We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, 2nd time round can't wait for the 3rd”
Review of San Giorgio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
San Giorgio
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Went on the 3rd of June for 2 weeks, this was our 2nd time there and still love it, staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble, our room was right at the top but asked to move a bit lower as I couldn't manage the stairs, again very helpful and moved the same day, after we were asked to view a couple of rooms and let them know which one we liked. Rooms are clean with fridge and air con. The pools are amazing. The food was really nice at the restaurant but breakfast was repeatitive and a bit boring.

Room Tip: 243 was right at the top, with lovely views, if you don't mind stairs. 207 is behind the bar an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

965 - 971 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

Returned home last night from our 6th visit to San G. Wonderful relaxing holiday as always. All the hotel staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. The rooms are more than adequate and always kept very clean with a regular change of towels and bedding. The location of the hotel could be a problem if you want to stroll into the town on a regular basis but the courtesy bus runs at fixed times during the day and evening
and taxis are always available at 5 euros. Pools are excellent and there is never a problem with sun beds (no need for an early alarm to put towels out)! The food in the snack bar and the restaurant is excellent value. My daughter and her fiance came out this year to see what all the fuss was about and have booked their wedding for next year so watch out San G as we will be bringing all our friends with us! Special thanks to Desi and Sofia for all their kindness and patience.

Room Tip: If mobility is an issue ask for a low room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linb0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed at San Giorgio for a week while checking out Skala for our wedding, could not praise the hotel staff enough, very well kept communal areas, all 3 pools were lovely and sun beds are of great quality. Some may say its a little steep getting to the apartments but it's fine really as the exercise allows for another Mythos and baklava;-)).

The holiday rep Tessa was great fun and well she stays there so with all the choice she has it says a lot.

Courtesy bus takes you to town and back but if like us you like a walk it's circa 40mins but in the 40 degree heat was a little hot to walk in the day sometimes.

Food is very nice in the resterant and the included breakfast is good enough to keep you going till lunch time.

The shop on site at the hotel is in my opinion poor really as its a self catering hotel there is not much to buy and purchases need to be done about 25-30mins away. Not a major down side but just be aware.

I'd recommend this place to anyone and am planning a return trip next year.

The best resterant we found was the Old Village in Skala town Center, fantastic food lovely staff and nothing was to much trouble hence why we are booking it for our wedding reception.

Well done to all staff and managnent at San Giorgio and many thanks for a lovely break.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a climb up the hill go for an apartment at the top as the view is second to no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chrispope77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have just returned home from a 2 week stay at the San G. It was a fabulous holiday and a much needed relaxing break after the sad loss of my father. Initially we were given a room at the top of a very steep hill which with a dodgy knee was a little a disappointing. However the hotel staff were amazingly accommodating and gave us a lower room which was fabulous. So the bed was hard....so what, its greece and i have stayed at different places on this island and all beds are hard. The food at this hotel is beautiful and if you are tired you don't have to go out, as the restaurant was lovely, as were the friendly waiters. The rooms are immaculately cleaned and there is nothing too much trouble for the cleaners. The pools are clean and there are lots of sun beds, although sadly as usual people put towels on some of them early in the morning which can be a little annoying. The cocktails were lovely......and happy hour was great. I must say in all the years i have travelled to this island or any holiday i have never met such a wonderful rep in the Thomson's rep called Tessa. She was amazing, helpful and friendly and her quiz nights were fab.....only coz we won one :) The trip via Thomsons to Ithaca was sheer delight and i was so glad we went; it was so worth the money. We did do a boat trip with Captain Vangellis in the town of Skala and that was fantastic too and good value for money. The Old Times Restaurant is definitely worth a visit....very good food and friendly staff. We met some amazing people and notably Angie and Rob who made our holiday.....i don't think i have laughed that much in ages. Friends for life. Would i go to the hotel again...Yes i would as long as i had a low room. Beware of the steps there are a lot but the views are worth it. A big thank you to all the staff especially sophia she was lovely. See you soon xxx

Room Tip: Email the hotel and ask for a lower room if you have dodgy joints otherwise revel in the beautiful v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CORNISHGIRLCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I just came back from a week at San Giorgio and we absolutely loved it!!I spent two weeks browsing all possible islands and types of accommodation and realised that it is very hard to find a place with high ratings, close to the beach, with good food and reasonable price.
We booked the last room available - twin with inland view, half board. We didn't expect much and were even a bit scared when during our transfer we saw where some people were being dropped off, far from the world and not to mention town or beach. But we liked the place the moment we saw it. Our room was great size and we could even see the sea from the terrace.
Location wise it is far from Skala where the main beach is but we did not need to go to Skala and the main beach. The nearest access to the sea is 5 mins walk, just accross the road from Porto Scala Hotel down the stairs and cliffs and it is a perfect spot for snorkeling. The best feeling ever swimming around and seeing over 100 fish chilling out around you so close you can almost touch them, fantastic!! 15 minutes walk down the main road is the nearest access to the sea. It is not the best beach in the world, quite rocky but I think the purpose of the beach is to access the beautifully warm crystal clear sea. We called it our beach and no matter where else we went we most liked that spot.
We rented a car through Rob (the Olympic holidays representative) which turned out to be a great thing and a good deal - 3 days + 1 Free for 155 euros, quick and very simple process and well worth the money. We drove all around the island. Very scary mountain roads but beautiful views, amazing. It was not very busy on the roads most cars were rented probably by English people not used to drive on the other side of the road so everyone was driving very slowly.
We were on half board basis, breakfast was good, there was some hot food but we were not interested in that, it gets so hot from early morning that last thing we wanted was a heavy hot breakfast. Diner was great, big portions, very tasty, with good service, you must have a greek salad to share and then one of the greek dishes each as main. We were so glad we booked half board, the easiest thing after a busy day driving around the island is to have a diner at the hotel rather than looking for a place in town. My husband is a chef and he gets a bit fussy with food but he loved everything at San Giorgio.
Evenings are quiet, there is some entertainment but we only went on Friday for the Greek night when they had live music and dancing. I love their music and was really looking forward to dancing Sirtaki.
The must see things on the island are Drogarati Cave, Melissani lake and Myrthos beach all maximum hour drive from Skala. We visited all other bigger towns/villages and realised that Skala is the best place to stay if you want a quiet holiday with a nice beach where you don't have to fight for a space to put your towel. But if you are looking for a place to have fun, go out and party please stay away as Kefalonia does not need ruining the quiet rustic feel it has.

Are we going to come back here? Probably not, but only because there are so many other islands in Greece and the world to explore that there is no need to go to the same place twice. But San Giorgio is truly fantastic and a real local gem, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NikiBelgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Returned yet again and never lets you down. As long as you remember a couple of key things you will enjoy your stay. So many visitors probably do not know this place exists. Yes its a 40 minute minute walk out of Skala but i like that. The fact that your not shoe-horned next to loads of other hotels and slightly away from Skala is nice and its in its own little bubble. There is a free courtesy bus going to and from Skala at different periods of the day and of course you can hire a car to make the journey quick when your not exploring the island on longer trips if you don't fancy the walk. Yes the whole complex is carved into the hillside and rooms higher up do have a lot of steps to some rooms. Of course if you are aware of this and this could be a problem for the less mobile email the hotel and ask for a room lower down, they are very helpful where they can be. You may miss out though by doing this as higher rooms are also treated to stunning views as many rooms on the complex look out toward Zante and Greek mainland. The gardens are immaculately looked after, the complex very tidy, pools very clean, daily room cleans to a high standard and staff very friendly indeed. The restaurant is extremely good and on a par quality wise with Skala restaurants so there is no need to panic food wise if you don't fancy venturing into Skala some evenings. The San Giorgio rose and white wine is very good and at 7.50 and 8.00 euros a bottle very good value. For the beer drinkers a large Lowenbrau at 2.50 euros is a bargain and at a price that has not altered in 4 years. Breakfast is not over fancy but serves its purpose as fuel for the day so no problems here. The coffee is very good! Top tip; take a few slices of bread at breakfast to feed the fish for the snorklers among you at the 2 rocky coves just a couple of minutes walk to the right of the complex. If eating in Skala I would give 1 tip only for newcomers. On our first visit to Skala 4 years ago we cherry picked the top 5 places from trip advisor and used this as a starter for 10 then tried others accordingly. The majority of trip advisor posters aren't wrong in opinions so you can't go too wrong. San Giorgio is a gem and if I can assist anyone with any questions you may have just message me. Happy holidays

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank DevonPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

just returned from 2 glorious weeks in the sun! 42 degrees last few days! hotel is brill, 3 fantastic pools and plenty of sun loungers, food in resturant is very good, bit samey samey at bfast but still enough to choose from and fresh and tasty. we had room 506 which was v high up, a few steps to climb up but more than worth it for the stunning views of the mountains, sea and pool! our room even had a beamed pitched ceiling to wake up to! hotel management and barmen all v friendly and helpful, and our excellent rep tessa lives at hotel which speaks volumes! there is a free shuttle bus that goes in and out of skala at various times everyday, worth booking on a nite as its a good 45 min walk into skala square and we walk fast! nice to do the odd time but not everynite! best place to eat is 'the pines', tasty food and good prices then head to captains bar round the corner for a few cocktails! old times resturant was another good place to eat, a 20min walk from hotel. entertainment was good at san g, kariokee, quiz and greek nite and a good bar!!! a must do is hiring a car to explore the island, so many beautiful places to visit and relax in at your own pace and freedom rather than the usual tours. must visit amtisamos beach, myrtos beach and costa costa! assos and fiscardo are lovely to visit and eat in. if you like horseriding, a visit to balvarian riding school is a must! v well looked after horses and lots of rides to choose from. id definately go back to the san g and to kefalonia, proper got post hol blues now with all this awful weather here!

Room Tip: higher the better if u dont mind steps!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank natalie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skala hotels
1.2 mi away
Regina Dell Acqua Resort
0.6 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#11 of 23 in Skala
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
1.5 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#5 of 23 in Skala
442 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Giorgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Giorgio

Address: Porou Skalas, Skala 280 82, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Skala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Hotel Class:3 star — San Giorgio 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Giorgio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giorgio Hotel Skala
San Giorgio Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing