We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Vangeli's Special Cruises

Captain Vangeli's Special Cruises
Ranked #1 of 10 Tours in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We used this company for a day out to Ithaka and it was amazing. The boat is glass bottomed and high speed so lots and lots of fun. They allowed you plenty of time to explore on the various stops and the staff were superb very helpful friendly and knowledgeable. Highly recommended for a day out to remember.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    72
    16
    8
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very choppy sea in morning!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We booked a great trip by boat up to the northern village of Fiskardo. This was a very pretty little village in the north of island was was virtually undamaged by the earthquake of 1953. The trip was well documented by Captain Vangeli even though there was quite a swell in the morning and we rolled about alot!
We also visited an underground lake and cave and had lunch at a small waterfront Taverna with swim stops on the way and on the return journey. This was good value and much cheaper than visiting the north of the island by coach with Thomsons. We thoroughly enjoyed our day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Alan & Karen S, Kefalonia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We've been on a few of the Captain Vangeli's trips over the years & never been disappointed. Trips to the 3 Islands & Ithica, amongst others, are good value, the boat is very clean & the staff friendly & welcoming. We would always recommend them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“3 island cruise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

There seemed to be too many guests on the boat. The seats were not very comfartable when we eventually got to sit down. The lunch stop was not till 2.30 so we did not get to eat till around 3. With the early start, it was far too late for lunch.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vangelis S, Owner at Captain Vangeli's Special Cruises, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Although it is not our policy to answer the comments of our guests, on this occasion we feel we must answer this review to clarify:-

1, We have never done a 3 Island Cruise.
2. All our cruises leave the beach of Skala at 0900hrs.
3. Our lunch stops are between 1300hrs and 1430hrs, apart from the Zante Cruise (1200hrs to1400hrs).
4. We never put too many guests on board, seats are available for every passenger. The boat sails below full capacity on every occasion.

It is very evident these comments were for another Cruise, another boat and another company - not for Captain Vangelis Special Cruises.

We would therefore request that you remove this review and place it with the Company you sailed with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our day trip to Ithica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Had a great day out to Ithica with swim stops.
People very friendly. Great value for money 35 euro each.
Boat clean including the toilets.
Dont forget your plastic bottle tops they collect them for charity.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ford1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Vangeli's Special Cruises also viewed

 
Argostolion, Cephalonia
 

Been to Captain Vangeli's Special Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing