We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly”
Review of Makis Grill House

Makis Grill House
Ranked #9 of 50 Restaurants in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“friendly”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

As it was close to our apartment the walk home wasn't as painful as walking the whole main street.we were welcomed and the owner made a point of chatting to us.the food was very good.it's not a high class restaurant and it doesn't pretend to be.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    50
    26
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“top steak”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

this place is a throw back to the old authentic style greece for me the pig on the spit the beef the kebabs the wine the ouzo the beer love it well worth seeking out

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovemehollidaysppt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Traditional, home cooked Greek food”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very traditional Greek restaurant serving good quality, really traditional Greek food plus a few of Maki's own specialities. His fried Feta cheese in filo pastry with honey is really delicious. Excellent hospitality - both Maki and his wife make you really welcome and make you feel special even on your first visit. We didn't discover this excellent restaurant until the last two days of our holiday and will certainly return when we visit Skala again in the future. This restaurant is well worth searching for as it is not on the busy main street.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
369 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Family 'taverna' - home cooked food - recommended”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Makis Grill
This is off the main drag and unless you know about it, you may not find it (off a side road to the left further up than Apostolis).

Run by a husband and wife who were very pleasant and welcoming. Not very busy but more authentic as a taverna than the larger restaurants in the resort. Lovely food and obviously home cooked - couple do all the cooking themselves. Reasonably priced and all fresh. Special Makis feta cheese in filo pastry highly recommended as a starter!

Visited twice and would recommend. This is not for you if you are looking for ‘restaurant type’ setting but we were happy with food and service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 19Nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gem of a Place”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Been to Skala twice but how could We have missed this place first time! Glad to say was advised to try and Was not disappointed. Friendly welcome but above all GREAT food at reasonable prices. Do not do as we did first time in Skala and miss out on this place ---you will NOT be sorry, food is great and the fried potatoes (chips) are best in Skala-- They really are. Thank goodness a few days of our holiday left and We will be back night after night till home time. Comes worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janeen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makis Grill House also viewed

 
Skala, Cephalonia
 
Skala, Cephalonia
 

Been to Makis Grill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing