We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd visit, better than ever.”
Review of Aeolos Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aeolos Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Rainham, Kent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“3rd visit, better than ever.”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Aeolos Beach Hotel albeit with a break of 3 years. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the lack of a TV etc is something that doesn't bother us as that is exactly what we have come on holiday to get away from. The hotel is set in a quiet location back on the side of a hill and there is a short walk along the sea front to Skala Town itself just right for walking off the evening meal. The pool is very nice and the is nicely situated with views across the sea. The staff as ever are very friendly and it feels like coming home, nothing is too much trouble for the owners Chris & Angela. It does what it states "small & friendly", if you are looking for mod cons you may be disappointed but for a quiet relaxing location it can't be faulted. Personally we've never found the music from the bar to be too loud but if this was so I can't see the owners or Michael the barman not turning it down if requested, indeed the only night we really heard any music was at the Saturday night barbecue but again I wouldn't say it was over the top. A high percentage of the people on holiday were frequent visitors which speaks volumes for its location, environment and friendliness. We've never had a problem with our accommodation and will be back again at some point. Small and friendly is exactly the right phrase to describe this hotel and we would choose it over the bigger hotels nearby but again it depends on what you are expecting. There are various tavernas both on the beach front and in town, we quite like Paspalis and can recommend for something different the Italian Il Destino. There are numerous boat trips bookable locally and can recommend a visit to Assos & Fiskardo. Having been hear twice in the month of July we found the slightly lower temperatures of September more agreeable, still high 20's but nice and cool in the evenings & at night.
Julia & Andy Parkinson

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    27
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
80
266
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wells Somerset
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We recently spent a delightful two week holiday at the Aeolos (5th - 19th. September) . From the moment we stepped off the coach to be welcomed by the owners, Angela and Chris we knew it was going to be good! Angela's influence and attention to detail was very obvious throughout the hotel and Chris proved to be a human dynamo on the go from morn til night!. We were amazed at the amount of people at the hotel who came every year, many of them at the same dates meeting up with friends from previous years.All in all we had a wonderful holiday and not only will we go back, but we will recommend the Aeolos to all our friends without hesitation.
Dianne & Jim Rosie

Room Tip: Any room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was me and my partners first holiday in Kefalonia and we were very happy with resort of Skala but unfortunatly the hotel fell below our expectations. Firstly the room, which was completely missing any modern day amenities such as TV or WIFI (in fact the only place you could access wifi was in the bar/restaurant - a cheeky ploy to get guests up there to spend money?)
We were also disappointed to see that the balcony we paid for was actually a ground level patio area with a wall a foot tall with people constantly walking past. We were also disappointed to have to pay 20 € for the safety deposit box (which we did use as it is better to spend 20 € to protect hundreds) - the safety deposit box was fixed in our room so its not like it could have been used by anyone else?? Again, un-necessary.
We paid for a bed and breakfast package which unfortunatly is a bit misleading as the breakfast is actually a limited continental breakfast comprising of toast with various jams, some greek yoghurt and fruit and 3 cereal choices. Be prepared to spent at least €4.50 per person per day extra for a cooked breakfast (again, un-necessary)
The resort evidently is geared towards the 50+ which explains why things like WIFI have not been picked up before, so if you are under 50 years old, I DEFINETLY recommend Skala but this is NOT the hotel for you, try Regina Del Aqua just down the strip.
Michael and especially Chris were extremely friendly and I agree with other reviewers that Chris is the hardest working man I've ever seen!
Fantastic resort, disappointing hotel.

Room Tip: We paid for a balcony room which turned out to be a ground floor patio which people continually walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ccy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We usually book an island in Greece and this was our first visit to Scala and Kefalonia, we chose this hotel through Thompsons because of the great reviews people had written.
The journey to the hotel was a real eye opener on the big coach, small tight roads with massive drops welcome to Greece. The reception from Angela, Chris and Michael could not be better at the hotel and the childless atmosphere was exactly what the doctor had ordered, peace, quite, sun, beach, clear seas and refreshments.
We used the beach rather than the pool as we love snorkelling (tip best snorkelling is as you leave the hotel walk straight across the road and to the left rocky outcrop with plenty to see) downside there are no beach sets to hire nearest about 100m away.
We had fantastic advice from fellow guests on where to visit and to eat etc. experienced mob most had stayed their previously some 5 or 6 times. We hired a car and travelled about 300km over the 3 days and really did all any other time with the car would have been a waste.
The hotel food is very acceptable and a cooked English breakfast @ 4.50e was very reasonable everywhere else was 7.50e, this should take you through to your evening meal. We walked into the centre of Skala most nights (about 15 minutes walk) our most enjoyable meals were at the Pines and the Italian quite close to each other.
The only downside we had was our room, I had rung previously to offer extra cash for a sea view and was told that rooms were allocated on arrival, no surprise when you saw who had the best views the people who had been their 5 or 6 times and we felt that room allocation was done on how many times you had stayed their. PS if you want a view you don't want any bottom level rooms, even bigger PS if you want a view of anything apart from a hedge and wall 1m from your table and chair and in height to the balcony above do not stay in 106, I could have been a Japanese soldier in sniper training and loved it but we did not. As such we did not use the outer part of the room and wandered off into town to enjoy the views.
Overall a good holiday but have done Skala and Kefalonia off to another Greek island next year, still trying to beat Skiathos

Room Tip: Top floor easy access to the pool etc but can be nosier at night, plumb for level 2 and still enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

a lovely setting without a doubt, Lovely breakfast/beds/cleanliness BUT a comfortable bed is no good if you can't sleep because of the music blaring out from the bar!! And clean towels are no good if you have 12 cool/tepid showers over a 14 day period!!
Chris is the hardest working person I have ever met and does everything in his power to ensure you have a great stay

We soon notice (for the first time in our 20 visits to Skala) that this was the first place we stayed at where the music volumes were not turned down at 11pm - in fact some nights it was still going at way past midnight
We are not party animals I admit; but we do want to enjoy the lovely Greek atmosphere with Greek music and devine Greek cuisine NOT LISTEN ABBA ETC AT ALL HOURS

We will be going back to what we know best, unfornately this wont be at Aeolos

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tom_stokes69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AEOLOS B, Owner at Aeolos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We are so sorry you did not have a good time but if you had pointed out your problems at the time they could have been sorted since owners are on duty 24 hours a day.We are sorry you will not be one of the many returning guests to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our fifth visit to this gem of a hotel - even booking our sixth visit whilst we were there. What can I say except we simply would not stay anywhere else and our standards are very high ! Beautiful island, excellent location/hotel and a big thank you to Chris, Angela and Michael for another fantastic holiday. Counting down already to next September ..... You will not be disappointed if you book this hotel, worth every penny - whether a sun-worshipper or an explorer, this island and hotel holds something special for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our second time at the Aeolos,this time we travelled with family including my 84 yr old dad.Chris and Angela once again made our stay a wonderful experience,nothing was too much trouble.Chris even stopped and gave my Dad a lift from the beach on a few occasions,he even made us a packed lunch for our flight home.Its hard to better these apartments in skala,breakfast is plentiful,lunch and evening meals tasty and the ice cream cocktails were out of this world.Cant fault the 2 weeks we spent there ,they deserve their no.1 spot on trip advisor.We shall be returning without a doubt .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynfaharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
1.7 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
417 reviews
1.0 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#12 of 23 in Skala
224 reviews
21.5 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
808 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aeolos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aeolos Beach Hotel

Property: Aeolos Beach Hotel
Address: Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Skala
#2 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Aeolos Beach Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing