We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Kefalonia”
Review of Anassa Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anassa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just returned from the Anassa. Lovely hotel very close to the beautiful beach with it's crystal clear water. Excellent staff, very helpful and friendly. We had a first floor room with a sea view which was perfect. Very clean and well furnished. Hired a car and drove up through the mountains to Sami with its very picturesque port and sandy beach and then on to the caves. The drive through the mountains was breathtaking and with very little traffic. The weather was perfect between 25-28 degrees every day and visiting in May meant the flowers were still abundant. Will definitely go back again, highly recommended. Thanks again to all the staff at Anassa for making our holiday a truly relaxing, enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 513 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay, loved every minute. Complimentary drink on arrival - nice touch. The apartment was spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the hotel, and we had a fab sea view. The staff were so friendly and welcoming both in the hotel and the bar. A special mention must go to Hercules, Clare and Nic who really make the bar an enjoyable place to be, nothing too much trouble. Five minute walk to the main centre where there's a good selection of restaurants, bars and shops. This was our first visit and it really did impress; booked already for 2014. YAMMAS!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

A lovely Hotel,with friendly welcoming helpful staff. Lovely happy easy going atmosphere day and night. Boat trips go from next door and plenty of places to eat Paspalis next door is good for food too. Travelled here with four generations of our family and we all loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dianne5_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Overall a great hotel. Lovely pool area. Right across the road from the beach. A 10 minute walk into town with lots of great bars and restaurants. Our room was in the old block and was a bit tired and dark. It did have the option of air con though which was good. Breakfast was basic continental as you'd expect from a Greek hotel so no complaints Staff were really friendly and worked very hard. The bar was great for a lunch time snack.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank H0w2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our second stay at the anassahotel and the same has last year did not disapoint we came the same date and we was in the room next to the one we had last year fantastic views the staff were so friendly even the cleaners. The food was lovely my husband is addicted to the mythos. We met some lovely people we even met about six couples from last year. We are hoping to book up for next year. This hotel is a credit to its owners hope to see you all next year x

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
9  Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Arrived 18/09/12 for two weeks. The general welcome and friendliness was ok but from reading other reviews may be better for returning guests (also it appears if you frequent their bar on a regular basis).
Hotel adjacent to beach and about 300 metres from main 'high street' where there are plenty of restaurants, etc. which serve average to good food at approx. 75% of the cost back home.

Our room was ground floor clean and tidy.
I know this is a business but I was not happy paying - 40 Euros a week for air con; 2 Euros per day for use of safe; even 5 Euros a day for use of beach parasol with two sunbeds. If they want to make extra cash perhaps they could work for it. If they took the trouble to walk to the beach and the pool side asking if anyone wanted drinks, etc. I am sure they would make more this way and I would not have felt so 'ripped off'. I do not blame Anassa for this - I understand they all do it.

Also, the beach opposite slopes very quickly into the sea and is not particularly good for non-swimmers or children.

Although I am undoubtedly in the minority on my next point I also have a big problem with Skala. This (I've heard) was a quaint village with a few tevernas, bars, etc. It is now like Southend-on-Sea (or blackpool for you northerners) with the sun. I don't see the point in travelling all the way to Greece if what you really want is to stay somewhere that serves English food, shows nothing but English football on tv every time there is a match on accompanied by burger and chips. The resort is probably 95% Brits when what I wanted was to experience something Greek! I can't understand why the industry has to spoil more places - if that's what people want, they already have the Spanish 'costas' and the Canaries which are already spoilt.

Fortunately, we hired a car for the second week and found some beautiful, gently sloping sandy beaches within a couple of miles and areas not so spoilt and build up (yet). Also, the scenery driving through the heart of the island is fantastic.

I'm sorry to appear so negative, most of my problem is not really with this hotel - just the resort in general.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank PeterRake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in the Anassa Hotel for two weeks, such a friendly hotel, the staff are amazing and very special, a big thank you to Hercules, he was so who was so friendly and kind he even brought us drinks at the bar, also Clare with her smile and welcome, also to Effie who help my sister when she was ill at the Hotel, she called the doctor for her and made sure she was well looked after, Hercules organised some delicious chicken soup for her while she was recovering.

A special thank you to Effie who after my request upgraded us, it was well worth the money amazing apartment with sea views and mountain views Room 312.

The beach is on the door stop with umbrella and sun beds for 5 euros for two beds.

The lunches were very good value too, freshley cooked with specials to.

If you want boat trips the boat comes right up to the beach nearly every day, you can booked them right next door to the hotel, lots of amazing trips to go to, and reasonably priced.

Skala has some very good restaurants, i would recommend Pines, we went there several times the food was excellent.

If you want a clean and friendly hotel near the beach you could not get anything better.

Room Tip: Book the apartments we had room 312 which was fabulous with sea views and mountain views these rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.0 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#6 of 23 in Skala
441 reviews
2.1 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
19.0 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
2.0 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#11 of 23 in Skala
245 reviews
17.7 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anassa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anassa Hotel

Address: Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Skala
#3 Family Hotel in Skala
Price Range: $71 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Anassa Hotel Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing