We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service”
Review of Kaliva Restaurant

Kaliva Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 53 Restaurants in Skala
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a reasonable meal here, the service was friendly. If the restaurant is busy enough they encourage people to join in the greek dancing, which was a bit of fun.
The menu was average and although the meal was fine and pricing reasonable we didn't return again as we like to try as many places as possible.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greyhoundlover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    52
    14
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Greek Dancing!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The food was quite good, but small portions compared to most other restaurants we ate at. The highlight was watching the Greek dancing, the plate smashing and setting light to the ouzo on the restaurant floor. All very entertaining.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pigginhell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Below par food, slow service”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

The service was slow and surly. One meal came about 10 minutes after everyone else's. The Greek 'dancing' was a bit of a poor show, sure they did their best but a bit of arm linking and synchronised kicking doesn't really do justice to the tradition. Be careful not to sit near the centre of the restaurant as the waitress' enthusiastic plate smashing routine shot shards of pottery in my meal which had to then be sent back. When we spoke to the owner about this, his response ( rather than an apology) was that we should have sat somewhere else, interesting as they chose the table for us!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScottishMissionary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by a couple of frequent Skala holiday makers. Glad we took their advise, again excellent value for money with some Greek dancing in the street and plate smashing to go with it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tcm0162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great family run restaurant ,
food amazing, Mario and his son do all the cooking, his wife and daughter serve you. Greek fire dancing was great fun and of course the plate smashing.everything freshly cooked loads of choice including of course kefalonia meat pie!! Mmm lamb chops were amazing too. Can't believe the bad reviews. We absolutely love it. Can't wait to return next year.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kefal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaliva Restaurant also viewed

 
Skala, Cephalonia
 

Been to Kaliva Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing