We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Greco Island Grill - CLOSED

El Greco Island Grill
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek, Grill
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Skala, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simply Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Spent New Years Eve at EL Greco, wow, the food was amazing. From the Meze to the Glyko everything was truly superb. I am not a lover of Greek dishes but I have to say everything was superb. The service was attentive and friendly and thats what I love. Nothing was too much trouble and you were made to feel you were important. I cannot speak to highly of the staff and service, it was truly a great experience. Thank you to everyone.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Twiggyjame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    17
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, California, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We went to a New Year's Eve party at this restaurant and had so much fun! Honestly, we went to see Hollis perform, as he is our favorite performer on the island. We did not expect the meal to be so exceptional!

The beef was so tender you did not need a knife. The cabbage and baby brussel sprouts were so delicious as were the roasted potatoes and Yorkshire pudding! The cake was also delicious! All in all the meal was absolutely fantastic.

The service was top notch and the owners were so friendly and accommodating. This is definitely a restaurant that will be on our "FAVORITES" list! Don't miss it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Simple but tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We sought refuge in El Greco at the end of the season on Skala when little was open. The owner was very friendly, and the food was good. Unfortunately, as it was the end of the season lots of things were off the menu, but what we had was tasty. We didn't have to wait an hour for our food (we went twice) like a previous reviewer but it was obvious that only the owner and one other chap were running the show, and service was slightly slow. Definitely worth a stop if you're in Skala next season though!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jfilsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best coffee!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Fantastic coffee, friendly staff and baklava to die for. Only really had time for lunch but went back most days as was so good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gartmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great mid season, SLOW late season”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We've eaten here several times over the time it's been open and never been disappointed until this last time in October. We waited over an hr from order to food arriving at our table at a time when there were only two other couples in the restaurant. We could see two staff in the kitchen, one in the bar area and our waiter so no clue as to why things were so slow. The food, when it did come was up to standard, but please, if you're reading this 'Mr El Greco', don't let your service spoil an otherwise great venue.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottishMissionary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Greco Island Grill also viewed

 
Skala, Cephalonia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing