We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else”
Review of Paspalis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paspalis Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2011

we've been holidaying in Scala for 15 years now. In that time there have certainly been more 'posh' hotels built, which may have been more suited to some of the previous reviewers on here, however if you want traditional greek food and hospitality , great views and location then Paspalis can't be beaten. We're back again next year and really looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Fynalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 441 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2011

Just returned from a two week stay at this lovely hotel. I am quite surprised to see a negative review just left on the 21st of this month. I urge ALL of you to disregard this ridiculous review........ this one is so much more accurate..
The Paspalis is lovely, the staff very friendly, and nothing was too much trouble, the owner Nico went out of his way to make sure our stay was a good one. The room was immaculate in every way and regularly cleaned, with a regular change of towels too.
The breakfast is Continental and whilst I agree, it may not be to everyones choice, and English alternative was also available at a very very reasonable price. The pool was lovely with PLENTY of sunbeds, we NEVER experienced any problems in getting two for ourselves.I can recommend this lovely hotel 100%. Our stay was from 11th September to the 25th September, Thankyou Nico! Great Hotel, on a great location. I am happy to answer any questions via e-mail.... jg9007@hotmail.co.uk

Room Tip: Ours was 22........ lovely, overlooking the pool/sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jg9007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

As a repeat visitor to Scala of 18 years I was absolutely astonished to read one of the reviews below. I have stayed in various accomodations around the village of variouse standards, Paspalis is definately one of my favourites. It is spotless in cleanliness, the staff have a can do attitude and will always go the extra mile for any guest. The Sun beds are availble free to guests, they are not rammed together and they all have ample shade via an unbrella or a beautiful palm tree.
The Continental (eat as much as you like) breakfast is by far one of the best in the village (included in your package) and is served in the resturant that over looks the sea.
If you lead a busy life and crave peace, tranquilty and great customer service then this Hotel is for you.

Room Tip: All good, high floors the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We have just come back from the Paspalis Hotel. We found the food excellant, Accomodation Excellant, And the staff very friendly. Food wise it was typical Greek cuisine and cooked to perfection..I see theres a few negative reviews on this site, But their probably the type of people who would complain if they found somebodys wage packet then moan about how much tax that person paid that week. All in all it was the perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I have read many of the reviews on this hotel and would like to add the following comments. In short its no more than a simple apartment setup with the added benefit of a very poor breakfast choice. There are no options for people with special food requirements, you couldnt even get a glass of water without paying extra for this. The food was of the cheapest they could get cereal cheese and meat all well below standard. Yes I agree if you wanted a little some thing different like fruit or egg on toast it was available at a charge.I thought Paspalis was a HOTEL this is not the case.
As for the rooms again very basic and simple aircon at extra cost. We had temperature well into 35degs, come on Paspalis surely this is a must. The beds were very hard we only had bedding change three times in two weeks of staying. Due to the heat we showered twice a day that worked out that our towels were used ten times before they was changed. This is not the service a hotel provides.
We could only find two areas of shade but you had to be at the pool side by 7.30 to lay clame to these. Be warned to take your own towels to the pool because no towels are provided, we had to buy some from the town. Again I thought the Paspalis was a HOTEL clearly I was mistaken. Ive never been to a hotel that dosnt provide pool side towels.
In short if you are on a budget you would be better off self catering, if not spend that few extra pounds on what you would pay as extras at the Paspalis and go to a real hotel.
On the plus side a good location evening meals reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Awins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed in the Paspalis Oct 2010 it was a nice little no frills Greek accommodation. The time of year wasn't a great choice so the hotel closed down around us , food onsite was good standard but expensive. Kefalonia is a lovely island and the hotel is in a great spot on the beach October however isn't a good time of year to travel to Kefalonia. I would reccomend this hotel its only a budget base but o.k. its around 10 min walk uphill to the centre. If I went back to Kefalonia I would choose a little more luxury.

Room Tip: Request sea view rooms at the back block they have fantastic views and are a little more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ukdwe2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed here in July 2010 for a weeks' break.
The hotel is in a fantastic location - the beach is across the road and the main high street with shops bars and restuarants etc are a few minutes walk away.
There are some fantastic restuarants up the road from the hotel - Pika restuarant and Symposium are well worth eating in - good value, excellent food and lovely staff.
The hotel restuarant also does lovely food and the staff can't do enough for you.
The pool area is lovely to relax around and the private beach is nice too - pebbly beach but beware you have to pay if you want a sun bed on the beach.
The rooms are very spacious and well cleaned however the bed was extremely hard! we had a room near front of hotel and also got woken up on a couple of occasions by the entertainment so ask for a room near the back as these maybe quieter. - these however where the only negative points.
The island tour trip was fantastic - we did this trip with thomas cook and basically did a whole tour of the island with lots of stops and excursions in one day.
lovely hotel to stay in and Skala is a lovely resort to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near back of complex - entertainment can be loud these would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Sam_and_Sammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
2.1 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
15.7 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
46 reviews
1.9 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#11 of 23 in Skala
244 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mounda Beach Hotel
Mounda Beach Hotel
#17 of 23 in Skala
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paspalis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paspalis Hotel

Address: Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Skala
#11 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range: $51 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Paspalis Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Paspalis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paspalis Hotel Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing