We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aeolos Hotel”
Review of Aeolos Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aeolos Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We returned for the second time this year having arranged the holiday with 2 other couples who we met 2 years ago at the Aeolos . In total 13 of us arrived and found other couples that had been there in 2011 were also there.Angela and Chris greet you like old friends and treat everyone the same . Nothing was ever to much trouble for them and always went out of their way to make your stay perfect . Hotel spotless ,Food excellent , Angela , Chris family & Staff priceless .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NanaMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 418 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

We returned to Aelolos Beach Hotel this year and it was like coming home... it is rare, I feel, to go back anywhere that you have been so highly impressed by and find that it exceeds your expectations again! We were there towards the end of August/ beginning of September. Angela and Chris welcomed us like long lost friends, and I don't think we were the only returning guests! Words are not enough to express my admiration for the way the family run this hotel- it is always immaculate, from the bedrooms to the restaurant,pool area, bar and flowerbeds. Customer service and satisfaction are clearly top of the agenda and they are quick to deal with any request or query voiced. There was a sense of belonging, many of the guests got talking to each other, and often there were shared games and conversations in the pool- with couples, children, families and varied ages all intermixing and enjoying each others company. It is lovely that our children had others to play with and that the other adults, as well as the hotel staff, were so inclusive of youngsters- without hotels like this it would be impossible for parents of young children to enjoy such a stress free environment during the Summer holidays ( and the kids welcomed the alternative companionship). It seems to be a standard, on the island, that pretty much most of the hotels and pool bars will welcome outside visitors to their pool facilities, as long as refreshments are purchased on site... personally we found this benefical as it gave our kids new playmates and therefore they were less likely to be bored and argue with each other (as invariably siblings will do eventually and therefore annoy other guests). Also we were able to talk to people staying at other accomodation-which only strengthened my opinion that this hotel, and the way it is run, truly is a jewel. We will definitely be back as, I'm sure, will many others ( in fact I understand many are already re-booked for next year)!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancescaMetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having just returned from two wonderful weeks at the Aeolos Beach Hotel this August, I would agree with Elizabeth B’s comments on how hard Angela and Chris work to offer their guests the complete package when it comes to a summer vacation. It’s precisely for this reason that we find our self’s totally incensed at the remainder of her report. Having been at the Hotel during that same period with our 7 year old son, we find it to be at best misleading and at worst totally unfair and inaccurate.

We would like to give an accurate account of what individuals with reasonable expectations can expect from this magnificent location. The booking for this Holiday is via Thompsons Holidays and that being the case any requests that an individual may have of a reasonable nature or otherwise should be made to your travel agent or travel operator. I would not expect to be able to ring or email the accommodation directly with a list of demands relating to where my room should be located and how soft my pillows should be. After all, the Holiday companies are paid to provide you with the appropriate package, leaving Angela and Chis to take care of you whilst you relax by the pool and not be occupied replying to hundreds of emails.

The Hotel and it’s Pool caters for families with children. During the school holidays you would be sensible to expect children in such a location. There are couples only residences available in Skala for those who find children offensive. The children at the Pool during that period (including my son) played reservedly and were closely supervised. The music by the pool is not loud, and barely audible if you located yourself at the furthest end of the Pool. This gave residents the option to either listen to the background music or not. The rooms have air conditioning and safes. The air conditioning is certainly required at times, the safes less so as it is not the sort of place you would expect anything to go missing.

I do however have a warning. If you have difficulties with, rooms on the ground floor, pillows that aren’t soft enough, children splashing or indeed just children, large or small inflatables, Badminton, music, security issues, the heat and topless bathers, I suggest looking elsewhere for your summer vacation. You will certainly find peace and quiet wherever that may be, as you will be the only ones there!!!

We think 182 out of 188 reviews on this site rating this accommodation as Excellent or very good speaks for itself.

Room Tip: Speak to your Holiday Company
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie1StAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just read Elizabeth B's review and felt very remiss at only just getting round to doing mine. We were there in August and had a really great holiday, I'm sorry she obviously had some problems. Management and staff work incredibly hard and can't do enough for you. The pool was spotless as was everywhere in the grounds and rooms. We found the music unobtrusive and just pleasantly in the background. We had checked the hotel on line and already requested a higher room with a sea view (via Thompsons)so had no complaint with that. I also love swimming and alternated between a stroll down to the sea and in the pool. Again we were lucky and there was always plenty of room. Quite often I was the only one in! When the children were playing they weren't a problem and the parents kept an eye on them to ensure no upset was caused to other guests. We ate out most nights but had a snack (and cocktail) most dinner times. The meals were fresh, tasty, and large! Their salads are huge and we often shared a sandwich or wrap because one each was just too much. I watched in fascination as Angela forced enough chicken to feed 4 people into one wrap! Sunbathing almost naked, this is a difficult one, personally the sight doesn't bother me but if you are offended by this a hot country is probably somewhere you'll be hard pressed to avoid it. All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you Angela and Chris.

Room Tip: If it is available 205 (middle floor) has lovely views and is in a good position. Anything higher ob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just returned from a two week stay at the Aeolos, our 2nd visit to this excellent hotel and 7th time in Skala. We simply had a wonderful time as we did last year. Chris, Angela, Michael and the rest of the staff work so hard, and we have never stayed in a cleaner place, with all the staff so friendly and polite,they really can't do enough for you. We can't fault the hotel at all, Michael behind the bar is a star and I would recommend the BBQ night on the Saturdays, the one we went to was the best night we had and you tell Chris, Angela and Michael enjoyed it too. I am sorry to see that some reviews have been critical, but that was not our experience at all. I would not hesitate to recommend the Aeolos, and we will be returning soon, can't wait. Thanks to all the staff again for such a marvelous holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was our second visit to the Aeolos Beach Hotel in Skala and Chris and Angela made us so welcome again.
The hotel is just what we wanted; a relaxing atmosphere and the size where it is never crowded by the pool area even when the hotel is full.
Chris and Angela work so hard throughout the day to ensure there was everything we needed and Michael is still running the bar during the evening to serve up those lovely cocktails.
We revisited so many lovely restaurants in the town which are great value and all serve wonderful food.
We will be definitely going back to the Aeolos Beach Hotel sometime soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have visited this lovely little hotel 5 times now with our family, our friends and on our own as a couple. Chris and Angela are wonderful hosts who simply cannot do enough for you. This year there were 13 of us in our group (several whom we met at the hotel a few years ago) and on a couple of occasions, by request, Chris prepared our evening meals by the pool - never too much trouble. The food and cocktails are excellent and very reasonably priced. The hotel is around 20 minutes walk from Skala town but it is a lovely walk along the beach front. On a few occasions we took a cab back to the hotel for just 5 euros. Each time we return there are people from previous years - this little gem of a hotel is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wjg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.5 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#6 of 23 in Skala
441 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
346 reviews
29.1 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
520 reviews
1.5 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#11 of 23 in Skala
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aeolos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aeolos Beach Hotel

Address: Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Skala
#2 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Aeolos Beach Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing