We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveler rating
96
127
63
26
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
96
127
63
26
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle bus pool bar pebble beaches across the road air con sea view english food free safety deposit box decent shower bed and breakfast main bar on an all inclusive basis kettle and cups nearest shop small coves traditional greek great pool area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 321 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here in July lovely hotel staff were really friendly enjoyed it so much we have just booked to go back in 2019. Can't recommend enough you must go and see for yourself. Scala is a beautiful part of the island and a nice resort for bars and restaurants

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank M1717JUchrisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2018 via mobile

Not long back from a 14 night stay in Kefalonia. We stayed at the Porto skala hotel and village on a bed and breakfast basis. You are an approx 40 minute walk into skala town itself which has plenty to offer. There are also a couple of great tavernas approx 15 minutes walk from the hotel called ‘old times’ and ‘nautilus’ both are excellent. The hotel also runs free shuttle buses at certain time of the day although these stop early evening but taxis are plentiful and only 5 Euro. The hotel itself and staff are great. The pool bar does great snacks at a decent price and the breakfast provided is varied and 1st class. We had a sea view room which was spot on. There is also a small stony beach just across the road which is great for swimming and snorkelling.Transfers from the airport were approx 1hr 40 minutes including other drop offs but only 1hr on the way back. As with anywhere on Kefalonia if you want to see the island you will need to hire a car. I honestly thought this was great accommodation with for the price we paid with Jet 2 and we have booked the same accommodation and dates for next year. Ps we loved sitting on the balcony watching the goats cutting about

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank 168davier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Porto Skala Hotel & Village,for 7 nights on Half Board bases, in late September, towards the end of their Summer season. The weather was fantastic.
Our taxi took an hour to reach the hotel from the airport and as previous contributors have already mentioned, there are many steps to negotiate around this property.
All the staff that we met were very polite, friendly and helpful.
Our room, must have been one of the best at the hotel with two balconies, full sea view toilet and shower, (limited stowage space in bathroom), medium size bed room with refrigerator, kettle but, no tea or coffee and a very powerful air conditioning unit.
We found, there wasn’t a great deal to do around the hotel, it is definitely a resort to just chill out and take it easy around the pool, bring a book with you and settle down for the afternoon with a glass of something cold.
The nearest supermarket was about 20 minutes walk from the hotel, down the hill heading towards the town of Skala. Skala took us about 50 minutes to walk. There are plenty of restaurants, bars, gift shops, in the town. The hotel also runs 5 daily return trips to the town.
If I had to be picky about this hotel, it would have to be the catering especially as we were here on Half Board. The food was varied, good quality and choice was excellent and it was obvious that the catering staff went to a great deal of effort to ensure that the meals looked good. However, what let them down was the antiquated equipment they used to keep the food hot. Lamps dangling over the display table and only the food directly under the lamps kept hot. At best, most of our evening meals where the food should be ‘hot’, was tepid and at it’s worse, cold. It was frustrating for us and such a shame. Management need to invest in a better Hot Buffet Food Station.
WiFi was also very slow and intermittent at times, but we lived with it.
Despite these two negative comments, we didn’t go hungry and still managed to keep in touch with the outside world.
Overall, we did have a nice relaxing time, and I would come back again.

Check in at 1 pm
Check out at 11 am

Early Breakfast ( pre booked day before by 20.00 ) 06.00 - 08.00
Breakfast 08.00 - 11.00
Lunch 12.30 - 14.30
Dinner 19.00 - 21.00

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank flyingdelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

just spent a week here, end of September to early October, as a matter of fact we were the last guests as the place went on shut-down as we left. accommodation is pretty basic, you have to walk and climb stairs between the different areas of the hotel, the rooms are spacious but the beds basic and the bath small. the pool is great but only for the right weather, breakfast is fine and the bar basic. so why 4/5? first of all the staff is great, friendly, speaking English, nice and always happy to help and especially Marijanna who was extremely helpful even before we arrived and during the whole stay. the hotel is located in the southern part of Kefalonia, some 50 m drive from Argostoli and the airport, you will need a care to go around this beautiful island and visit the different beaches. we will be back.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hannoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

The bad points for those who are thinking of coming here... quite a lot of stairs worth taking into account if you're less mobile.
The good points... very friendly. Lovely large pool with child pool alongside. Plenty of loungers and umbrellas. Friendly poolside bar staff with basic but good food available... chef salade 3 euros big enough for two people. Toasties.. Greek salade.. crisps etc. Evening meal 15 euros. We found a good selection of freshly cooked food. Not a chip or burger in sight.. just what you want in a Greek hotel. Breakfast is also buffet with fresh bread, delicious jams, fresh fruit, Greek yoghurt, honey, scrambled boiled or fried eggs, Greek sausages, Greek bacon, baked beans, ham, cheese, tomatoes, cucumber and if you don't fancy any of that there's cerial or an amazing selection of cakes and biscuts. We were in room 306. It's overlooking the pool. Just one set of stairs to reach it. It's got a comfy firm king size bed, four pillows, fridge, air con, safe, walk in shower and a good size balcony where you can sit and watch the sun rise over the ocean or see the pool. We felt the walk into town to far in the heat but we used the free bus(which sensibly you need to book so at least it doesn't get overcrowded) and a five euro taxi back. The little cove is brilliant for snorkeling, I've added some of my photos, plenty of fish. Goats are regular visitors around the hotel boundary. Would totally recommend this hotel. It's clean, well priced and the staff were always friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank mina2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews