We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic chilled out week in the sun”
Review of San Giorgio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
San Giorgio
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a great week’s stay at the San Giorgio hotel in early June. It's a really lovely hotel with fantastic views, great food, friendly staff and lots of space – there’s three pools plus a children’s pool, and loads of sunbeds – finding somewhere to sit was never a problem and one afternoon we had the entire main pool to ourselves! There is also a tennis court plus table tennis and a games room, a book library in the reception area and evening entertainment several nights a week (Greek night, Jazz night, quiz night, karaoke, etc.).

We had emailed Reception in advance to ask for a room on one of the lower levels and were given room 207 near the pool by reception, the bar area and mini market. This was perfect as it was only a few small flights of steps down and then up to our room, and our balcony was always in the sun and despite not directly facing the sea we still had a sea view. I took a walk up to some of the higher rooms one day and whilst these seem bigger and with great views the huge amount of steps were a bit of a challenge in the heat of the sun, so we were very happy where we were!

We spent most of the week chilling out at the hotel with a few trips via the shuttle bus (which runs several times a day and in the evening) into Skala, which is a lovely resort with lots of bars, restaurants, shops and a huge beach. We booked our round the island trip via Panem (located half way up the main street on the right hand side) and were really impressed – the tour was much cheaper than with Thomsons and the rep was fantastic, a fountain of knowledge who made the day really interesting and enjoyable. Highlights were the wine factory, Melassini Lake and Drogarati Caves, Fiskardo, Assos and the view of Myrtos Beach. The coach driver was also exceptional and handled all the winding roads very well – rather him than me!

Breakfast at the hotel was spent sitting outside on one of the small balcony areas, and whilst there wasn’t a huge range of cooked breakfast items I thought the choice was still good. The wonderful Greek yoghurt with fruit and honey became a daily occurrence for me and there was also cereals, toast, rolls, pastries, ham and cheese and either sausage and beans or scrambled eggs each day, plus tea, coffee and fruit juices. We also enjoyed several nice lunches at the snack bar (omelettes, sandwiches, salads, burgers, etc.) which was very friendly and efficient. Having placed your order and then going to the bar for a drink, your order was usually ready as you returned to your table. The mini market was perfect for mid-afternoon icecreams and the bottled water was also very reasonably priced.

Happy Hour twice a day was good for cocktails and the wine and beer were really cheap. We ate at the hotel restaurant three times for dinner and always really enjoyed our meal. The waiters, restaurant manager and Christina who also worked at breakfast time were all really friendly. Other hotels we’d recommend are Old Times (the best meals of our trip) and Nautilus (really cool setting in a boat and great fish and seafood) which are both a 20 minute walk from the hotel on the way into Skala, and the Mikelatos Family restaurant and El Greco in Skala itself, plus Captain’s Bar for a fab range of cocktails.

To sum up, this was a wonderfully relaxed week in the sun, in a lovely, spacious hotel with stunning views. It was also excellent value for money, and I wouldn’t hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Email the hotel before you travel if you have a specific room request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 21Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

835 - 841 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful holiday on the sun drenched idyllic isle of kefalonia, the San Giorgio was recommended by a colleague who has also recently booked a return stay, the staff are brilliant can't do enough for you. The food on site is good with a smashing snack bar by one of the three pools. A walk into Scala of an evening can be hard work in the heat it takes about 40-45 minutes but the hotel shuttle bus goes out a couple of times in the evening, a taxi back is a set rate of 5E. Cannot praise it enough the Thomson rep Sarah was smashing always cheerful and very helpful. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: Ask for an elevated seaview but beware the elevation can be quite a trek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel is a LONG transfer - just a warning. The hotel itself has a beautiful view, it's in amazing surroundings and you can even see the mainland Greece - beautiful. We were put in a room that was quite a climb, in the heat it was too much and we asked to be moved, which we were, on the same day, so thank you to the manager for that.
The room was basic, and clean, but fine for two weeks so no real complaints. If you want a specific kitchen for your needs make sure you ask on booking, otherwise you get a small fridge, which was fine for us. The beds were really uncomfortable, too soft and made for an uncomfortable and broken sleep. The rooms were really spacious though so you don't feel like you are living in a box for two weeks! And plenty of storage.
Breakfast was terrible. We have holidayed in Greece a lot and this breakfast was by far the worst, it was repetitive, I don't feel there was enough choice. Saying that, I felt I could have been okay with this, however it was also the standard of the breakfast. Anything that was meant to be cold (milk, juice) was warm and anything that was meant to be warm (sausage, egg) was cold, so I couldn't enjoy it at all. I ended up buying my own milk (so i could keep it cold) and using the cereal, which was fine for me.
The snack bar is good, although the staff can be less than friendly, although I am putting this down to pressure in the kitchen! The pool area was lovely. Cleaned daily and I never had to lay down towels which is brilliant. It has a beautiful view.
The bus service is great, when we woke up, we rang down for a bus and didn't have trouble getting booked on, which is great. Skala is around a 40 minute walk when it's cool so a little bit too far out really, but the bus service was great for us.
You can book trips on the beach and in the main trips which were half the price of Thomsons and great.

All in all a good holiday, lovely clean hotel, perfect for relaxing on your holidays, although basic with a fairly poor breakfast and only sometimes questionable service.

Room Tip: Ask for your room to be close to the ground - not too high up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the San Giorgio last week of June for two weeks self catering. The room was spacious and clean, but was at the top of the hill, lovely views but hard work in the sun! The hotel grounds were lovely and the pools were clean and mostly quiet, although got busier towards the end of our stay. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was nice although we only ate there once as there are plenty to chose from in skala! the pool bar did good lunches and a wide variety of drinks. reception has free wifi and the bus service was a great added extra.San Giorgio is a way out of skala (30-45mins depending on how fast you can walk in the heat!). We did this walk most days as we enjoyed the views on the way and stopped at an excellent bar on the way/way back called waves! The bar has the best views in skala and does excellent cocktails, definitely recommend it!
We hired a car for 3 days and got an extra free with cbr rentals which cost 135 euros, very nice people! We went to argostoli and got the car ferry to lixouri which was a lovely place, also would recommend assos, bit of a drive but its definitely worth it and you can stop at myrtos beach on the way!
All in all would say kefalonia and the san giorgio are both lovely places to come for a relaxing holiday with great weather and lovely people! (For a very decent price!)

Room Tip: Definitely ask for lower rooms if mobility is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmiB167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a hotel! The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They are always happy to chat and have a laugh with you. The food was excellent, although a bit more variety to the hotel menu would've made it even better. You will be thankful for the walk back up to your room to walk off all the amazing food. You will never be bored of the view either. When we book to go back to Kefalonia we won't have to think twice about staying here again.

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking up a steep hill ask for High room. Lower rooms have less of a view but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom44_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned home from a weeks stay at the San Giorgio in Skala with my wife and young son. We had a fantastic stay at this hotel and the hotel staff were brilliant from start to finish.
We were very pleased with our room as it was spacious and very near the hotel pool and restaurant etc. It does look a very steep climb further up though. It was simply furnished, but had a fridge (very handy) and aircon and was spotlessly clean. The cleaners do a great job and are particularly inventive in their arrangement of the clean towels on the bed (I think they must be moonlighting artists). The heart shaped towel on my sons bed was a favorite although he wiped his ice cream coated face on it within a minute.
The breakfast was good and again the staff at breakfast were very friendly (I think Christina must do 18 hour days!).
The pools and pool areas are very good and well maintained and we spent quite a bit of time there as our son loves to swim. The bar was good and reasonably priced and the Quiz (We won!) and the Greek night with dancing (Which I definitely would not have won if it was marked) were good fun.
Sports lovers will be pleased to know that they showed the Lions match and F1 and Wimbledon etc. both in reception and by the bar on big flat screens. Those who are less keen will be happy to know it was not loud and intrusive though.

It is a 35-40 minute walk into town. Best not to do it during the day with little ones, but it is a nice stroll in the evening. We did that 4-5 times and then took the 5 euro taxi back.

Overall the San Giorgio and the staff there gave us a brilliant holiday, so thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevegrant76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I have always found that you get what you pay for, so I was a little apprehensive as we arrived at the San Giorgio. However, we were very pleasantly surprised. We got what we paid for and a bit more. I had read the reviews about 'cardiac hill' and briefed my boyfriend that we were no doubt destined to find ourselves at the top of said hill and indeed we were! I was therefore not surprised when we were ushered into a mini bus at 12.30 at night (over 2 hours delay thanks to Thomson Airways) outside the hotel reception and prepared myself for the uphill journey. Sadly, one of our fellow passengers had no idea what was happening and was horrified at the gradient we found ourselves facing within seconds of leaving the front of the hotel!
Yes, the room did have an amazing view, but in no way did this make up for the Olympic effort required to get to and from it up that there hill! The room itself was quite big but basic. The bathroom reminded me a bit of a prison cell with its tiny window - a tad depressing! This however, was the no frills room we had paid for and we were more or less happy with it. The fridge was a nice touch. Sadly, ours didn't work and nor did the replacement. It was 38 degrees while we were there and thankfully the aircon saved us!
As others have said, it was a good 40 minute walk into town which we did only the once. It really is quite a trail to and from town. Take it in turns to pay the 5 Euro taxi fare either way!
We decided to hire a car for 3 days to see more of the island. Do get a quote from Greek Stones, we had no complaints about their comprehensive and friendly, not to mention amusing, service. The hotel receptionists will be happy to ring a couple of hire places for you.
I would have hired a car just to get me to and from breakfast to be honest, but we did venture out to Katelios, Argostoli, Myrtos Beach and up to the highest point of the island.
Breakfast in the hotel was a bit of a joke to be honest. There were approximately 20 tables for hundreds of people which equalled much standing around and pouncing on a suddenly vacant table every morning. The selection and quality of food available wasn't really worth the effort. The staff at the hotel were all incredibly friendly and obviously well accustomed to dealing with the Brits. We loved sitting around the bar of an evening and enjoyed some of the entertainment such as the quiz night and the Greek night. The little shop near the bar area was well stocked with water and other drinks so don't think you have to make the mammoth walk into Skala to get your bottled water.
Skala itself was really lovely. Having visited some of the other resorts, we knew we had made the right choice. The beach is outstanding. We walked almost right to the end where it was quiet and there was a lovely taverna for cold drinks. Sunbeds and a brolly were 5 euros for the day - we've paid more on some of the other Greek Islands, so that was ok with us.
There are plenty of restaurants in the resort, particularly on the main street in Skala. The Pines was ok, the Italian was nice but the best was the Scandinavian restaurant about half way up the main street on the left.
There is a lovely little church just off Skala main street, half way up on the right hand side. A nice haven for a quiet moment or light a candle in someone's memory.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel in lovely Skala. Would I return to Kefalonia, yes definitely, but would I stay at this hotel again, no probably not. I'd stay closer to the resort centre and in a slightly more upmarket hotel.

Room Tip: The clue is in the word 'cardiac'!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJBooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skala hotels
0.6 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#11 of 23 in Skala
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
46 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#6 of 23 in Skala
442 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mounda Beach Hotel
Mounda Beach Hotel
#18 of 23 in Skala
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Giorgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Giorgio

Address: Porou Skalas, Skala 280 82, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Skala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Hotel Class:3 star — San Giorgio 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Bookgreece.com so you can book your San Giorgio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giorgio Hotel Skala
San Giorgio Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing