We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in Skala” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Giorgio

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
San Giorgio
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Wells Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Skala”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stayed at the hotel after booking through First Choice/Thomsons. We were very pleased with the price as the agent agreed to equal the price we found on the Internet (about £100 off the brochure price). The coach transfer from the airport took about an hour with at least four drop offs before we got to San Giorgio. From what we saw then and throughout our stay we both felt this was, by far the best hotel. The landscaping is beautiful and design throughout the complex of the hotel, bars, restaurant, pools, apartments, tennis court and small shop are all aesthetically very pleasing. Our room was spacious with the most fantastic view from the double doors and balcony straight out to the sparkling Ionian sea. There were a few things, however, that could have been better. First, for some reason, whilst the apartment was spacious the shower room was not. Not really a problem just bad planning. (We appreciated the hairdryer provided). Second, the walls are quite thin and the first week we had a neighbour who had the tv on loud which we could easily hear. Also, they smoked and we do not so often this would drift into our room. This just makes us appreciate the smoking ban here in the UK. Also, there is no wifi, although you can go to reception and pay EUR 3 per hour for Internet there. Maybe we are spoiled and expect too much but when you go to local restaurants and they happily give you free wifi (try The Pines in the town - great food and coffee too) you wonder why the hotel doesn't. The other main thing that seriously could have been better was the breakfasts! Very cheap! Cheap juices (from concentrates). Cheap TINNED fruit salad (?!), cheap cereals, what looked like processed cheese and ham, rubbish white sliced bread and awful packaged jams/marmalade. The bread rolls and lurpak butter were good though. Why do people do this? If it's for margins they really do not have to spend a lot more to provide real fresh food and drinks. V disappointing. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms (unless you go self catering). So if you need a cuppa in the morning take a small kettle or buy one in the supermarket for aout EUR 9 The staff were lovely. Especially the 'new girl' on reception (sorry, didn't get her name). They employ a lot of people to keep the rooms, the grounds and the pools immaculate and it's worth tipping them as much as it is the front of house staff. There is a big book shelf in the lounge for swapping books which was great. If you want to hire a car do it online before you go as you'll stand a good chance of getting a better deal. Go through moneysupermarket.com or quid.com - you'll be surprised at the difference. We were only a very short walk from a small, exquisite pebble beach just across the road and, yes it is quite a walk into Skala but it is a beautiful walk and you can the free hotel shuttle as long as you book and book early before all seats are gone. If we went back to Skala (unlikely as we like to travel to different places) we would be very happy to stay at San Giogio but we would probably go self catering as the euro is a bit of a killer for us at the moment and this made eating out quite expensive (relatively). It's a beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Riverbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    344
    102
    14
    6
See reviews for
257
564
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

Anyone who finds fault with this hotel would find fault anywhere.
I went online to find a cheap holiday in May & paid £495 for a week for 2 of us B & B. Our first holiday without kids for many years.
Having holidayed on several Greek islands on the cheap I was not expecting too much, but I believe that being there is the main thing, as long as basic needs are met, re. cleanliness etc.
If a holiday is cheap you should not expect 4 star accomodation for a 2 or 3 star price (tho' I've met many who do).
Our room was perfect, the bathroom was too & thoroughly cleaned every day including Sunday. Re. the beds being hard, as someone mentioned, this is a matter of taste & not a valid criticism. My bed was firm, just how I like it !
The breakfast was a pleasant surprise,cereal if you want, great toast, lovely bread rolls,ham ,cheese, jam, honey. Sausage & beans alternated with scrambled egg if you want something hot. To drink, tea, coffee, orange juice, milk .
The food in both the restaurant & snack bar was as good as that on offer in the town so no need to leave the hotel on lazy days. Drinks at the bar were a bit more expensive than some places, but hey! we're on holiday.
If you have difficulty walking this hotel may not be for you, the drive is steep & there are lots of steps, although if you explained your problem I am sure they would try to give you one of the lower rooms. There were people there with walking difficulties who had not been put off.
Finally a trip to Ithaca is a must on this holiday. We booked with Panem in Skala,(cheaper than Thomsons) & had a knowledgeable & entertaining guide called Esme.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank RONNIETHEFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

The purpose of the holiday was to celebrate my girlfriends 40th birthday, we wanted a week in the sun, quiet location and time to relax...the San Giorgio Hotel was way better than expected and thoroughly deserves the great reviews it has already recieved. we chose the holiday slightly out of season which suited our needs, the occupancy in may is just right, just the right amount of guests to make it nice and peaceful, i would imagine it would be a different story in july/august. The Hotel was very clean, staff were really nice and friendly...nothing was too much trouble! We were bed and breakfast which was quite basic but more than adequate, the local they use is delicious! A really luvly modern Hotel, great location and great staff, thank you for a truly luvly romantic stay.

Room Tip: Ask your travel agent to request sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willdeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

The apartments are way above usual Greek standards and cleaned to a high standard everyday. Evening meals were very good, breakfasts just OK. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. The pools (3 to choose from!) are all superb. Also boasts a games room, tennis court, table tennis, play area, poolside bar and diner. Because of location, rooms have an excellent view. A real gem of a place in a quiet location perfect for a relaxing holiday. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 187069jkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

Last stayed at this hotel 5 years ago, and have been longing to return ever since.I'm not keen on walking but this has not put me off.We stayed for 2 weeks and are doing the same when we return in 1st 2 weeks of june. We hired a car for a week, part way through our holiday and will do the same again.( A must in my opinion, as there is so much to discover on this beautiful Island.) We have visited many greek Islands and this is our favorite, it is simply stunning.The pools are clean and a good size. The loungers are comfy and plenty so no problem finding one. The staff our superb. If you are into snorkeling, go to skala beach,half way along you will see a reef going out to your right,check it out on the satalite pictures. Swim out over this and follow it out to sea.Many different fish and you may discover many red clay roof tiles.This was the cargo of a ship that went to ground in a storm on this reef.Said my bit can't wait to get back.Yee Pee.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TERRYfromcornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

Just booked again to go back to this lovelly hotel.
our son will be just 2 1/2 , and he might even recongise it this time. The staff and location are fantastic, we have loved it there,
, and the island is spectacular.
We go in may and the island is very quite as is the hotel but would consider going back in the height of summer.
It is a gem of a place . go B&B even the food is very good at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbw1w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

This hotel ticked all the boxes for us we were looking for a quiet holliday with pleanty of sun, got that every day. The hotel staff were the nicest Ihave ever encounted on holliday
nothing was to much trouble from the cleaners all the way through the reception to the bar staff. We were self catering but did eat in the hotel as well no complaints from us as we found it enjoyable. Have booked for 2011 and looking forward to it right now.
If in doubt give it ago you wont be disapointed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superscouseLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.6 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
0.4 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#10 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
17.9 mi away
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Platis Gialos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
21.6 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Giorgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Giorgio

Property: San Giorgio
Address: Porou Skalas, Skala 280 82, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Skala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Hotel Class:3 star — San Giorgio 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Also Known As:
San Giorgio Hotel Skala
San Giorgio Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing