We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best holiday for a long time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of San Giorgio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
San Giorgio
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best holiday for a long time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

brilliant holiday, went there for my friends wedding and found the hotel amazing. The staff and the whole place was one of the nicest that i have found. The restaurant was faultless. Would consider going there defo again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandyG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    344
    102
    14
    6
See reviews for
258
564
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
wakefield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Another super holiday at this hotel where nothing is too much trouble for the staff.
Before we went this time we emailed and asked for a room at the top of the hill (best views) we were given a family room in the new block a little away from the top of the hotel, a long walk from the pool but we had a car so it was no trouble and the balcony was the largest we have ever seen the views were to die for. We love this hotel and where it is, yes its a 30min walk into the centre of Skala but the hotel runs a mini bus in and taxis back on an evening are not much money. This time we discovered the Old Village Restaurant at the top of the main street, the food and the service are superb I think we went 5 times in the week.

Kefalonia its self is a wonderful Island we have visited a number of greek islands but always go back to Kefalonia, there are lots of resorts to vist we love Assos at the top of the island.

This is our third visit and we have not seen it all yet can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: If you have no trouble walking up hills request a room at the top very quiet with super views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louiemiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a lovely stay at this hotel in September. The food was excellent being able to do half board or from the a la carte menu. The restaurant was open till 11.30 at night. Everybody was helpful. The rooms clean and the shop and cafe handy. Minibus to resort was laid on to. Definately return and recommend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed 2-9th september and it has to be said skala is gorgeous! However I thought people were whining when saying how far out the centre it is, but they were right. We are both 19 and healthy but in peak heat there is no way I would walk into town. We walked back a couple of nights it took us about 30-35 minutes and I dont walk slowly. There is a bus that runs regularlly into town though which is great.
Also taxis are only 5euro each way so its not bad.

I would recommend using the water taxis whilst there to get to other costal towns/bays, much cooler and more fun than sitting on a stuff coach!

We did email asking of a high up room but ended up ground floor because they were busy, which is fair enough. We had a terrace but it wasn't very private with people walking past. Also we had to keep the curtains shut all the time or people would be able to see right in our room.

The room was very clean and well equipped. However the beds were really really hard! I would strongly advise taking your own pillow as I got really bad neck ache from how solid theres where.

The staff are lovely and the pool bar is open all day great for drinks. The snack bar serves food at dinner time and is great prices and great food! fab salad bar. We stayed bed and breakfast. The breakfast was the same everyday but it was enough to set you up and the dinning area has beautiful views.

The pool area can not be knocked! Three big pools, beautifully clean, lots of loungers and sea views.. it doesnt get any better.

They have a tennis court where you can hire euipment for 8euros an hour, but do book at reception... and pay later on when its cooler!

We tried a different restaurant every night and were impressed every night apart from the old village, I had read lots of reviews about how good it was, so i was really unipressed! The food was horrible, we had two course each and did not enjoy any of it! The pines is lovely and flamingo!

Bar vito has a great atmosphere and is good for cocktails! You have to go to captins bar! they do the best (and biggest) cocktails ever, with a huge menu. even if you dont like cocktail they do normal drinks to but the atmosphere is fun and lively!

I wish I could go back!!!

Have an amzing holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rebecca f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September 2012. we had room 201 which is at the front of the hotel and not up Cardiac Hill as the rest of the guest referred to it.
The hotel is well managed with 2 beautifully maintained swimming pools, a lovely cool reception area with wifi and affordable pool bar and cafe.
Our room was perfect for us except the lack of kettle facilities. It was cleaned every day and came with a fridge and tv which had 2 news channels.
The hotel is on a hill and we were glad not to be at the top of it as it wouldn't have suited anyone who wasn't quite fit! The hotel has 60% repeat customers most of which are British and over 50.
It is a 45 minute fast walk into town along the beach which is stony but nice to look at.
There is a bus from the hotel it leaves at 6 and 6.15 and picks up at 9 and 9.15pm.
The distance from town was the only downside as you couldn't just wander into town for lunch.
We hired a car for the day for £60 and traveled three quarters of the island. Fiscardo is at the top of the island and is beautiful port and an excellent place to stop for lunch.
We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it for the hospitality and facilities.

Room Tip: choose room 201 its at the bottom of the hill and still has sea view and a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manchesterl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed in September at the San Giorgio apartments. The apartments were beautiful and very clean. Requested an apartment at the top of cardiac hill and wow what a view when you got there. The hill was very steep but the view was worth it. The balcony was large and looked directly over the sea. The staff couldn't do enough for you. Regular bus into town each day although it was good to walk some days. Pools were amazing and everywhere was immaculate. Don't normally go back twice to a location but would here.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet drink on the balcony overlooking the sea choose one at the top of cardiac hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Long way from anywhere unless you hire a car - even getting to a beach was not easy. Breakfast was repetitive and not of a high standard. You would be better off having self catering and getting your own. Local restaurants were great and very welcoming but again, unless you like walking - which we do - it is a good 20 mins walk back to the hotel. The hotel is also up a very steep slope - and the busses stop at the bottom - so you need to be fit just to get back to your room. The bathroom was something else - the shower head was by the side of the window so you had to shut the window before you could shower or else the water would have gone outside! Water came up from the central drain if you had a bath and you had to wear crocs to visit the bathroom after anyone else had used it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PennyPat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.6 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
0.4 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#10 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Platis Gialos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#8 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
21.6 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Giorgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Giorgio

Property: San Giorgio
Address: Porou Skalas, Skala 280 82, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Skala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Hotel Class:3 star — San Giorgio 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Giorgio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giorgio Hotel Skala
San Giorgio Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing