We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another great holiday at Paspalis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paspalis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paspalis Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“another great holiday at Paspalis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We've stayed at Paspalis many times over many years. The location is excellent, sit down for breakfast and look over the sea and contemplate another relaxing day. Ideally located on the beach and only a 10 min walk to the village centre. The Taverna is very popular with both greeks and tourists alike which gives it a lovely feel. What makes Paspalis stand out though are the stakk, Owners Nicos and Sia, Anna on reception and Chrissa, Ria and Panos who work so hard all day and stay smiling and happy to help at all times. They truly make our holiday. See you all again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fynalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    106
    25
    9
    0
See reviews for
66
243
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
greater manachester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

we recently returned from a wonderful experience at the paspalis hotel.the hotel was very welcoming and spotless clean. a wonderful room with all facilities. all the staff were friendly
and nothing was too much trouble for them. the setting is perfect with superb pool and
bar/restaurant.
we have booked already for next year and are really looking forward to it.

the two anns.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms with sunny balcony or terrace are ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Stanton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Have recently returned from a 2 week stay at the Paspalis and thoroughly enjoyed it.

We arrived mid afternoon (flights on time with Thomson) and were shown straight to our room.

Initially I was a little disappointed as we were allocated to a ground floor room with very little natural light, however as you only tend to sleep in the room at night anyway it didn't really matter. The room was very spacious and the bathroom was large, contrary to other reviews who said that their bathroom was very small. I agree that the mattresses were very hard and my husband in particular struggled to sleep and this is one of the very small reasons I have not scored the hotel a 5.

The food at the hotel was extremely good and always very busy, a lot of locals also choosing to eat there which is always a good sign. The breakfast wasn't really up to much but you could pay extra for a full english (4 euro), bacon and eggs (2.5 euro) etc. so very reasonable.

The staff were fantastic especially Chrissa and Ria who worked tirelessly during the day and night.

Didn't have to worry about cleanliness, everywhere was spotless. The rooms were cleaned every day and linens and towels changed 3 times over the 2 weeks.

We paid for the air-con which was a must with temperatures hitting 40 degrees and it was reasonable at 30 euros a week. You had to also pay for the safe (8 euros a week) but it was very small, just big enough to fit your travel docs and money in.

We only went to the beach for 2 days as it was really pebbly and hurt your feet getting in and out of the water. You could tell who were repeat visitors as they took beach shoes and I would certainly recommend if you prefer lying on the beach.

The pool area was nice and it made a refreshing change not to have to put your towels on the sun-beds to reserve them.

Had some great food in and around the resort, our particular favourites being Avra (at the 9 muses), Galera, Gourgouris Grill, Paspalis and Siroco.

We booked to go on the Discover Kefalonia tour with Thomson which was okay. You got a really good overview of the island, visiting Assos, Fiscardo, Melissani lake and Droghatti Caves but nearly 2 hours at the beginning of the trip was spent picking up other people from hotels. In hindsight we wished we pre-booked a hire car and done it ourselves. It was still a good day though.

Overall we had a great holiday and we would certainly recommend the Paspalis and maybe return one day in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

2nd time here and again it didn't disappoint. Lovely hotel, great location and spotlessly clean with great staff, especially Anna in reception and Chrissa and Ria in restaurant.
I would strongly disagree with a previous review regarding the pool area being like a Butlins holiday camp. After all, if you go away at the height of the season in July/August to a family hotel, you should expect to see children in the pool, having fun. Might I suggest that next time this couple book a couples only hotel, there's one up the road!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

This was the 4th time we have stayed at the Paspalis and it did not disappoint. Most staff very friendly and everywhere spotlessly clean. Would thoroughly recommend. The only down side was that initially we didn't get the room we had emailed in advance and requested although we moved to it half way through the holiday. Also the beds are quite hard in some of the rooms. Despite these small issues we had a lovely holiday. Would disagree with previous reviewer about Butlins comment - there were a large number of children there, well supervised and having fun - but none of the holiday camp feel you get at some hotels.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank loulots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just returned from Paspalis Skala, had a great time, lovely clean hotel and friendly staff,good food, plenty to do in Skala, this was our second year, and we will go again.
Nikos, has managed to keep the prices down, so all is affordable.
All in all, top marks for Paspalis and the staff, and management.

Room Tip: Anywhere but not around the back by carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stay at the Paspalis every year. Just love it. Our first time was back in 2006, and we will be there again in 2013. The food is excellent and the staff exceptional. We tend to use the beach more than the pool area because of the lovely breeze coming up from the sea. At the time we go its generally couples or families with small children. This year we were there when some of the guests decided to make the pool area like a Butlins Holiday Camp. For anyone there for the first time this was a very poor impression of what the Paspallis is generally like. Hasn't put us off though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
2.1 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
0.4 mi away
9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#10 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
15.7 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paspalis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paspalis Hotel

Property: Paspalis Hotel
Address: Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Skala
#11 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Paspalis Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Paspalis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paspalis Hotel Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing