We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Authentic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaliva Restaurant

Kaliva Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 50 Restaurants in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Manchester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very Authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

The atmosphere was really nice. The food was good and very reasonably priced. The staff put lots of effort in by getting customers up to dance and doing the traditional ritual of plate smashing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JRey1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    43
    13
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southern England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“The Greek Dance place !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Really good mousaka, cleftico, and stifado at very low prices. We were amazed when the owner suddenly started squirting barbecue lighter fluid along the floor inbetween the tables. he lit it and a long line of fire started, then he smashed a bowl, and the waitress tried to get everyone to join in with some Greek dancing in the road outside ! Great fun I joined in but was none too good with my steps after quite a lot of house wine (good). The only downside to this place is that we got presented with a bill handwritten in Greek, and when I called the waitress over to translate each item, there was a charge for bread which we had specifically declined. Caused some red faces to have been caught out, but this was only the tip of the iceberg when it came to sharp practice at Skala. Keep your wits about you to prevent overcharging, under pouring of drinks, and being shortchanged.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HotAirship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polegate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Good friendly service some food not so well cooked, meat a bit tough but restaurant well decorated and in the late evening Greek dancing and smashing of plates was good fun. prices were value for money

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“good home cooked food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

A great place to eat the food is all freshly cooked the portions are a good size and the staff are polite enjoy some greek dancing while you dine

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank steve1635509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I spent my birthday night here and enjoyed a great variety of traditional Greek food and the Red Wine at 8 euros a litre was very good too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank larderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaliva Restaurant also viewed

Skala, Cephalonia
Skala, Cephalonia
 

Been to Kaliva Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing