull. Some great day trips and very close to a busserling street full of great bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

back from another trip to the Anassa. 4th visit in 4 consecutive years, cant help but return, despite intentions to go somewhere else next year we couldn't find anywhere better. Its perfect.
Very relaxed , friendly island and my god, no where more so than at the Anassa, hotel and bar. All the staff/family so genuinely friendly and happy that we are there, frome Eddie and his family, to Leah who looks after the rooms perfectly, to Laura, the super helpful and friendly receptionist, and George and Effe, very special people. Then in the best bar with Hercules and Claire and Nick and the others, they are amazing. Cant do enough for you if there is anything special you want to eat or drink, off the menu even, they will get it, so focussed on the top first class service they provide, never complaining despite working 10 hrs/day if needed.
We love you all very much, wots the point going anywhere else, apart from this the setting, rooms, pool and sea and beach 50yards away, glorious sunshine and unspoilt island.
Yes we are going back for another 2 relaxing and pampered weeks next year and taking our 2 daughters and granddaughter, wonderful.

Room Tip: rooms with sea view are beautiful, so are family rooms with kitchen and maisonette bedrooms. Back bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Having just returned from a hectic week in Spain where we attended a wedding we were looking forward to a relaxing week at the Anassa in Skala and that is exactly what we got. We arrived quite late and we're too tired to go out and eat so we had a meal and a few drinks at the pool bar courtesy of Nic. All the staff at the hotel from the owners, bar staff, reception staff, breakfast staff and even Edward the gardener were all so friendly it made our holiday. The location is just across the road to the beach and you can even get drinks on the beach from the hotel. How good is that ( thank you Claire). Needless to say that we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gerrard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.0 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#6 of 23 in Skala
441 reviews
2.1 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
19.0 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
2.0 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#11 of 23 in Skala
245 reviews
17.7 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anassa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anassa Hotel

Address: Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Skala
#3 Family Hotel in Skala
Price Range: $71 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Anassa Hotel Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing