We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday to remember” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anassa Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anassa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Holiday to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

A most friendly and welcoming hotel. from start to finish Effie, George, Hercules, Claire and nick were just amazing. The food was just brilliant and Hercules curry is so good. everyone made sure you were comfortable and well looked after. I felt like we were visiting friends and will most definitely go back. if you want to have fun and relaxation this is the place to go.

Room Tip: we had room 114 above entrance to hotel but you could still see the sea and the hill side to the lef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denise151959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    34
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
101
265
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had room 116 and enjoyed the view overlooking the sea and pool but you do get more noise from the people downstairs at the seating area and the noise from 9 Muses. We usually came in at around midnight each night and the noise would be fine thereafter. The shutters on the balcony helped quiet the room as well and keep it dark if you like the room dark. The breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. Very sparse but something is better than nothing. Would have liked some cucumber and tomatoes or more fruit offered. The staff and owners are lovely, kind people and do a great job. The bed was hard but overall fine. The bathroom had a hairdryer and was a nice size with a shower partition. There was a fridge and sink and cupboard with utensils and plates and soap to wash dishes. As well as a kettle. The tea down at breakfast had a machine that you press a button for coffee or water and some coffee was in my water but only happened once I believe. I would have liked a separate hot water option in the breakfast area. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank o2blikehim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent.england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just got back from two wonderful weeks at the Anassa, what can i say, it was amazing, the staff Hercules,claire.nick and katarina were fantastic could not fault their hospitality and friendlyness,my daughter and her partner got married on skala beach and had not arranged a reception.....the staff at the Anassa sorted it all out for them decorations and food were second to none.and they gave them the most beautiful flowers for the tables as a gift , so generous.the accomadation was clean,and modern and the grounds were imaculately kept by the gardener . what more can i say its opposite the the beach and about a 5minute walk into the square where there are many lovely restaurants to eat, Thank you all so much for making my daughters wedding unforgetable, and our holiday one of the very best we've had in the many greek islands we have had the fortune to visit, Frances Hudson Crayford Kent. Try it,You'll love it.......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fire-fly1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Anassa feels new, contemporary and very welcoming and is well located 5 mins from the main street in Skala, but far enough away to be nice and quiet in the evening (when there isn't weekly entertainment at the 9 Muses next door!). Effie and George have created a very friendly atmosphere and all the staff were helpful - I'd particularly single out Laura on reception and Nik in the bar (although if you want a great Caiprinia go to Meluda's bar in town).

While the pool is by the road, it's not a very busy road, and the view from the infinity pool is straight across to the sea which is what makes this place special. This is our second time in Kefalonia, but last time we stayed on the other side of town.

We had the suite which can sleep up to 5 people with great sea views, although there were only 4 of us (inc 2 kids). There's a separate living room with well-equipped kitchen including a full oven, fridge/freezer, fireplace (!) and sofa bed and we appreciated the extra space. A door leads to the bedroom with kingsize bed (or twin), another balcony, storage, and stairs up to a double bed on the mezzanine (there's no door). Large bathroom with a bath and shower over.

Negatives? More storage is needed in the upstairs bedroom area and in the bathroom - some shelves maybe for sponge bags?? And a different shower screen ideally. And the lovely round picture window in the upstairs room lets in lots of light and as there's no door separating the bedrooms, if one person gets up you all hear them, so make sure you know each other well!

There are many returning guests and I think that just adds to the friendliness as everyone spoke to everyone else, or you could keep yourself to yourself if you wanted to. We weren't on a package with Thomson and booked independently and didn't spend much time by the pool. Instead we would turn right out of the hotel and walk towards the end of the beach by the Milos Tavern where it's nice and quiet and there's some fun swimming through the rocks and onto the next beach.

It did make us laugh that most of the other guests camped out by the pool each day in the same places, but if that's the holiday they want, then that's their choice. If you want a sunbed in peak season, get up by 9/9.30. Plenty of sunbeds all along the beach for 5-6 euros a pair which is cheaper than other parts of Kefalonia and the sound of the sea drowns out the noise of other people's kids! I'd forgotten about the stones leading to the sea, but if you take your flip flops off just by the water, it's fine as it gets sandy a short way out. Beautiful clear water and there are showers by some of the sunbeds. Milos has a shower by the restaurant.

What to do? Hire a car and see this stunning island. it's only 2 hours to Fiskardo and you can see Poros, Sami, Agia Effimia, Myrtos beach and Assos on the way and pop into the Drogarati and Melanissi caves. Argostoli is a lovely town and only an hour or so away in the other direction. From there you can take the ferry to Lixouri. We also drove into the hills at Aenos and there are signposted walks (and plenty of wasps in summer). Katelios is only a short drive from Skala and has a totally different feel. Very laid back with plenty of beachfront tavernas. Probably a bit too sleepy for 2 weeks unless you like that kind of thing. We also drove to Lourdas and that's very hilly and slightly cut-off for a long stay, but there's a busy tourist scene there, so worth a look.

Car hire? Perfanis offer a discount if you're staying at Anassa, but Greekstones is even cheaper. You need to book ahead in peak season - we were just lucky I think.

Boats? We went on the Vangelis trip to Ithaka and it was great fun. People start queuing from about 8am to get a place on the top deck. As the boat docks right across the road from the Anassa, we sent an advance party and did a takeaway breakfast from the buffet! Next time I would also hire a small motorboat to explore the coastline.

Restaurants? We liked Apostolis up the hill which was always busy, and Gougouris the even busier gyros place (say hi to the lovely Aphrodite and her family who run the place) - if you sit in the back at Gougouris, you feel like you're one of the locals and not just a tourist! There are plenty of adverts for the Manor House near Sally's bar, but that was our worst meal and in 22 years I've never heard my husband complain to staff about food before, but it wasn't good.

Room Tip: There's a new block at the back which is probably the quietest place to be, but wherever, I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GWrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have just returned from a brilliant 2 weeks and WOW! this place is amazing. I cannot say anything more that has already been said in previous reviews. The warmth and friendliness of all the staff is what makes me want to return. They genuinely care about their guests greeting you on arrival (with a free drink) to the moment you leave taking your cases to the coach and waving you off. Hercules (who is a very kind man), Claire and Nic work so hard and always with a smile on their face! The accommodation and surrounding areas are all clean.We stayed in room 202 and although we had no views it was shaded by the palm trees so very nice in the August heat. What can I say about the food from the pool bar but I think its fair to say that you have a very "generous portion". Talking about food a must is the BBQ night I have never seen so much food stacked on a plate and then you are offered extra and with entertainment from Hollis its a brilliant night. The bonus of the Anassa is the beach on your doorstep but be warned of the shingles and the water does dip quite quickly so be careful if you have small children. All in all I cannot find any fault with this place. I have read a few reviews where people have said not nice things i.e.staff not friendly only friendly to returning guests but that is absolute rubbish this was our first visit and I can only assume that these people just like to moan or perhaps that were not very friendly themselves. The resort of Skala is a safe family resort and not rowdy with plenty of restaurants to choose from. I would definitely return to the Anassa and I would strongly recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to the Anassa. I was worried that holidaying at the same place 2 years running wouldnt be as good as the previous year......Well i was wrong it was better!!!
We met up with friends that we had met the previous year. In total 7 different couples/ families were there from August 2012.
From the moment you arrive at the Anassa you are made to feel so welcome by Effi & George. Nothing is too much trouble for them, they will look out for you just to have a chat.
The bar staff work so hard, Claire is a wonderful hostess, Nectarius is always so helpful, and Hercules is always wanting to please his guests cooking lots of his' Special meals'.
Such a friendly hotel, already booked for August 2014:))))

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaggy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Well what can I say that has not already been said!!, From the moment the coach drops you off and you are greeted with a welcome drink of your choice to the moment you leave when you are waved off, everything to make a perfect holiday experience has been accomplished. George and Effi are friendly and welcoming and the car staff Hercules, Claire and Nic know exactly how great customer service should be done. The rooms are very comfortable, we were asked if we would mind moving to a 1st floor room after 1 week due to a young family arriving with worries about the balcony and although it did not take long to move our things above Effi left us a lovely bottle of wine with a thank you card. Have bought the wine home so will look forward to enjoying that. We were in room 301 and then 311, both had a sea view but even if they didn't it would not have mattered at all. The shower was great, the bed was the best I had slept on in all our trips around Greece. Air con was very reasonable and a must. The pool area was spotless, and the pool itself was amazing and as it was an infinity pool it was lovely to just cool off looking over the edge towards Skala beach. The food that was available on the terrace was incredible, no skimping on helpings and I ended up having a portion of both my husband and sons as I could not manage my own meal. BBQ night is an absolute must, such fun with entertainment from Hollis afterwards which had everyone up and dancing. Countless amounts of food all for 15 euros per person 8 euros per child. We did this both weeks we were there because It was just great value for money. Second week we practically starved ourselves in the daytime to ensure we could make room for the food at night. The rest of the time we tended to eat out, but would end up at the bar most nights for a night cap or 2 or 3....... Hercules, Claire and Nic work extremely hard to ensure you have a great time, sometimes on very little sleep, but we could not fault any part of this holiday at all. We also made lots of friends whilst we were there and everyone is so friendly, whether you are on your first visit or whether you are a regular visitor. Can honestly say that of all the greek holidays we have had this was simply the best. Will definitely be returning, and will look forward to meeting up with everyone again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lassie2870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.1 mi away
9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
0.4 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.5 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
19.3 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
2.4 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#10 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anassa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anassa Hotel

Property: Anassa Hotel
Address: Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Skala
#1 Best Value Hotel in Skala
#3 Family Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Anassa Hotel Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing