We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TesoroBlu Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TesoroBlu Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Modern minimalist design hotel with a relaxing atmosphere and excellent facilities. Buffet style breakfast and dinner is fresh and tasty, very good but can be predictable. If you fancy something different there is plenty of options to eat out in Skala or in the hotel a la carte restaurant. Not usually one to visit places twice but think I could make an exception for tesoro blu!

Room Tip: 517 was at the top of the hill so quiet and had a nice sea view. Balcony didn't get much sun th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    149
    23
    9
    0
See reviews for
26
739
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Just returned from a week at Tesoro Blu. I booked with 3 friends and hotel sold on an adults basis but when we arrived we discovered it was 'couples'. Oops! We needn't have worried - the owners made us feel very welcome. Everyone from the welcome from Laura on arrival, meeting Angela, being waited on by Costas and Victoria in the restaurant and the bar staff Miro and Will made us feel at home. Nightly entertainment by Ollie very good and Hollis was a brilliant end to the week. The pool area is great and was lovely not to have any noisy kids around - spotless too! Don't think we saw one football shirt all week!! Beds amazing - best night's sleep I have had in ages and the showers, well, they are to die for. Only slight remark I can make is that I wish there had been more Greek food as when it was on the menu it was very popular. Pagoulatos family keep doing what you are doing. We love very much!!!!! from Carrie(!) xx

Room Tip: Request a room with a shower, you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the tesoro blu, from 7 june. To say greece is in financial melt down we was told this complex cost £25 million to build. When we arrived our suitcases were taken to our room by electric buggy. We was then told the basics of the hotel then drove to our room by Yanni on his buggy. Rooms were spotlessly clean & modern, with free fridge & safe. Ultra modern bathroom, loads of hanging space. Now the best bit, massive beds which measured 1800 x 1800 with amazing pillows & mattress. We could not get up in the mornings & had to force ourselves to get up every day. Breakfast was loads of choice from yoghurts, fruit, breads,bacon, scrambled egs, omelettes. If you required fried or poached eggs you would have to ask for them. Eve meals was excellent again with lots of choice. Great soups, great salads, great mains & great deserts. Wine started at 15 euro a bottle which we thought was rather expensive. One problem at eve meals was that the restaurant is next to the white bar so people who had finished there meals went straight to the bar were you was allowed to smoke which drafted all over the restaurant. They really DO NEED a no smoking policy in this area. There should be designated areas for the smokers. Entertainment takes place around the white bar with Will & Miro doing all the cocktails ( great guys ). We found cocktails expensive at 7 euros but draught beers was ok at 3.5 euros. A special mention must go out to the restaurant staff especially ALEX, STEFANO & COSTA. The pool area was rather cramped for us with beds being close together & people smoking so we used the local beaches which were shingle & stone, but we overcame that with some beach shoes. The beaches were quite empty, so very peaceful & the sea was amazingly clear.There is a supermarket 5 mins walk towards skala which had everything who needed. Skala was a good 20 min walk & in 35 degrees of heat was rather a chore. The hotel could do with a shuttle bus into skala like other hotels. We did the premier island tour which was amazing with special thanks to Marina our rep. Here are in our opinion things which could be improved : sky news on the tv, all english chanels are rubbish. Balconys to be made a bit more private . We did see senior staff telling younger staff off in the restaurant which was very uncomfortable for the guests, this MUST STOP, they do an amazing job. Senior staff just walk about doing nothing. Black bar upstairs was never open & the ala carte restaurant never had any one in because it was too expensive, they should have stuck with there original idea & had a asia restaurant. Special thanks also to yanni the buggy driver he works so hard. He would give us taxi rides back to our room when he saw us coming back from the beach. Air con in rooms was great to come back to. This is my reflection of the TESORO BLU. Would we return? YES OF COARSE.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Tesoroblu was just perfect for a couple of weeks in the sunny and beautiful island of Kefalonia. It's a couples only hotel, great staff, really helpful, and a good 'can do' attitude. It is a family run business, and we just happened to be there when they celebrated their 1st Birthday, we had cake and free shots and they let off Chinese lanterns from the nearby beach, Miro and Will on the bar worked so hard as did all the staff to make our stay memorable. LIke many families in Kefalonia their home were destroyed in the 1953 earthquake and many emigrated. The hotel owners emigrated to the USA - New York in fact and as the song goes, they made it there and came back to their land in Kefalonia and built two hotels. Their first was the Five Muses and now the Tesoroblu. The hotel is very contemporary think 'Tate Modern' every detail has been thought out well, the pool is large and an infinity one. The spa is small with a gym and the treatments by Anna were marvelous. I had a deep tissue massage and a wonderful facial with an algae and manuka honey mask with lavender cool eye-pads and some reflexology. The cocktails are around 7 Euros a throw, but well done, and they have a cocktail making class there once a week run by Miro. They do lovely smoothies too with a good buffet breakfast and dinner, for those who don't want to go with the run of the mill buffet there is a separate a la carte restaurant where you can get a steak. After 1pm there are some special light lunch deals - chips come with their skin on and the grilled chicken sandwich is nice as is the tuna sandwich. The bread in the morning at 7.30 is warm and so fresh. The centre of Skala is about a 20 minute walk, and the supermarket for bottled water about 5 mins. There is a kettle and coffee and tea in the rooms along with good toiletries and even toothbrush and paste. Good air conditioning and nets to keep insects out. Because the hotel is built in the 'countryside' of the village next to the sea, There are grazing cows on the hillside, and lots of supersize grasshoppers and lovely jasmine in the evening it smells so sweet. What was really nice was within an hour of arriving I enrolled in a lesson in Greek given by the 'owner'. There are always activities going on - i.e. shuffle board, quoits, Free wi-fi. When we left, the owners came out to personally say thank you and wish us a safe journey. We will certainly be returning. Oh and by the way they do sell Kristal fizz at £500 a throw too. But for wine, you can't beat a nice bottle of Robola at c19Euros (£32 in Harrods!). Or go and visit the Robola Commune and get a wine-tasting session in and buy the bottles directly at c8Euros..

Room Tip: All rooms are great they are set in two storey blocks none have a sea view but all a very well appoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Qixu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holmfirth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

This place truly is as good as all the reviews state. Everything you desire is available good food, friendly staff, modern surroundings, clean modern rooms with excellent facilities great pool areas with loads of sunbeds. I have never been to Greece before or any of the islands but this place has only convinced me to go back when possible. For a hotel that is brand new and only been open for 1 season it really has got it right! Brilliant holiday wish i was still there!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danrob2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We chose this hotel after reading the reviews in the holiday brochure and were not disappointed on arrival. Nice crisp lines & modern, minimalistic furniture greet you as you enter the spacious foyer. Add to this the very friendly & hard working staff(all special in their own way) and you have an environment that is sure to put a smile on your face. The rooms are a short walk away but this gives you a short workout & ensures tranquility away from the main entertainment area. The only sound that can be "herd" are the bells from the mountain cows(you'll be amazed how they get up & down the hill/cliff side).
Fresh fluffy towels, robes and slippers at your disposal along with modern en-suite facilities & top of the range beds(we've never slept in a more comfortable bed). Each room has it's own balcony with a table & chairs for you to enjoy the outside space away from the pool if you wish. There are two open seating areas as well, ideal for sitting with a coffee & good book, surrounded by various modern features & water walls. Whilst you cannot see the sea from all the rooms, you have got views over the steep hills.
We wanted a quiet, relaxing break, we got exactly that and some! We took the opportunity to venture out on one of the Thomson excursions and toured the Island, this was a very worthwhile trip but opened our eyes to the type of roads you'd have to encounter if you were to hire a car. Whilst I have no problem with the heights & sheer drops(drove regularly over the Pyrennees), my wife had a different opinion. The car we were going to hire the following day stayed with the hire company, it's not for the faint hearted.
The only downside for me was the weather but that is something that we have no control over. Overcast with showers broke up the normal day to day sun, even this could not dampen the fact that we were in this much talked about modern hotel in ancient Kefalonia. The worldwide forcast still stated it was still warmer than in most countries.
The hotel management have "nailed" this. With some slight alterations, Tesoroblu can compete with the best! The holiday was not complete, without Miro making you a "Greek Flag" shot, a delight in itself watching him skillfully making it.
To end on a lighter note, as a famous tv advert once said, "I liked the company so much, I bought a shirt!"

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthYorkshireTanFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Almost perfect, but closer to 5 than a 4.
Hotel was immaculate, always very clean and comfortable. But it was the staff that heightens the fortnight from good to excellent. Miro and Will ran a very busy bar with ease every night, they made time to chat without leaving people waiting. Ollie the resident musician did a great job, he had to entertain a wide age range every night which is very difficult but again he made time to chat and made us all feel special. The absolute star member of staf was young Costas, he seemed to be there 24 hours a day and always had a cheeky smile on his face. The young waitresses did a great job too, very professional but still friendly and chatty.
There were a couple of negatives, the black bar was never open so there was never an option on a night, and as another reviewer has mentioned when staff did make small mistakes they were reprimanded in front of guests which I also found uncomfortable and unprofessional.
It was my 40th birthday while there and the staff decorated my room and delivered a cake which made the day a day I will never forget.
We will 100% definitley be back for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JE2E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
1.6 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
21.6 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
18.6 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
0.9 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
29.0 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 8 in Fiscardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TesoroBlu Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TesoroBlu Hotel & Spa

Property: TesoroBlu Hotel & Spa
Address: Skala 280 82, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Skala
#3 Romantic Hotel in Skala
#7 Family Hotel in Skala
Hotel Class:4 star — TesoroBlu Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Also Known As:
Tesoroblu Hotel Skala
Tesoroblu Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing