We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing TesoroBlu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tesoroblu Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
bergamo
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing TesoroBlu”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We've been at Tesoro Blu in July 2012.
The hotel is amazing, high-tech style, with huge comfy rooms.
The infinity pool is superb with a wonderful view on the beach.
Skala is only a ten minutes walk from the hotel, so you can go there after dinner.
The staff is great, the best ever we met, they were always very kind and smiling even after a long day working in the hot sun! They always did their best to satisfy our needs, and we apprecited it very much.
We recommend this hotel if you're looking a relaxing charming place with an elegant atmosphere.
We'll definitely be back!!!
Thank you TesoroBlu!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mara28miao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    157
    23
    9
    0
See reviews for
31
761
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at the TesoroBlu Hotel from 26th June to 10th July and have quite honestly had the best holiday experience! We have been on 14 holidays to various Greek islands, and this was our third trip to Kefalonia (and my fifth). Kefalonia is a beautiful island with lots of stunning scenery and beautiful beaches. The TesoroBlu is definitely a unique and different type of accommodation for Kefalonia and certainly unlike anywhere we've stayed in Greece before. It is very modern and minimalist which we loved. The owners have struck a perfect balance between minimalism and comfort with simple clean lines in all of the decor. The room had an enormous and comfortable bed and squashy pillows, complimentary dressing gowns and slippers, ample toiletries, refreshments tray (and you can top up tea and coffee supplies for your room at the breakfast service) and minibar. The TV has limited English channels, but why would anyone expect to sit and watch TV indoors on this type of holiday?! There is plentiful hanging and drawer space, free room safe, and excellent shower. The balcony is a good-size with drying rack and pegs although ours was overlooked by other balconies. The air-conditioning was fantastically quiet and kept our room pleasantly cool overnight.

We were struck by how quiet the complex was even though there were lots of guests there. We really appreciated the peace and quiet! The rooms are a couple of minutes walk away from the main building where the reception, restaurants, bar and pool area are which was great for us as it meant that any music or noise from this area couldn't be heard at our room. Staff use golf buggies to move around the site and we were impressed by the level of efficiency in transporting guests and their luggage to their rooms on arrival and collection of luggage on departure day.

The staff and management team at TesoroBlu are its biggest asset. They have customer service at the top of their agenda and provide you with a friendly and efficient service throughout your stay. Nothing is too much trouble and we felt welcomed and looked after during our holiday. The chef, Dennis, who is present throughout evening service, knew that I was a vegetarian, and would always go through the options with me to ensure I knew what was in each dish which I thought was lovely! The evening service team were always quick to take drinks orders and to clear plates away when we'd finished, and always friendly and smiling. We found there to be plenty of options for food both at breakfast, lunch (also very good value for money) and the evening meal. We are baffled by earlier posts which suggest that food was not Greek - we saw stifado, moussaka, dolmades, briam amongst many other Greek dishes during our stay. The food was always fresh, hot when it was meant to be and cold when it was meant to be! We didn't find the menu repetitious and were never tempted to eat out at other tavernas. The standard was excellent. We were also impressed by the high level of cleanliness, especially in the restaurant, but throughout the hotel as a whole. It was spotless!

If we were being VERY picky, we would have liked padded sunbeds by the pool and padded seats on our balcony. HOWEVER, we have returned feeling relaxed and refreshed and would highly recommend this hotel. It is the only place we have stayed which we would return to in the future.

Thank you to the whole team for a wonderful holiday! We plan to return in the future!
Emma and Andy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aj_taylor45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Tesoro Blu for one week in early July. We booked with Thomson and were staying on a half board basis.

Our first surprise came when we realised where the hotel was located - Thomson's website suggests you're quite far from civilisation, and we'd previously read reviews on trip advisor that the road into Skala is dark at night and has no pavements, so a taxi is preferred. Our coach drove through Skala on our way from the airport, and stopped to do a few drop-offs along the beachfront. We were told our hotel was next, and were expecting a 5 min drive away from the resort - but stopped just around the next corner! We were really pleased as we had been a bit concerned we'd be somewhat confined to the hotel. There was also a lit pavement running along the whole beachfront, so whilst the corner between the beach and the hotel does not have a pavement, the rest of the walk into Skala is absolutely fine. The area without pavement has a wide section at the side of the road where you can safely walk, and the road is a quiet one so you can easily hear the cars coming.

Check in was quick, and you're welcomed with a lovely cool glass of fruit juice - which is very refreshing after the coach journey! Our bags were taken to the room for us, and you're given a golf buggy ride up to your room as well. The room was really lovely and was kept very clean all week. There is space in the mini bar for your own bottles of water and food, which was also appreciated. Happy hour at the pool bar is 5:30-7pm but only for cocktails. Beer and the pool food is on offer between 1pm and 4pm - a pint is E2.50 rather than E3.50, so still very reasonable even outside of these times. We found all the staff to be very friendly.

The pool area was kept really clean and we never struggled to get sunbeds - we tended to go for breakfast at about 9, so popped a couple of towels on the beds when we arrived and there were always plenty available at that time. It seemed to fill up by 10:30/11ish. The staff seem to put out some towels on the front row of sunbeds by the pool - this really confused us as we weren't sure if they were taken or not! If the roll is placed directly in the centre, apparently you can assume the sunbed is available.

We found the food at the hotel to be really good - although we only had breakfast and dinner there and never tried the pool bar lunch menu. The evening buffet always had a lot of choice and we particularly enjoyed the Greek night on the Wednesday, where all the food was even better than usual. Every night there was an excellent salad selection, soup, a pasta dish, and then a couple of meat dishes, a fish dish, and a variety of vegetables including some Greek style stuffed vegetables, and potatoes and rice. Chips were never to be found, which made a refreshing change from most buffets trying to cater to the British palate! There was also a good selection of desserts, and a separate stand serving ice cream each night. Breakfast had the usual cereals, breads, pastries/muffins, a selection of fruit, some lovely thick greek yoghurts, and the usual beans, bacon, sausages, eggs etc for those who want something hot, so something to suit everyone.

The supermarket is quite small but within easy walking distance and has everything you might need, and if you continue in this direction towards Skala, we found a really good Greek tavern another 5 mins down the road (Akrogialis) that was really excellent for lunch - we worked our way through the section of the menu containing local dishes during the week and everything we had was delicious. We paid approx E20 each day for 2 mains, a large bottle of water and half a litre of the house wine, so we felt it was really good value, and were surprised no-one else from our hotel seemed to venture out there at lunchtime. There was another Greek tavern next door, but this seemed to be attached to a hotel - whilst all the hotels seem to welcome external guests, we decided to stick to the independent restaurant. The only thing to note was that a couple of times we found half the restaurant had been taken over by an American summer camp group (we estimated approx 60 teenagers). Different groups were there on both the Friday and Monday during our visit, and parked their coaches right in front of the restaurant - a real shame because it completely blocked the view of the sea, and meant you had hot engines sat right next to you through your meal!! They tended to arrive at about 12:15 and leave at 1:45/2ish, so if you get there for a late lunch you should be alright, and they were well behaved whilst they were there so don't be too put off (the only exception being about 5 mins of chaos whilst the supervisors tried to round everyone back onto the coaches!) The remaining days the restaurant was very peaceful and the staff were always very pleasant, definitely worth a visit.

We did one trip during our stay - Thomson's "Idyllic Ithaka" trip. The coach transfer from the airport had been quite hot and stuffy so we hadn't fancied spending a whole day on a similar coach exploring Kefalonia (the rep actually recommended that people hired a car if they wanted to explore properly - this costs from E60 per day), so Ithaka seemed the best option for us. The rep hadn't been able to tell us much about the day, and we had thought it seemed a bit expensive, but it was actually well worth doing and good value. The trip cost E60 each and involved a 60 min journey to Sami, where we caught a ferry to Ithaka. We then re-boarded the coach, and were driven to Vathi, where we transferred onto a small boat and sailed to the north of the island (with a stop for swimming in the sea on the way). We left the boat at Kioni, where we had a really delicious lunch at a local taverna (not included in the cost of the trip), and then re-boarded the coach, which had driven up to meet us. We then stopped at a couple more villages and beauty spots before driving back to meet the ferry. The guide was very knowledgeable, and spent the trip telling us about Odysseus, who was thought to have lived on either Kefalonia or Ithaka. The island is really beautiful and it was well worth doing, especially if like us you don't want to just sit on a coach all day! Just beware that it's a very early start - our pick up time was 7am and we weren't back until after 5pm. The hotel provides a breakfast box you can take and eat on the ferry if you order by 9pm the night before.

We walked into Skala one evening to have a bit of an explore - this took about 25 mins and as above, walking there and back was not a problem. Unfortunately you're not given a map of the local area, but we found a couple of streets with bars, restaurants, tourist shops etc. Unfortunately it wasn't the pretty little fishing village I'd expected! We stopped for a few drinks at a nice bar on the beachfront though, and it was good to have a look around, but we didn't bother going back another night.

If you turn left out of the hotel (away from Skala), there is a nice bar called Waves a couple of doors up, which has a happy hour until 9pm, so we went there on a couple of occasions after the happy hour at the hotel had finished. The mojitos weren't as good as the hotel ones but there are a bigger variety of cocktails on offer.

Check out was as easy as check in, and we only had 30 mins to wait in the lobby before our coach transfer back to the airport. There is the option at the hotel to put all drinks onto a tab and pay this off at the end of the week, so you don't need to carry cash around with you during your stay. There was also the option to pay this final bill by card - we hadn't been sure if this would be possible as we'd heard a lot of places in Greece are currently only accepting cash from tourists. I think it has to be Visa or Mastercard though.

All in all we had a really wonderful week and would definitely recommend the hotel - clean, modern, excellent food, excellent staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ECW86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The TesoruBlu is a new family run couple’s only contemporary hotel based on the outskirts of Skala.
We stayed here for 11 nights in June and read all the excellent reviews about the hotel. We were not disappointed, every aspect of the hotel is excellent. The hotel has been built to a very high specification with a large infinity pool & jacuzzi. There is also an indoor pool/jacuzzi, spa treatments available and a gym.
The large rooms are stunning and the owners have thought of everything from extremely comfortable large memory foam beds to almost silent air con, contemporary lighting and quality furniture with plenty of storage. There is a free safe, iron & ironing board, a mini bar with plenty of room for your own drinks and a decent hairdryer. The balconies are large with a table and chairs and an airer with pegs.
The owners are all very nice and try and talk to all the guests, they are very keen that everyone is happy and to see if there is anything they can do to improve things.
The staff are the hardest working and friendliest we have ever met and a true asset to the hotel.
All the restaurant staff, especially young and old Costas and Victoria were great fun, Will and Miros at the white bar are great at making cocktails. All the receptionists were very friendly and helpful and Danielle, the event coordinator was lovely. The cleaners and Yanni the buggy driver do a great job too.
Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff or owners. There was plenty of entertainment throughout the day from pilates or yoga classes in the morning to wine tasting, cocktail making and entertainment every night. We enjoyed listening to Ollie singing and playing his trumpet whilst eating dinner. Hollis sings on a Saturday and is excellent.
The Greek night was good with Greek food and dancing.
We found the food excellent and tasty every night and complimented the chef on his excellent food especially the sole & salmon. Good selection of salads or soup to start and a variety of mains that were always fresh and hot, several meats, fish, pastas, vegetarian options and a great variety of different vegetables & potatoes every night. The desserts were the best we have ever eaten in a hotel abroad from cheesecakes, crème caramels, cream cakes, mousses, tortes etc and ice cream. There is a good choice of wine and beers at a reasonable price. Breakfast had a good selection too. Unfortunately we didn’t try the a la carte as we enjoyed the buffet so much, but saw some great looking steaks come out of the kitchen.
We toured the beautiful island in just 3 days by hiring a car from Greekstones. They are a very efficient company with reasonable prices with lots of useful information and a road map. The north has the prettiest towns of Fiskardo and Assos and the turquoise waters at Myrtos Beach are awesome, they are all worth the hair pin bends to see them!
We also went on a boat trip to the sister island of Ithaca with Captain Vangelis sailing from the beach in Skala. This was on a large glass bottomed boat which was very well organised. We had 2 swim stops and visited the picturesque towns of Vathy and Kioni.
We have recommended this hotel to friends and colleagues as this is simply the best hotel we have stayed in and on the most beautiful Greek island we have been to and we hope to come back. Thank you for a wonderful holiday and we wish you all the great success your hard work deserves.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyandKeith1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here as we were getting married at Nine Muses! I must say we picked the best hotel! It is the best place we have ever stayed, the quality and design is 5*. The place is so clean and organised, excellent food and drink! Rooms were immaculate - awesome place! We had a few rides in the golf buggy too, one of which was a lift back from our wedding reception party, a memory we shall never forget. The pool was amazing! Our only critisism was the singer by the pool at lunch time and evening meals, think his name was Ollie, (he was annoying to say the least) but we didnt let it ruin our holiday / honeymoon! We would come back here again once we have seen more of the world!

Room Tip: Room 825!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBB096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Found this hotel browsing on the Internet and what a find! Perfect for couples excellent atmosphere food was good all couples so very friendly staff couldn't be matched anywhere entertainment every night so no need to go out bar staff excellent service all round second to none rooms to die for pool was luxurious would and will definitely go back we loved it driving was easy and lots to go and see the whole island can be done in two days perfect couples holiday loved it the owners were on hand all day every day just perfect

Room Tip: We had room 212 fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColandJanWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Came back last weekend after 2 weeks at the Tesoro Blu. It celebrated it's 1st anniversary while we were there and the place is still brand new. Never had such a well appointed room in Greece. Big comfortable bed with reading lights, nice bathroom, flat screen TV (limited channels). air conditioning. We were in room 424. Our balcony looked on to the hillside. I couldn't believe how peaceful and quiet it was. I would sit for ages with a beer watching the sun go down. Generally the hotel has a very calm atmosphere. The loudest noise we heard was the room door opening. Entry is via waving a card over a reader, the door then unlocks with quite a loud buzzzzzzzzzzzzz.
The pool is big, it never seemed to be busy even though the hotel was fully booked. We'd get to the pool at 9ish every morning and more often than not we were the 1st or 2nd there! There's plenty sunbeds/umbrellas/towels.
In the restaurant the buffet area is quite small, but there was always a good selection of food.. Spotlessly clean. And, like most of the other posters say, the staff are great I'd ask for fried eggs at breakfast and they'd come within minutes. Big shout out from us to Stefanos and Alexandra who looked after us on the balcony at the rear of the restaurant.
We'd usually head off into Skala for the evening, walking there and back - never used a taxi! Its a nice 1 mile walk, takes about 15-20mins But we did attend the hotels Greek Night, Anniversary Party and the Black&White nights and had a great time. The two lads behind the bar work their socks off.
The design of the hotel is different, Minimalist, modern, straight lines, concrete, metal glass - we loved it. The Greek/NewYork family who own/run the hotel are always in evidence. They're really nice.
Would definitely go back. Had a great time. Kefalonia is beautiful by the way.

Room Tip: Block 5 upper floors have the best aspect. Our room 424 was great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbywillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
1.6 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
21.6 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Platis Gialos
1,133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
29.0 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tesoroblu Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tesoroblu Hotel & Spa

Property: Tesoroblu Hotel & Spa
Address: Skala 280 82, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Skala
#3 Romantic Hotel in Skala
#7 Family Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tesoroblu Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tesoroblu Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tesoroblu Hotel And Spa
Tesoroblu Hotel Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing