We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous holiday”
Review of San Giorgio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
San Giorgio
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our hotel was San Giorgio just outside the resort of Skala, it had 3 pools, a restaurant, a bar, a shop and a cafe. The hotel room was fantastic with a balcony with views across the Ionion sea, the shower was powerful and the king size bed was comfortable, the air conditioning was very effective! Sometimes I would wake up shivering!
We were on bed and breakfast board. The breakfast was good, not really what I am used to, it was more a continental breakfast, everyday they would have cereals, yoghurt, honey, fruit, toast, ham and cheese, then one hot item either scrambled eggs, boiled eggs or sausage and beans, they also had croissant some days or a honey sponge cake which was delicious. I do usually like a cooked breakfast whilst I'm on holiday but it was so hot I don't think I would've managed it and there enough of a selection to keep me happy. We ate at the cafe for our lunch a few times and was very impressed, the food was lovely we had chicken souvlaki on pittas, salad from the salad bar this was a self service and we were given a tub to fill up, we shared one and it was plenty and sandwiches, huge baguettes which were really enough to share, food and the drinks were very resonably priced. We went to the restaurant twice it was really lovely and the food was as good as any you would find in the resort, on the first day I had Bekre Meze I think it was called it was delicious it was like a stew made with beef I think it was and garlic and red wine it had pieces of feta and another Greek cheese which I can't remember the name of melted into it, my husband had pork souvlaki which was lovely too. The second time we went I had another traditional Greek dish, Lamb Kleftiko which lamb, potatoes, veg, herbs and feta cheese cooked in a parcel my husband had Beef Stifado which is a tomato based stew with shallots again both delicious. The meals cost about 23€ with drinks each time! We got bread the first night 4 big slices which was lovely and it came with garlic butter when we looked on our bill the bread was only 1€! It's also a lovely location you can sit on the balcony to three sides, either looking out to the sea, looking towards skala beach or to the hotel pool. The hotel was immaculate inside and out the gardens were beautiful and pools were lovely and good sizes. There were beautiful little coves and beaches just a sort walk from the hotel and also a few restaurants within walking distance I can recommend 'Old Times' a lovely family restaurant nearby. There is a free shuttle service to Skala that you could book on but it stops at 9pm and there weren't many shuttles in the afternoon. One afternoon we walked it once it took about 40 mins, hard work in the heat of the sun. There are also taxis from skala that cost 5€ we quite often took the shuttle bus down to town then got the taxi back. ! There were several themed nights a fun Karaoke on one night and on some nights there was a singer, singing well known mainstream songs earlier on then later, more traditional Greek songs and eventually ending the night with getting everyone up dancing, one of the hotel staff also did some very impressive belly dancing. On the Saturday, our last night there were lanterns in the pool and fireworks and even I succumbed to the dancing but it didn't half go on I was shattered by the end! The clientele of the hotel is British people but from all over UK I heard a lot of different accents and a lot were people who had been before.
The only downsides I would say is the wifi was very weak and hit and miss, I know you don't go on your holidays to use the internet but on this occasion we needed to transfer money and we couldn't because of the wifi. Also I decided not to take my hair dryer because of recent electrical restrictions on the plane but I wished I had brought it because the one in the hotel was so weak.
All in all the hotel far exceeded our expectations and we had a lovely stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Abigail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014

Had a lovely stay at San Giorgio hotel, although 40 minutes away from the centre of Skala town, this wasn't a problem, you can book the hotels free bus service which can take you directly into town and back! Rooms are scattered on the hillside so walking up and down steep hills to get to your rooms can be tiring on the hot days, but again they offer an internal bus service which can drive you to your rooms. Would definitely recommend the Discover Kefalonia Thomson Excursion, cheaper than the Premiere Discover Kefalonia Excursion but better as you can choose where you want to eat in Fiskardo and can opt out of Mellasani Lake and Drogrogati Caves if you don't wish to see them/ have seen them before. Mellasani Lake and Drogrogati Caves entrance fees came to $10 altogether. A full day tour but well worth the views and you basically see all of Kefalonias island! Skala beach is beautiful, quite secluded and peaceful with clear waters and plenty of coves on the way down to Skala town, perfect for snorkelling! Only downside to San Giorgio is the hills you walk up, but all in all a beautiful hotel with extremely helpful and friendly staff!

Room Tip: Try and request for a lower down room as this hotel is based on a hillside. As it gets quite hot thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LW212014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

San Giorgio Hotel is located on the outskirts of Skala, it is efficiently and effectively managed by its experienced and able staff. With three magnificently maintained pools that you can really swim in, excellent restaurant and bar you could be forgiven for not wanting to venture away from site, but that would be a pity as Skala is such a gorgeous town, with friendly towns people, local children playing happily together in the square in the evening, inviting shops and stretches of crystal clear water to be enjoyed as well rocky coves for snorkelling. The Hotel provides a friendly shuttle bus service to and from the town and reception staff are always helpful should you have any queries. The hotel is located on a hillside and some of the rooms can be very high up so be prepared, but I regarded this as a positive when considering the gorgeous greek meals served at the restaurant and pool bar. Each of the rooms has air conditioning, they are basic but spacious and carefully cleaned every day. I say, give it a go, both in terms of the island and this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Request a lower room if you have reduced mobility
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I cannot understand these crazy people below - I would advise to ignore!!!

Our second visit this month was just as great as our first visit. Amazing hotel, great staff, wonderful food, clean pools, great maid service- the list could go on.

And for the people moaning about karaoke - lighten up you are on holiday!!!!!

Can't wait to visit again in 2015

Xxx

Stayed: July 2014
8  Thank Sunshine203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Just came back from a holiday in Scala. We stayed at San Giorgio. Our first impressions were that it looked a nice place. But from the minute we got to our apartment it went downhill it was room 201 the room is badly in need of a lot of redecoration the toilet window had bits missing and had mould where the part was missing,the water flowed through the shower door when you had a shower. The breakfast was adequate at most. We had a meal at night and it was okay and reasonably priced. The noise at night when the entertainment was on was very loud and went on till around 12. Okay if you want to stay up that late but if you wanted an early night forget it. The swimming pools were nice and clean and not over crowded. All in all not I place I would recommend and I certainly would not return there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greekheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Many good things about this hotel... large rooms, large bed, powerful shower over a bath. 3 good swimming pools and ample sunbeds. Staff pleasant.
We asked for a quiet room and consequently were put at the top of a long very steep hill. This suited us well but might not be to every ones liking.
The main downside was that this seems to be a hotel trying to cater entirely to a stereotypical notion of what Brits want. The background music was the worst of Brit pop, the entertainment was live music ... a greek singer singing british and american pop not very well, karaoke, quiz night....almost nothing greek in any of it. If it wasn't for the fantastic weather and incredibly beautiful views and surroundings you could imagine you were still in old Blighty. Likewise breakfasts were dominated by toast, boiled eggs, beans and extremely oily scrambled eggs...with some tinned mixed fruit also on offer. There was also delicious water melon but that was the only fresh fruit and it was served up every day. Coffee was rather bland. On the other hand the evening
meals did offer better quality food and some traditional greek dishes but with a variety of great local tavernas in the surrounding area it was a waste to eat in the mediocre dining room.
Overall, we had a lovely stay in beautiful kephalonia despite our reservations about this hotel. If you want a british experience abroad choose san giorgio.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms are up a very steep hill. Close to the pool would be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BucksLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Everyone says they keep returning to this hotel im bewilderd as to why . This is our first hotel in Greece as we normally do villas /apartments, we do all inclusive in Egypt and thought after 20 years doing other accomadation we would try a hotel. Im afraid it wasnt for us. WHY? well we had a room near the pool bar which had 'entertainment' most night going on till the early hours , we didnt mind the Karoke as it was fun to sit on our balconly and have a laugh! We were bed and breakfast but as i have dietry requirements ( which the hotel knew about and frankly offered me fruit and soya milk) we gave it a miss and had brunch out. We had one meal in the restaurant, it was not worth 44.00 euro as we had 2 prawns in our prawn starter one of which had been diced up with the shell on. The place is clean I cant deny that, i just wished they would sweep before mopping as you could gaurantee the hair that was on the bathroom floor will be in the bedroom by afternoon and if you was lucky on your balconly! ( I know its Greece). I felt that the room we was in felt in need of a refurb really. The ones at the top seem newer and had great views. its a long slog up there though as is the trek down to the town. did it once after that we had a jeep from perfanis in town who was very reasonably priced. The pool area was clean, not used to stepping over bodies to get to a bed but there was always a bed availble somewhere we didnt spend much time here really just at evening times after our meal, but even this proved silly, as when we requested a couple of wine glasses to have a bottle of wine on our balcony, the bar refused as we had half pint tumblers in our room it took a trip to reception to get them brought up!! Quick tip take a travel kettel as you dont have tea coffee facilities in the room. Its our second trip to kefalonia first time in skala its ok but we prefer sami. we didnt appreciate its beauty on our first trip. Overall, everyone is different the hotel wasnt for us, you might like it

Room Tip: try booking on eof the rooms up high stay away from the ones near pool and pool bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skala hotels
1.2 mi away
Regina Dell Acqua Resort
0.6 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#11 of 23 in Skala
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
1.5 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#5 of 23 in Skala
442 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Giorgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Giorgio

Address: Porou Skalas, Skala 280 82, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Skala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Hotel Class:3 star — San Giorgio 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Giorgio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giorgio Hotel Skala
San Giorgio Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing